Harbour Story PM

Inclusions

  • Quality sightseeing cruise experience aboard premium sightseeing vessels
  • Personalised commentary of the stories of Sydney
  • Unlimited self-serve coffee, tea & biscuit selection
  • Duration approx 2 hours
  • Menu
  • Morning Cruise also available

Need to know

  • Daily departures
  • Available for purchase onboard
    - Licensed bar
    - Vittoria coffee & fine teas
    - Sweet & savoury afternoon tea selection
  • Children (4-15 years) $29
  • Family Bonus - How to Book
  • Cruise Info
  • Map

Timetable

Below are the normal departure details. Special timetables operate on selected dates.

Check Your Date   Check your date for changes

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6
Daily 2.15pm. Duration approx 2 hours

Find Us

Harbour Story PM thumbnail

Discover Sydney’s best sightseeing cruise. The Harbour Story cruise includes refreshments and an entertaining, personalised commentary of the people, places and events that have made Sydney Harbour the most beautiful and exciting harbour in the world. Two-hour morning and afternoon cruises depart daily from Circular Quay. More Info ...

The Harbour Story Cruise is Sydney’s best sightseeing cruise. It combines the old and the new, the fun and the amazing, the sights and the characters, all told through a series of stories and insightful commentary. 

The cruise route can vary. We like to mix it up depending on what's happening on the harbour. We guarantee every cruise includes Sydney's iconic landmarks such as the Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Royal Botanic Gardens, Garden Island Naval base, Taronga Zoo, Government House, palatial waterfront homes, Fort Denison and much more. The pace is relaxed and gentle, giving you plenty of time to capture the perfect selfie. The Harbour Story operates on a premium sightseeing vessels which means spacious outdoor decks and expansive viewing windows from our all-weather indoor lounges.  

Unlimited self-service tea, filtered coffee and biscuits are included. The licensed bar also offers a choice of premium wines, beers and coffee to order at additional price.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

YOUR SAY SUNSET DINNER - Great view, great food, the on board photographer took one of the best photos of our holiday. Wendy & David, UK

View Special Offers

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

89 % approval from 53 responses

Date
Rating
1 week ago
5/5

Service: Appreciated ease of ordering tickets online. Clear directions made it easy to locate where the tour would begin. Excellent price for two-hour tour on a comfortable boat with tea and snacks. Tour guide's narration was very informative. All employees encountered were pleasant and helpful.
Product: I thought it was a good price for all that was included: two-hour tour, narrated by guide, comfortable boat, tea/coffee and snacks.

1 week ago
5/5

Service: Fabulous 2 hour sightseeing trip around the harbour. Good personalised commentary. Loads of sights seen. Plenty of photo opportunities. Clean boat. Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits available. Really enjoyable afternoon.
Product: Fabulous 2 hour sightseeing trip around the harbour. Good personalised commentary. Loads of sights seen. Plenty of photo opportunities. Clean boat. Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits available. Really enjoyable afternoon.

4 weeks ago
4/5

We take what you used to call the "Coffee Cruise" every time we have U.S. friends visit us in Sydney. It's still a must-do, and we appreciated the increased time on the Barangaroo side of the bridge, but the narration didn't have the same depth as in past years.

1 month ago
5/5

This was a terrific way to start our Sydney vacation. The woman who voiced our Harbour PM Tour did an excellent job-- she could read a phone book and still sound great.

1 month ago
5/5

Service: I was able to entertain a group of overseas visitors on Harbour Story and they were not disappointed. The combination of stunning harbour views and fascinating, factual commentary really impressed my guests. Refreshments were available, thrown in with the ticket price.All in all a great experience. Who would have thought that Sydney’s history was so incredibly interesting?
Product: The Harbour Story experience tells the fascinating history of “The Finest Harbour in The World” The views are stunning, the vessel is comfortable and the guide extremely engaging and passionate about her topic. The refreshments were readily available and quite adequate

1 month ago
5/5

We had a lovely time on the cruise, quite comfortable and lots of room to move about. We were given a very informative commentary by staff throughout the cruise.

2 months ago
5/5

Service: polite, friendly staff - it all ran smoothly and the cruise was wonderful

my only suggestion would be some cover outside - we are the highest country in the world for melanoma - overseas visitors were getting burnt. We stayed inside.
Product: Easy and quick, staff were very helpful

2 months ago
5/5

Fit for a Queen :)

2 months ago
5/5

Yes

2 months ago
5/5

Great, informative commentary around the harbor on a beautiful afternoon.

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Impressive Enjoyed a lot..
Product: nice commentary.. explained in detailed

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Great
Product: Great, brilliant, loved it

2 months ago
5/5

Great cruise and very informative. We were so glad we took the 2-hour Harbour Cruise.

2 months ago
5/5

Great service with a lot of knowledge about the places and buildings around the Harbour.

2 months ago
3/5

The cruise would have been great, if not for a severe issue. Our tickets advised us to be at the pier 30 mins before departure of our Harbour Stories, which we followed. I asked someone working which gate for my specific cruise and they pointed me in the right direction. We were lead on a boat and our ticket was not checked. After the boat left 10 mins earlier than our scheduled time, we realized we were on the wrong cruise. We advised staff and were left at the Zoo for our correct boat to pick us up. We missed about 20 mins of our selected cruise- missing the Opera House and Harbour Bridge- the two stops I was most interested in hearing the history of. Staff was very accommodating and kind enough to turn correct cruise around for us- however this mix up could have easily been avoided if tickets were simply checked, as one would expect them to be.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Harbour Story PM Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to communicate to our passengers effectively. We strive to communicate clearly and effectively with our customers from booking to the end product. Whilst we sincerely apologise that this was not the case on this occasion, we are pleased that we were able to able to rectify this issue on the day. Please be assured your feedback has been forwarded to our reservations manager for review.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The overall experience from purchasing the tickets to the cruise itself was first class. Would recommend the cruise to anybody
Product: The process was easy and would recommend the cruise to anybody

3 months ago
5/5

Very nice boat

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Amazing view. It was a fantastic cruise with a very nteresting storytelling experience.
Highly recommended for all.
Product: Helpful staff. Quick response. Polite.

3 months ago
3/5

The host was boring, tried to be funny and just wasn’t. Everyone looked like they were falling asleep!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

Thank you for your review of our Harbour Story Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the cruise commentary. Our cruise offers live, personalised commentary providing insights from our highly experienced commentator. As you’re aware, finding the right balance between providing information, humour and interactions can be difficult as each customer has tastes and preferences. However, please be assured your thoughts will be forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Once again thank you for your feedback. 

Kind Regards,   
Head of Customer Service   
Captain Cook Cruises

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Well timed and the Narrator was excellent!!
Product: Covered the harbour extremely well

3 months ago
4/5

Service: 整个游览的景色非常美,就是如果可以有中文的解说就更加好了!
Product: 风景非常美,如果可以有中文解说就更加好。时间长度非常合适,两个小时游览了足够的地方。

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Sarah was brilliant and knew her information well.
The boys served tea/coffee and champagne with a Smile and nothing was a bother.
Product: Staff friendly and helpful and efficient.

3 months ago
4/5

very humorous commentry made the trip more interesting!

3 months ago
5/5

Service: A first class tour with knowledgeable & helpful staff. We visited 3 sites, each one better than the last, and with the staff’s guidance we had the best snorkeling experience of our lives. Only wish we had time to do it all again before we left Cairns.
Product: Great value and a great snorkeling experience.

3 months ago
5/5

A very good experience - good clear info/ history of the harbour - just right , not too long or too short. Plenty of room to move around on our trip and enough seats.

4 months ago
4/5

Service: Actual cruise was great experience.
Had a tiring experience with you contact phone. I was trying to contact starting from 8:30am. The phone was advising to place chk a number to talk to someone. When you select the number the line does not take you anywhere. Finally the phone worked post 9:30am.
The company should address the phone system to avoid bad customer experience
Product: Excellent tour of Sydney Harbour

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Great tour. Friendly staff & very informative about the harbour- both past & present. Very well organisation.
Product: Great value for money. Easy process to book and check in.

4 months ago
3/5

Friendly and efficient

Poor commentary

Booking on line fairly easy but it would be helpful if the confirmation included the time of cruise

4 months ago
4/5

We enjoyed cruising around Sydney Harbour on a beautiful sunny day. It was lovely to have tea and biscuits during our journey.
The commentary was very detailed and informative but strangely cynical. The commentator said many negative things about the giant cruise ship we had disembarked from early that day, some things were factually untrue. She continued to be cynical about many other things as we cruised around the harbour, which made the experience rather unpleasant.
Also, the commentary was geared towards international visitors, of which there were plenty on board. As interstate visitors, we did not feel the commentary was geared towards us.

4 months ago
4/5

Service: It was a pleasant and informative tour, however the traditional owners of our land needs to be acknowledged in that way and not referred to as original occupants. your guide needs to work on that a little.
Product: It was a pleasant tour and slow enough to take in everything.

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent commentary and a while two hours !
Facilities on board very good
Product: So informative . Good facilities on board

4 months ago
5/5

The narrator was good but sometimes hard to hear on upper deck. We were told cruise was leaving from one gate but really left from another. Tea service was really nice. Wild children running around. But overall nice cruise.

4 months ago
4/5

Service: I was able to have a free afternoon on the Harbour for my birthday and the long cool glass of orange juice was appreicated.
Product: I was a little disappointed that the cake available to premium was not available to "birthday" customers. It looked really nice.

4 months ago
5/5

We really enjoyed the trip - the boat was comfortable and the commentary was excellent. The way that it was delivered was particularly good and we appreciated the humour which kept it interesting - we leant so many things about Sydney that I don’t think we would have come across elsewhere.

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Great commentary although did not recognise the Bondi Beach when it was pointed out. The crew were friendly and a credit to the company. The suggestion to wait until the return to get a picture of the bridge and Opera House was spot on.
Product: Very easy to book on-line and the confirmation was very quick.

4 months ago
5/5

Service: All good! Very nice cruise.
Product: Bought tickets online but had to do the queue again to print the boarding tickets. Waste of time

4 months ago
4/5

Service: Great service; a little confusing on the dock, just prior to embarking, on which boat to board. Went on the cruise of the harbor for a relaxing sight-seeing tour. Which it was; just thought the lady announcer talked too much. The information was interesting and informative but, we felt, too much. Otherwise it was great! Thanks!
Product: Prices are high in Australia

4 months ago
5/5

The Harbour Story cruise was very entertaining and informative with a wonderful commentary. The boat was very spacious and comfortable. Our overseas visitors had a lovely introduction to Sydney and were very impressed. After living in Sydney for more than 20 years; we learnt a few things as well.

4 months ago
5/5

The itinerary was great and the commentary on board by Sarah was fantastic and well prepared!

4 months ago
5/5

The cruise was great. The narration was very informational and well done. Excellent time.

4 months ago
5/5

Nice cruise and a very friendly staff. Loved it.

4 months ago
3/5

Embarking the boat could have been more organised - it was a free for all which is challenging with young children.

The commentary predominantly covered real estate and property prices - it was as if we were being guided by an estate agent. More commentary on the history and landmarks (other than houses) would have been appreciated

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Harbour Story Cruise. We were disappointed to read that the commentary wasn’t to your standards. The live commentary provided is intended to an overview of the Harbour, both current and historical. Our commentators focus the stories of the harbour and is tailored based on  their our experiences and backgrounds.

Once again we appreciate your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
5/5

Spacious, great views, informative commentary. Highly recommended. Took the whole family including kids aged 7 to 14 and grandparents from overseas; it was a hit with everyone.

4 months ago
5/5

Easy Booking online
Great explaination on Board

4 months ago
3/5

Service: We were disappointed with the sight seeing cruise for one simple reason. The windows were dirty and the sights were difficult to see through dirty windows. It was very hot on top in the open air and therefore most of the cruise was spent down below. I was assured over the phone the windows would be clean but alas this wasn't correct. 3 disappointed customers.
Product: The harbour is gorgeous but the cruise ship had very dirty windows. Not good for a sight seeing cruise

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Harbour Story Cruise. We were disappointed to read that the window cleanliness wasn’t to your standards. We can assure you that the windows are cleaned thoroughly every day. However, sometimes due to weather and wind conditions during the day this does impact the viewing.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we apologise for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
5/5

Great trip and my best day in Sydney ! This day at the Harbour with a great Guide that told us the history for the town and all the places we passed wore amazing !
I love architecture and he knew a lot of all the houses we passed.
Great service and the boat wore clean and steady :-)
I recomend this trip to everyone !

4 months ago
5/5

People were great, dives were great, food great, cleanliness, great

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Really great trip. The guide was informative and funny. I’m a little sad he didn’t go into detail about the dark side of Sydney Harbour because of the amount of kids on board. But that’s more because I enjoy dark tourism. Our guide was good at using the activities being done in the harbour at the time to be worked into his performance. I especially liked the “thank you reckless youths” portion as well as the irony jokes and little trivia. My mum and I had been in Australia for 3 weeks, and she said that this was the best cup of tea she had had there. This trip was a spur of the moment decision, and it was well worth it. Great value. Great service.
Product: Our guide was phenomenal. Really informative and funny. He was able to take the current activities going on in the Harbour and use them in his performance. Beautiful views of Sydney. Our boat was not overcrowded, so it was nice and relaxing to be able to go on a tour that didn’t have a lot of people pushing to get a view. Tea and cookies were great.

4 months ago
5/5

Yes. Fun easy and great insights into history.

4 months ago
4/5

The presenter was awesome !

Comfortable seats . Perhaps an alternate to the sweet biscuits for people like me who suffer from Type 2 diabetes would go a long way !. All in all a great experience

5 months ago
3/5

Whilst the surroundings and boat were excellent the tnformation delivery was monotone and boring

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Harbour Story PM Cruise. Our commentators and trained to ensure we deliver facts and some fun information too. We are sorry that we were unable to me to meet your  expectations and your comments have been forwarded to our Hospitality Manager  to ensure all is in order. We agree that the surroundings and vessel make for a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon in the stunning Sydney Harbour. 

Once again thank you for your feedback. 

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service 
Captain Cook Cruises

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Very informative tour and extremely humorous. Excellent way to see Sydney and the harbor.
Product: It was a fair price to pay for the history lesson and views.

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Captain Cook Cruises Sydney Harbour Story PM was a great way to spend a couple of hours on the water. Our host was very entertaining and knowledgeable with lots of photo opportunities. The cruise staff are very organized and you feel safe well directed.

A great way to see the Harbour, especially the Opera House and the famous 'bridge' from the water.
Product: Captain Cook Cruises Sydney Harbour Story PM was a great way to spend a couple of hours on the water. Our host was very entertaining and knowledgeable with lots of photo opportunities. The cruise staff are very organized and you feel safe well directed.

A great way to see the Harbour, especially the Opera House and the famous 'bridge' from the water.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Harbour Story PM Cruise. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed this fantastic cruise. We agree that the great commentary, views and service makes for a wonderful day in the beautiful Sydney Harbour. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too. 

Once again thank you for your feedback and recommendation it is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

View more reviews

Christmas Party Specials

Hire your own boat, book a private room or simply share a deck with other like-minded guests. Cruises from AU$62 

Melbourne Cup Lunch

Celebrate in style with premium dining, live viewing race lounge and great prizes to be won. Cruises from AU$125

Christmas Day Sydney

Cruise aboard MV Sydney 2000 for Christmas Day Lunch and leave the work to us - 2018 cruises on sale now

Christmas Party Cruises

Secure the best vessel on the best date at the best price. Christmas Party Cruises from AU$62