Harbour Story

Discover Sydney’s best sightseeing cruise. The Harbour Story cruise includes refreshments and an entertaining, personalised commentary of the people, places and events that have made Sydney Harbour the most beautiful and exciting harbour in the world. Morning and afternoon harbour story coffee cruises depart daily from Circular Quay.

The Harbour Story Cruise is Sydney’s best sightseeing cruise. It combines the old and the new, the fun and the amazing, the sights and the characters, all told through a series of stories and insightful commentary. 

The cruise route can vary. We like to mix it up depending on what's happening on the harbour. We guarantee every cruise includes Sydney's iconic landmarks such as the Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Royal Botanic Gardens, Garden Island Naval base, Taronga Zoo, Government House, palatial waterfront homes, Fort Denison and much more. The pace is relaxed and gentle, giving you plenty of time to capture the perfect selfie. The Harbour Story operates on a premium sightseeing vessels which means spacious outdoor decks and expansive viewing windows from our all-weather indoor lounges.  

Unlimited self-service tea, filtered coffee and biscuits are included. The licensed bar also offers a choice of premium wines, beers and coffee to order at additional price.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

Inclusions

  • Sydney's best sightseeing cruise experience aboard premium sightseeing vessels
  • Unlimited self-serve coffee, tea & biscuits
  • Personalised commentary of the stories of Sydney
  • Million dollar views
  • Daily from 10.00am & 2.15pm, up to 2hr15min
  • Menu

Need to know

  • Available for purchase onboard
    - Licensed bar
    - Vittoria coffee & fine teas
    - Captains morning or afternoon tea box selection
  • Children (4-15 years) $37
  • To book: Select AM or PM in the 'Book this cruise' box
  • Family Bonus - How to Book
  • Cruise Info
  • Map

Timetable

Below are the normal departure details. Special timetables operate on selected dates.

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6
05Feb20 - 30Apr20 Depart 10.00am daily, return approx 12.15pm. Depart 2.15pm daily, return approx 4.00pm 
From 01May20 Depart 10.00am & 2.15pm daily. Duration up to 2 hours

Check Your Date   Check your date for changes

Car Parking  Please check your date for road closures 

Find Us

YOUR SAY SUNSET DINNER - Excellent. Good value for money and on board personnel were courteous and efficient. Would definitely recommend.  Gary, USA

View Special Offers

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

84 % approval from 25 responses

Date
Rating
1 month ago
5/5

Great tour with super guide and good informations.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

1 month ago
1/5

Service: I felt the cruise was really overpriced for the experience I received. I went on the harbour story cruise and the tea and coffee and biscuits were terrible, there was limited seating and no shade on the deck, which is the best place to experience the cruise, as the windows inside were dirty and you couldn't see out. We were expected to all sit in a tiny section inside which made it difficult to see out unless you had a window seat. This was because the crew were setting up for lunch in the other areas of the boat. I honestly would have had a better experience catching a city ferry which is a lot cheaper and I will be encouraging my friends to do the same.
Product: Overpriced based on the experience

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our Harbour Story Cruise offers live, personalised commentary providing insights from our highly experienced commentator. Our windows are cleaned thoroughly and regularly, however the saltwater can sometimes make the windows appear otherwise. We also offer a Harbour Story Premium Cruise, which differs from our standard Harbour Story Cruise by including afternoon tea including mixed sweet & savoury selection, Vittoria coffee or a selection of fine teas and a glass of sparkling wine. However, please be assured your feedback will be forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

1 month ago
2/5

Service: The bigger boat does not work and the coffee cruise was extremely disappointing to previous ones on the smaller boat
Product: Website not easy to use

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that your cruise wasn't to your standards. We can assure you that all of our vessels are always reviewed to maintain a modern image.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

1 month ago
4/5

The cruise was relaxing. The commentator was new and at times was a bit disturbing.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

1 month ago
4/5

Service: Lovely cruise, but there should really be more snack options - only anzac biscuits available. I am coeliac and can't eat these. I even mentioned this on the booking form but no accommodation was made for me.
Product: Lovely cruise, but there should really be more snack options - only anzac biscuits available. I am coeliac and can't eat these. I even mentioned this on the booking form but no accommodation was made for me.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Tour guide commentary was superb, very informative and knowledgeable.
Product: Excellent value tour.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Very thorough journey around the amazing Sydney Harbor. Commentary was excellent. Unfortunately, I left RX glasses in case on boat. Came back two times and was advised not found ..very upsetting.
Product: Fair price for their service

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

3 months ago
4/5

Safe vessel. Good commentary. Prompt departure and arrival.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Friendly staff, nice boat, very good toilets. Easy to understand the commentary. Great that we got to go under the split bridge. Overall a very relaxing way of getting to know the harbour.
Product: Was a Christmas gift and a good one for visitors.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Bob was a great host on the cruise. Would definitely recommend.
Product: Bob was a great host. Highly recommend the cruise.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

4 months ago
1/5

Service: we believe the should have been cancelled and ticket cost reimbursed due to the smoke over Sydney yesterday. Even ferries were cancelled yet CCC took us all around the harbour unable to see anything.
Product: Easy to buy online

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Unfortunately, the weather including the bushfire smoke is outside of our control. However please be assured that we will only ever operate when it is safe for our customers and staff to do so. If customers have any concerns or enquiries, we always encourage them to contact our reservations staff as soon as possible.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

5 months ago
5/5

Service: This was a wonderful day with great service and a very clear guide.
Product: Enjoyed this very much

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

5 months ago
4/5

Service: Commentary was thorough & exceptional.
Tea & coffee appreciated.
Product: Good value for the length of time on the water.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

5 months ago
5/5

素晴らしい眺め
説明が面白い
ゆとりある空間
ティーとクッキーがフリー

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

5 months ago
4/5

Service: Great cruise, not very crowded when we went. Knowledgeable guide. Highly recommend for those interested in a thorough ride around the harbours of Sydney (beyond just a ferry ride).
Product: Highly recommend this tour for those interested in a thorough ride around Sydney's harbours (beyond just a ferry ride).

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

6 months ago
4/5

2時間という時間も適切だったし、スタッフの対応も良かったです。

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

6 months ago
4/5

Service: Relaxing cruise to see the nice sydney harbour
Product: Relaxing cruise with opportunity to learn more about Sydney

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Informative and engaging presentation. Gave us an awareness the history and sites of Sydney.
Product: Straight forward online booking

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Informative and a great way to spend a morning in Sydney, learned so much and staff was very friendly.
Product: Easy and fair for the experience, same day

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

11 months ago
5/5

The cruise is fanatics, it tour around the Sydney harbour and manage to see the harbour bridge and opera house very clearly. Biscuits and drink are provided through the whole cruise. We enjoy it very much.

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

11 months ago
4/5

Service: good commentary
Product: it worked as expected and emailed the ticket

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

11 months ago
2/5

Service: Sound quality of the commentary was very poor. Also the actual commentary was very poor, sounded like the guy was either a little tipsy or in fact suffering with a hangover. Whilst I did enjoy the actual cruise around the harbour, I was left disappointed with the commentary.
Product: Purchase was easily done online with no problems whatsoever.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer, Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. Our cruise offers live, personalised commentary providing insights from our highly experienced commentator. As you’re aware, finding the right balance between providing information, humour, volume and interactions can be difficult as each customer has tastes and preferences. However, please be assured your thoughts will be forwarded to our hospitality manager for review. Thank you once again for your feedback. Kind Regards, Head of Customer Service Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Story - Morning

View more reviews

New Years Eve in Sydney

Nobody celebrates New Years Eve like Sydney. Front row seats to all the action on sale now

Melbourne Cup Lunch

Celebrate in style with premium dining, live race viewing and great prizes to be won. On sale now

TripAdvisor Excellence Awards

We are thrilled to be awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2019. Read more ...

Discover Sydney Whales

Join a Whale Watching cruise during the annual migration at a great price. On sale now from AU$55