Harbour Highlights

Inclusions

  • Minimum 1 hour 15 minute cruise
  • Main Harbour sights
  • GPS commentary
  • Million dollar views

Need to know

Timetable

Below are the normal departure details. Special timetables operate on selected dates.

Check Your Date   Check your date for changes

 

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6
Daily 2.30pm. Disembark 3.45pm. Additional departures available for groups on request

Find Us

Harbour Highlights thumbnail

Sydney's best value for money sightseeing cruise. See all the famous Sydney Harbour landmarks with GPS commentary. Seventy-five-minute afternoon cruise departs daily from Circular Quay. More Info ...

The name says it all - the highlights of Sydney Harbour in one and a quarter hours. Capture the moment with your camera as you cruise up close to the Sydney Opera House and past palatial waterfront mansions along the exclusive eastern suburbs. Cruise under the Sydney Harbour Bridge where you may spot climbers waving to you from the top of the bridge. There is plenty for the children too with ferry and tug boats criss-crossing the harbour, islands and forts, lighthouses, naval vessels and submarines and even the occasional whale, dolphin, seal or fairy penguin.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

YOUR SAY CAPTAINS DINNER - My mum had the most amazing time and didn't want to get off the boat! Tatum, NSW

View Special Offers

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

75 % approval from 28 responses

Date
Rating
2 weeks ago
2/5

Service: The cruise itinerary was fine. However, I was informed by my host that some of the narrative was Ill-timed at best and inaccurate at worst. Additionally, half way through the cruise, part of the crew was apparently preparing to set up for dinner (we were seated inside on the main deck). The continual clattering of flatware made the balance of the narrative entirely inaudible.
Product: Itinerary was fine. Narrative was at some points either ill-timed or actually inaccurate. Half way through the cruise, part of the crew was apparently preparing for the later (sunset?/dinner?) cruise. (We were seated on the inside on the main deck) The continual clattering of flatware made the balance of the narrative entirely inaudible.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Harbour Highlights Cruise experience. Our GPS commentary is used to provide a general insight into the history and fun facts of the harbour. This is set at a volume so as to not interrupt or be obtrusive to the conversations and ambience of fellow passengers, whilst still at an appropriate volume for customers to listen to at their leisure. If customers prefer a live, personalised and interactive commentary, we provide live commentary on our Harbour Story cruises. We apologise that you felt the staff had a negative impact on the ambience on your cruise. Please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Highlights

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make sure we knew where we were going. Highly recommend.
Product: We did this cruise because a friend from overseas wanted to see the main attractions of the Sydney harbour. This cruise was perfect for that purpose!

Review for Harbour Highlights

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Thank you for take care my group.
Product: Easy to book, easy to make payment. So convenient.

Review for Harbour Highlights

2 months ago
5/5

Great experience

Review for Harbour Highlights

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Very relaxing, great value for money.
Product: Excellent wish I had of had the time to do another cruise. Only had time for two.

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Good
Product: Good, excellent, awesome!!

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

5 months ago
5/5

The experience we had was awesome. Able to see the most significant things in Sydney

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

5 months ago
5/5

Fantastic experience!

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

5 months ago
5/5

Good service with very beautiful view

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

6 months ago
2/5

Service: Missed the cruise with several other customers. Announcements could not be heard. Member of staff in charge of the cruise failed to check all customers were boarding. Communication was poor and messages failed to get though to passengers. Disappointing experience wouldn’t do it again
Product: Poor communication messages and announcements failed to reach customers missed the cruise after being assured of first class treatment

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Harbour Highlights Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to communicate to our passengers effectively. We strive to communicate clearly and effectively with our customers from booking to the end product. Whilst we sincerely apologise that this was not the case on this occasion, we are pleased that we were able to provide a Harbour Highlights Cruise as well as cruise credit to rectify this issue on the day. Please be assured your feedback has been forwarded to our reservations manager for review.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

6 months ago
2/5

Service: It was good to be on the water in the gorgeous Syndey harbor. Captain Cook provided the vehicle. Otherwise it was an average trip. Not easy getting a cup of tea if you were on the top deck and part of the Highlights Tour. You had to walk down four levels. Other, similar tours have been more comfortable. I would probably just choose to take the ferry if I had to do it again.
Product: Taped commentary was fine and audible, even outside on the top deck, but there is very nothing special about the tour. It's adequate.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for the review of you Harbour Highlights Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations with our commentary and beverage service. Our GPS commentary is used to provide a general insight into the history and fun facts of the harbour. If customers prefer a live, personalised and interactive commentary, we provide live commentary on our Harbour Story cruises. Customers are free to access the open view deck on the top level of the vessel at any time. The vessel does have three restaurant levels with different products on each level. The expansive entry level with great viewing was allocated to the Highlights Cruise on the day you travelled. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director or our hospitality staff on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food & beverage as they will be able to solve the problem immediately.

Once again, we apologise for not meeting your expectations.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

7 months ago
2/5

The top deck, where most people want to sit, was mostly empty with only a few seats for people to sit. Very bad design.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,  

Thank you for your review of our Harbour Highlights Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding your seating. Our vessels are designed to showcase the best of Sydney Harbour. We are transparent in communicating with customers by listing on our website that seats are not reserved as all vessels are large with spacious indoor and outdoor seating. However, please be assured that your reflection of our vessel’s design will be forwarded to our marine manager for review. 

Once again thank you for your feedback.  

Kind Regards,  
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

7 months ago
5/5

Amazing service as always.

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

8 months ago
5/5

Very reliable service with comfortable vessels. Also, crews were courteous and competent. Reservation systems, both on line and at ticket booths were user friendly.

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

8 months ago
2/5

Service: I didn’t think it was all that great. They directed us all the way to the top in the blazing sun, never telling us there was space inside. Then when we attempted to enter, they made us feel very unwelcome, because we had entered through the wrong doors. Apparently we were not privy to that part of the cruise ship. A little explanation before would have gone a long way. Also, for a sightseeing tour they gave very little info of the Harbour.
Product: In the information about the items one could choose from, there was little to no information about the cruise, what it included and what we would see.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

Thank you for your recent review of our Harbour Highlights Cruise. We appreciate your honest and straightforward comments regarding your experience. Please be assured we have sent this feedback to our Hospitality Manager to allow us to improve on the service aspects relating to boarding. Our Harbour Highlights cruise is a GPS commentary cruise which is designed to give customers an oversight into the Harbour. Our Harbour Story Cruise features live commentary with a more in-depth insight into the harbour with a longer duration. 

Once again, thank you for your review. 

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service 
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

8 months ago
4/5

过去船票是含一杯饮料的,现在没有了

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

8 months ago
4/5

Service: Good
On time
Product: Money worth it.Hope to be there another time

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

9 months ago
2/5

Service: In the email, the location was not clear on where to board the cruise. We went to King Wharf and only found out it should be boarded at Circular Quay. Having only 15 minutes left, we had to take a taxi and fork out additional AUD$20 to get there. The cruise was ok, good first experience on the first day you arrive in Sydney. But it's a bit pricey and nothing else is part of the package (i.e. no water / refreshment). You can get almost same experience via the ferry ride to Taronga Zoo.
Product: Purchase of the tickets were easy and we were able to use the promotion for family package.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

We appreciate your honest and straightforward comments regarding your experience on the Harbour Highlights Cruise. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience, however we try to make departure points as clear and transparent as possible by listing the location on our website and brochures. The price point of this cruise makes it a suitable way to see Sydney with commentary in a short time. Water and selected light refreshments is also included. 

Once again, thank you for your review. 

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service 
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

9 months ago
5/5

Service: I enjoyed the cruise! Staff was polite and very helpful! The ship and its facilities were clean! Would definitely take it again and also would recommend it!
Product: Easy to book it! Accurate description!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Harbour Highlights Cruise. We were pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed this great cruise. We agree that the high standard of boat and the great service makes for a wonderful day in the beautiful Sydney Harbour. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too. We look forward to welcoming you back on-board!

Once again thank you for your feedback and recommendation it is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

I enjoyed the Sydney highlights cruise. The information provided was interesting and relevant, it was a nice and relaxed way to spend the afternoon

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

11 months ago
4/5

Service: It is kind of difficult to assess the specific details (like address, number of the pier, time to check-in etc.) after the booking. The booking confirmation is too long and says that the details about the cruise are shown at the website which is an unnecessary step for the customer.
Product: Amazing experience - great value for money. The ship was beautiful and the cruise even more so. It is long enough to cover the most important sights around the Harbour but not too long for it to start getting boring. The commentary is fun, more about stories than long history, which was great too.

Review for Harbour Highlights Cruise

View more reviews

Christmas Day Lunch

Join our family for Christmas Day Lunch onboard flagship MV Sydney 2000. Tickets on sale now.

Discover Sydney Whales

Join a Whale Watching cruise during the annual migration at a great price. On sale now from AU$55

School Holidays in Sydney

So much to see and do with the Kids these School Holidays from Hop On Hop Off to attractions - Book online & Save!

Sydney Hop On Hop Off

Visit up to eleven famous harbour attractions over 2 days. Great value from only AU$49