Whale Watching

Whale Watching thumbnail

2017 Season 20 May to 01 November

This has been the most amazing start to a whale watching season ever. Every year there are more whales. More pods travelling closer together, and more social interaction between the pods. And where there's interaction, there's action! Breaches, muggings, tail slaps and spy hopping - all fully explained by your experienced commentator.

Videos

Whale Watching cruises are an extraordinary opportunity to see the gentle giants of the sea on their annual migration. Your cruise begins at Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and makes its way past the Opera House, the beautiful eastern suburbs and outside the Harbour headlands to open water. Southern Right, Orca and Minke Whales all visit Sydney's coastline, but it's the Humpbacks that come in great numbers and love to show off with breaches, tail slaps and even a sneaky wink when they are feeling extra curious. Afternoon cruises operate daily, with additional morning departures on weekends 20 May to 01 November 2017.

Every cruise comes with our Whale Guarantee, or cruise again for free*

QUICK LINKS

2017 Whale Watching Season 20 May - 01 November 

Combine the sights of Sydney Harbour with an open water cruise through the Heads to find the gentle giants of the sea

Whale Watching - Morning Cruise - On now from $49pp
See Humpbacks and the occasional Southern Right Whale on their annual winter migration. Morning cruise departs weekends. 

Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise - On sale now from $49pp
Afternoon departure operates daily throughout the Whale Watching season. Don't miss out on this must-do experience in Sydney.

Taronga Zoo & Whale Watching Cruise 
Combine two amazing Sydney experiences - Taronga Zoo and Whale Watching - with this unique cruise & attraction package.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

For information About Whales and Whale Behaviour please visit our About Whales web page.

Are whales guaranteed?
We have a 95%+ whale sighting success rate. The Whale Guarantee applies when a whale is not sighted during the cruise. In this case passengers can cruise again in the same season for free on a standby basis confirmed 24-hours prior, subject to availability.

When is the best time to go Whale Watching in Sydney?
The whale watching season operates between mid-May to early November. Whales are occasionally seen outside of these times off Sydney, but they are limited in number and difficult to spot. During the early months of winter (mid-May, June and July) many whales migrate north to warmer waters for breeding and to give birth. In August they may be heading in either direction, while from September most begin the journey south to colder climates.

What whale species am I most likely to see Whale Watching in Sydney?
The Humpback Whale and the Southern Right Whale are the most commonly spotted species along the coast of Sydney, however other whale species cruise our coastline including:

  • Blue Whale
  • Minke Whale
  • Fin Whale
  • Sei Whale
  • False Killer Whale
  • Orca or Killer Whale
  • Sperm Whale
  • Pygmy Right Whale
  • Pygmy Sperm Whale
  • Bryde's Whale

How close can we get to whales?
There are strict guidelines on how close vessels of all kinds, from kayaks to cruise boats, can approach whales. It also depends if there are calves in the pod and the number of vessels in the area. As a guideline, the approach distance can range from 100m to 300m. This however does not stop whales from taking matters into their own hands for a close look of us! At all times, Captain Cook Cruises operates with the safety and enjoyment of both our passengers and the whales. 

What time is the best time of day to see whales?
Any time is a good time to see whales from the water as we can alter our position with the sun.  

How big is the boat?
All our Whale Watching vessels are ocean-going catamarans with two passenger decks and spacious outdoor and indoor seating. The large windows provide a great view should you wish to remain seated inside. 

Will I see baby whales?
We see many mothers and calves during the whale watching season, however it all depends on whether they want to see us.

Can I interact (feed/swim) with the whales?
The best way to interact with whales is simply to observe them. They have much to share with us if we listen closely and pay attention. Feeding and swimming with the whales is not permitted.

Are we imposing on the whales?
Whilst we are eager observers, ultimately it’s up to the whales how much interaction they have with us. Whales can dive from 2 to 20 minutes, in any direction, and can out manoeuvre a spectator vessel if they choose. Mostly the whales are as curious of us as we are of them.

How many whales am I likely to see?
There really is no way to predict. Usually we sight several pods. On a good day you may see 10 whales, a pod of up to 100 dolphins, fur seals, penguins and seabirds such as an albatross. Our record is 30 whales on a single cruise. However, it only takes a connection with a single whale to make your cruise a memorable experience.

How do you spot the whales?
We hire very tall people. Just kidding. Some trade secrets we like to keep :0)

Is commentary included?
All whale watching cruises include expert commentary from marine specialists with a passion for whales. We carry some of the most experienced commentators on Sydney Harbour.

Are there facilities for children?
All children must be escorted by adults. Children are welcome to cruise, however please keep in mind that you are on the vessel for up to 3 hours and sometimes children do get restless. Infants under 4 years are free of charge but not recommended on open water cruises. 

Will I get seasick?
This is an open water cruise and you will experience sea motion. We recommend you eat lightly before and during the cruise. Travel sickness tablets are generally most effective if taken prior to the cruise. We only operate when we believe you will enjoy the cruise, however conditions can change quickly. You can also refer to our Predicted Comfort Levels & Weather web page for a 7-day forecast.

Are there bathrooms on board?
Yes, all vessels are fitted with toilets.

Where do cruises depart from?

  • Circular Quay - Wharf No.6
  • Please visit our Whale Watching page on the website for latest timetable information

How do I get to my cruise?
Circular Quay is conveniently located near most city hotels and major city bus, rail, ferry and taxi stations. There are many parking stations in Circular Quay.  For google maps visit our Find Us web page. 

Check-in & Boarding
Boarding passes must be collected at least 30 minutes prior to departure from the company’s ticket offices. To ensure speedy and efficient check-in, please ensure you have completed the Passenger Contact form prior to arrival as this is a legal requirement of all open water cruises.

What should I wear?
Please dress according to the weather - it will often feel colder at sea.

What can I buy on board?
A selection of soft drinks and bottled water available for purchase onboard, subject to change. Guests are more than welcome to bring their own light snacks. Please note as our vessel is licensed, there is strictly no BYO alcohol. 

Can we bring our own drinks?
All vessels except Rocket Ferries are licensed premises with bar facilities available. We do not permit BYO alcohol on any vessel for scheduled cruises.

What if I have a group?
Group discounts can be applied to full priced Adult and Child fares on standard cruises. Discounts are not valid with special offers or special events unless otherwise advised.  

Are seats assigned?
Seating is not assigned for sightseeing cruises. All vessels feature spacious outdoor and indoor seating. The starboard side is usually closest to the shore and the port side closest to the harbour action.

What if it is raining or the weather is bad?
Rain alone usually does not affect Whale Watching Cruises. As this is an open water cruise, swell and wind can effect safety and comfort. Whale Watching cruises are therefore subject to cancellation due to weather and other operational requirements. Please ring+61-2-8062 3623 from 7.15am on the day of your cruise for the latest information. If your cruise is cancelled by the operator, passengers may (1) rebook another Captain Cook Whale Watching Cruise in the same season or (2) seek a refund from the original place of purchase or (3) a credit can be made with Captain Cook Cruises towards another cruise within 12 months of original date of travel. If purchased through an agent, please refer to the agent’s terms and conditions. We operate in sheltered waters, 365 days a year, regardless of the weather. The interior of the vessel features comfortable all-weather lounges with expansive viewing windows.

When do I need to pay?
Full payment is required at time of booking. Special payment options are available for groups. Please refer to the Group terms and conditions applicable for your booking. 

Date Changes and Cancellation Fees
Please refer to our General Terms & Conditions for details. For special offers, discounted fares and special events please refer to the Special Terms & Conditions applicable for your booking.  

 

Typical whale behaviour includes

Breaching: A much more spectacular way of announcing its presence is for a whale to breach. With 2 or 3 beats of its huge tail the creature hurls itself up through the surface sometimes clearing the water completely, and then falls on its back with a tremendous splash. Breaching is thought to communicate position to others. The splash can be heard for several kilometres.

Calves: A humpback calf normally swims along in close company with its mother.

Head Lunge: When a whale breaks the surface and falls forward instead of backward the action is called a head lunge.

Spy Hop: Humpbacks are curious, and often pop their head up above the waterline to look around. The creature raises its head vertically from the water until the eyes are exposed, maintains that position for a short period of time and then lowers its head back into the water. This common behaviour is thought to be used mainly for orientating themselves with the shoreline during migration.

Pectoral Fin Extension: Humpbacks are often seen waving their huge oar-like fins above the water. The creature lies on the surface and lifts one or both of its pectoral fins up out of the water depending on body position. Once extended, the fins can be waved about.

Tail Extension: Sometimes humpbacks are seen with their tail flukes extended above the water for up to 15 minutes at a time. This behaviour is rare but could be to do with feeding, as a calf is often seen bobbing around its mother's tail at this time.

Tail Slapping: Whales like to lift their huge tails high above the water and slap them down on the surface making a tremendous splash. This can be heard for great distances by others and is probably associated with marking position. Because of the formidable power of the tail, this behaviour should be interpreted as aggressive and the creature should be given plenty of room.

Peduncle Slap: The peduncle is the muscular part of the body nearest to the tail flukes. It is used in a variation of the tail slap where the tail is slapped in a sideways movement like a massive karate-chop. This movement is a sure sign that the creature could become aggressive.

Tail Cocking: Tail cocking is another sign of aggression that is used when stressed. An aggressor can cock its tail up in the air and then bring it down heavily on an opponent in a disagreement over territory. Humans should keep well clear.

Tail Slash and Tail Swish: Two further movements of the tail involve slashing from side to side in the water and swishing on the surface to create turbulence. Both these activities are also associated with aggression. Crews of whale watching boats watch for these behaviours as signs to move away.

Pectoral Stroking: Pectoral fins are the equivalent of human hands. They are frequently used to stroke the body of another of the same species, probably during courtship and mating. Mothers and calves also stroke one another as a display of closeness.

Pec Slapping: The humpback has the largest pectoral fins of any of the great whales. The fins alone can weigh up to several tonnes! When brought down onto the water from the extended position they create a forceful splash which can be heard from quite a distance, both above and below the surface. Pec slapping is a common behaviour among humpbacks, thought to be used as a form of communication. 

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy 

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers


Select cruise and date below View Special Offers

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

79 % approval from 71 responses

Date
Rating
16 hours ago
5/5

Service: 期待以上でした。今回はホエールウォッチングに参加しましたが、他のクルーズにも参加してみたいと思います。

Product: 何度もクジラを見ることが出来、ほんとにまじかで見れました。

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

4 days ago
5/5

What a great experience!

The crew was so excited to share their love of the sea and all creatures in it! Their delight and exuberance at spotting and watching the whales was contagious. Very knowledgeable and fun to listen to. The whales were magnificent! Playful and interactive. I'm so glad we booked with them!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

4 days ago
2/5

Service: I was disappointed with the trip getting cut short due to 1/2 of the boat getting sea sick. The trip was advertised to be three hours long. After only seeing one whale 1.5 hours into the trip, the boat immediately turned around. Additionally, it was difficult for those passengers who were not sea sick to have a clear view of the whale due to sea sick passengers at the outside railings. There should be a designated area for sea sick passengers so that they do not ruin an experience for other passengers.

Customer service representatives refused to give any sort of a refund because they satisfied one portion of the trip by seeing "a" whale.

Product: See previous section for additional details.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi Elizabeth,

So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our Whale Watching Cruise.
We have had some very rough weather in Sydney recently and unfortunately we can't control the weather. It's very unfortunate that our guests were sea sick. The safety and well-being of our guests are our main priority, especially if they need immediate medical care. We want to treat all of our guests with compassion and care.


Again, we're sorry you did not enjoy our Whale Watching Cruise as it's a special favourite for many of our customers. If there's anything else I could help you with, please feel free to get in contact with us. 


Thank you for writing in your review, we appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Customer Service Team 




 

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

5 days ago
5/5

Very good. Had a great time :-)

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

5 days ago
3/5

Lovely customer service. It was the perfect day for whale watching, sunny, not too windy. However, the sound was terrible on the boat, we couldn't hear the comments. We also think that the boat wasn't really suitable. If you're not sitting upstairs on the sides, it's hard to see the whales.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

6 days ago
4/5

Service: Its was a wonderful experience... easy to talk to and easy to buy tickets. Would be better if the guy in a british captain uniform could take photos with

Product: the ship waited a while in search of whales. although only we saw just the back of the whales, it was really cool

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

6 days ago
3/5

The service is perfect. The crew was very kind. We saw whales but they were quite far (100meters) so the maximum we saw: whale backs. I guess that is the maximum possibility.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi,


Thank you so much for leaving us such a glowing review.

Glad you enjoyed the service!

Regards,
Customer Service Team 

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

6 days ago
5/5

The information session delivered right thru was really good

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

6 days ago
5/5

Excellent cruise!

if you are in Sydney and have some free time, don't hesitate to go for whales cruise.

Great fun either for kids or adults. you can breath fresh sea air and learn something about nature. I strongly reccomend this tour.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

6 days ago
5/5

Service: Comfortable ship. Good commentary and explanations. Good value for money.

Product: Excellent communication with customers. Comfortable seating

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

6 days ago
5/5

Awesome whale watching cruise. We saw so many whales and everything was so professional. The cruise was knowledgeable and we spent 4 awesome hours

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

6 days ago
3/5

Service: Good

Product: Enjoyable trip nice weather

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

6 days ago
3/5

The staff on the cruise were very pleasant but, unfortunately , the whales were not very cooperative on this day.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 week ago
4/5

Service: It was a great trip seeing the common dolphins and humpback whales. The staff were great and very helpful. It would be nice to have been a bit closer to the whales however it is understandable that it is for their safety.

Only the weather made it a bit difficult but that was no error of the cruise.

Product: Great cruise considering the weather

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 week ago
5/5

Very nice experience

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 weeks ago
4/5

The service was good, but it was quite long and a lot of people ended up quite sick as a result of the choppy water getting out of the harbour. Potentially 2-2.5 hour sessions would work better.

Overall saw a number of whales, very informative and had a great time (minus said vomit)

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Thank you for the review of your Whale Watching Morning cruise with us on Sydney. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the cruise and the service, and that you were able to see those beautiful animals. As you know this cruise goes on open waters, which can be rocky. We advise people who are known to have seasickness to please take it into consideration.

Once again thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

We enjoyed the cruise and we followed 3 whales for the most part.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Trip was expertly managed, well run and would happily recommend them

Product: A well run trip, safe travel and great experience

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

I didn't expect to see whales breaching on this wonderful cruise.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Service: The crew did a good job explaining everything, lots of information on the animals and made us feel safe

They didn't take long to find whales either

Product: I would recommend this trip

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
3/5

Service: You have to realise that not everyone understands English.Like an aircraft, explanations about safety are in pictures. That might be an idea to consider for the boat. At least a range of A4 sheets in different major languages (Mandarin Chinese, Korean, Japanese, French at least) about whale watching could have been useful. While the whale expert's enthusiasm was indicative of Australian friendliness, she was somewhat a little too in your face (and I'm Australian!).

Product: Reality and fantasy were different. I also took sea sick pill which made me really really sleepy. I actually slept most of the trip!!! I liked the fact we all saw whales but after one or two or three sightings the trip became boring.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching cruise us on Sydney Harbour. We are sorry not to meet your expectations as we usually receive good feedback on this cruise. We do not offer seasickness pills onboard but we recommend people who are known to have this condition to take it into consideration. We will forward your ‘safety explanation in different languages’ comments to our Marine Manager for his appreciation.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service,
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
2/5

Service: I found it nothing special I have done one before and it was a lot nicer cruise I went on. The staff was very good but I would not do one again .

Product: I did not find it anything special as I been on one before and it was a very nice trip I don't think I will do one again .

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your review of the Whale Watching Afternoon Cruise with us on Sydney. Our crew report on the day shows that whales were sighted immediately after leaving Sydney Harbour and whales were breaching and a pod of dolphins were also encountered  We appreciate your comments on our staff, we do strive to provide the best customer service from booking all the way to the end product.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to not have met your expectations.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Todo fue perfecto , en especial las vistas y el confort del barco.

Lo recomendaría.

It was an unforgettable experience that I recommend.

I miss that among the language of the website there is not Spanish with 1000 million people who speak it in the world. It is just a suggestion.

Ahhh! The first to see Australia was the spaniard Luis Váez de Torres, It wasnt Captain Cook.

Dont forget it.

Kind Regards

Product: Todo fue perfecto , en especial las vistas y el confort del barco.

Lo recomendaría.

It was an unforgettable experience that I recommend.

I miss that among the language of the website there is not Spanish with 1000 million people who speak it in the world. It is just a suggestion.

Ahhh! The first to see Australia was the spaniard Luis Váez de Torres, It wasnt Captain Cook.

Dont forget it.

Kind Regards

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

we got to see 6 whale breeches. Amazing mind bending life changing experience. Apparently very rare to see. We were very happy.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Service: Booked Sunday morning whale watching, cost $185 for 2 adults 1 child. Became quite sick Saturday night, ring their customers service early Sunday morning, the line is closed till 10am.

The lady with calm voice told me there was 100% cancellation fee for the same day call. I asked could you book me another time, the answer was "there is nothing i can do for you."

I understand ince money in your account it cannot be refunded, but can't rebook is pretty ripping off.

Product: Kid was very excited about this, but because we were sick we couldn't make it. They can't be re-booked because I didn't call them 24 hours before the cruise, money wasted. Totally not happy.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Thank you for your comments regarding your conversation with one of our reservations consultants.

Whilst cancellations advised within 24 hours prior to travel incur 100% cancellation fee  as this was booked via our web with strict booking conditions,  our senior member of the reservations team does usually have the authority to provide an alternative.

We are happy to re book you and your family at a fee of $20 per person, and one or our customer support team will be in contact with you shortly.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you on board for Whale Watching.

Kind regards
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
3/5

Service: Food kiosk very limited in what it sold. Could have had tea, coffee, cake and perhaps sandwiches.

Product: Great say many whales some breeching

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

Service: very patient and informative guide. i would recommend and buy their services again.

Product: imformative and great staff who pa attention to detail.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Roselyn, 

Thank you for your review of the Whale Watching cruise with us on Sydney. We are pleased to know that you would recommend us and that you found our staff pleasant and attentive. We hope to see you again on one of our cruises.

Once again thank you or your review and your recommendation, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Great cruise. Saw heaps of whales. The crew was very good.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of the Whale Watching with us on Sydney. We are delighted to read that you would recommend us and that the crew was friendly and attentive towards you. 

Once again thank you or your review and your recommendation, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Service: Clean boat, good commentary

Product: The relatively small viewing side areas restricted acces as there were quite a few on the boat

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer, 

Thank you for your review of the Whale Watching Cruise with us. We are pleased to read that the boat met your expectations and that you found the commentary interesting. We understand that the areas provided are restricted when full, but our boats must correspond to the Marina regulations.

Once again thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Great service with sense of humour from the Captain Cruise team members !! We saw you reported on the whale apps of our whale sightings in Sydney Harbour .

We ( 4 adults and 2 kids ) were on the 8 July Saturday morning cruise and we were so abolutely thrilled and lucky to see close shot performance of at least 6 humpback whales . They really entertained us and so did you .

Thank you .

Product: Great whale sighting experience !! Truly blessed on 8 July .

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for the review of your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time observing the performance of these fantastic whales. As you know we have no control of how these animals are going to behave and we are happy you were on board with us on such a wonderful day.

Once again thank you or your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Service: 我對貴公司當天的船員服務很感滿意,都很主動的對顧客提供幫助,在此再次感謝貴公司及船員為我們提供了一次美好的觀賞鯨魚體驗。

Product: 手續簡易,方便快捷。

本來我是給4星的,但因這 Feedback 強迫我要多填15個字,所以剩下3星!

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Service: A perfect day on the water! Calm and sunny. Humpback whales lazily active - no breaching, sadly. Friendly staff. Not crowded. Most enjoyable family outing. Could have cleaned windows on upper deck, my only complaint.

Product: Easy to navigate to website online in response to email. Ordering a cinch. Check in went smoothly - friendly, helpful lady at the desk.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer, 

Thank you for your review for your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are very pleased to read that you had an exciting time onboard with us and that our staff were attentive and friendly towards you. As you know we strive to provide the best customer service from booking all the way to the end product. 

Once again thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
2/5

Service: I booked the cruise at good price but had to cancel this morning of the event as my husband fell it.. I left a message to this affect and didn't even get a call back from anyone.

Product: It too a very long time for someone to come back and make contact with me,

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Jan Clark,

Thank you for your review with us on Sydney Harbour. We were disappointed to read that you were unable to contract us and we have made a note in your booking that if you wish to re-book you are able to do with the appropriate booking fare difference. Please contact our reservations team.

Once again thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

Service: I have already recommended to colleagues and friends that they take this tour. The boat was clean and comfortable; crew were friendly and very courteous; commentator maintained a friendly, informative dialogue; and the whales were magnificent!

Product: Bith online booking and process at Circular Quay were very easy

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Jennine Freshwater,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are pleased to know that you recommended our whale cruise and that you found the staff professional and friendly. Your feedback has been sent onto our respective Managers and staff and it is very much appreciated by all our customer service staff.

Once again thank you for your review and recommendation.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

Service: The captain of the boat went the extra mile to ensure we had a unique but fun and safe experience.

Product: The captain went the extra mile to ensure we had a unique but safe experience.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
3/5

Service: A good cruise but the boat had limited outdoor space which meant you were competing to get by a rail to see the whales. The Captain Cook whale watching cruise that left 15 minutes earlier was in a much better boat (like the one in their advertising)..

Product: Even when you pay and book online for a whale watching cruise you still have to queue at Circular Quay to then get a ticket.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the cruise and that the sighting was not as you expected. The vessel used on these cruises follow all the Marine regulations and was ‘Maggie Cat’ which is the same as the one used in all our promotional pictures. The boat that departed prior was our usual Hop On Hop Off service. Check-in is necessary for this cruise as we are legally required to ensure that passengers have filled the emergency contact form.

Once again thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

The MC made the cruise, he was brilliant.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

On Saturday we enjoyed an afternoon Whale watching cruise. Everyone was very professional & informative. I recommend Captain Cook Cruises. I will definitely be using this company again.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching Afternoon Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are delighted to read that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you on board again.

Thank you for your review and recommendation, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Boat could have more outside areas for whale watching like other whale watching boats

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were disappointed to read that we did not reach your expectations as the vessel used has ample outside areas and has a capacity of 200 passengers and we only board 120 on our whale watching cruises .

Once again thank you for your review, and we are sorry we did meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Service: Good value. Informative commentary.

Product: Enjoyable cruise. Good commentary.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Made every effort to find whales to view, boat was clean and comfortable and an excellent commentary on the whales and other sightings dolphins and sea birds

Product: Booking was very easy online

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

1 month ago
4/5

Service: After we tracked some pods down we had about 20+ sightings with a number of breaches. There were many encounters close to our boat (50-100mtrs)

Product: A great day but might have been better with a better kiosk

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Would by again. Flat ocean made it difficult for the whales to want to breach, but the commentary was good,

Did not hear if tea or coffee was available which would have been a nice touch.

thanks for the experience.

Product: Calm ocean, pleasant time. tea, Coffee or water would have been good.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
4/5

its good

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The whole crew was so helpful, it was not just whale watching, but more informative about the characteristics of humpback whale, sperm whale and the cruise ride was a roller coaster! (The crew had indeed informed us well upfront about the rough tides in the ocean even before we had started and we wanted to experience those rough tides! :-))

Would strongly recommend!

Product: Value for money and worth every penny!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Prasenna and Swetha,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney waters. We are delighted to read that our crew was helpful and attentive and that you found our commentary informative and educational. Being on the open water is the best way to view these fascinating mammals.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Ich kann diese Fahrt nur bestens empfehlen.

Die Crew ist mega freundlich, hilfsbereit und bestens gelaunt.

Was mir am Besten gefallen hat war, dass der Captain länger auf See blieb als alle anderen, da wir erst sehr spät Wale entdecken. Er hat uns dankenswerterweise genug Zeit gelassen, diesen doch sehr seltenen Moment mit unseren Kameras und Smartphones festzuhalten.

Die Mannschaft ist super bemüht, kann aber gegen Seekrankheit kann auch sie nichts ausrichten.

Bitte lest euch Ratschläge durch, um zu vermeiden, dass ihr nur über einem Beutel hängt..... man ist immerhin auf einem Ozean....

Herzlichen Dank an die Crew

Martina

Product: Wie zuvor beschrieben war es ein unvergesslicher Moment....

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
5/5

Fun cruise and well organized

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
4/5

Service: the whole experience was first class

Product: very informotive and good value

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Very good service and very friendly employees

Product: On time and very mindful employees. We saw whales and learned about them as well

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

2 months ago
2/5

Service: I took the time to fill in the Emergency Contact form online for my 2 bookings for 6 adults and 3 children, but on the day of collecting the boarding tickets from your booth, your staff said she could not find my completed online form and made me do a handwritten one on the spot. Why should that happen? I even received an email acknowledgement thanking me for filling in the online form - I just didn't think to print that out!

Product: Half of my passengers vomited, some of them a few times. Yes, we understand there's nothing anyone can do about the weather/tides but after the cruise we spoke with some other fellow passengers who were NOT sea sick during the cruise, and most admitted that the catamaran was too small for the open sea, and this was made worse by the waves. Well, while the waves are beyond anyone's control, at least with that forecast in mind, Captain Cook should have considered a bigger vessel. So busy vomiting and sitting very still in the open deck that most of us just couldn't even think about watching the whales (though from the commentator's speech we know he found a few).

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Cindy,

Thank you for your recent review of our Whale Watching PM Cruise on Sydney Harbour. We were very disappointed to read that we did not reach your expectations as we often receive good feedback on that cruise. Safety is our primary concern and we apologise that we were unable to locate your completed form and therefore you were requested to fill another one on check-in. All our whale watching vessels are licensed to operate in open-water and the vessel you were on has operated our whale cruises for a number of seasons and we do remind all our clients that these are open-water cruises and that sea sickness may happen and to take pre-cautions to prevent or minimise this possibility.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Services
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
5/5

Service: 开始看到了几条鲸鱼,后来吐的已经没力气看了,如果你没有seasick的问题的话尽管来看好了:)

Product: 观鲸的经历很难得,值得去一趟,一定要提前备好seasick的药,一定

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Service great Commentary great Weather turned poor hard to view any whale movements through the windows Needed WIPERS

Product: commentary great .weather turned poor visibility through windows poor need wipers

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
5/5

convenient with good service !!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
5/5

Prepared staff, interesting and organized cruises.

I can't imagine a better way to visit Sydney Harbor

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Commentary was really throughout the whole whale watching. Several whales were seen but waters was quite choppy in big sea.

Product: Smooth purchase but slight hiccup on submitting details. I have sent it online but not captured on system.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
3/5

Service: The staff in the night were exceptional- very friendly and quick with the food. Our waitress overheard that it was my mothers birthday and made the night extra special. The music was also lovely. Getting a drink was a little difficult as the staff were so busy serving food. Overall the night would have been a 4/5. The reason I rated a 3 is the online booking staff member. I sent an enquiry regarding a non alcoholic package for the designated driver and a few other questions regarding view and children packages. We went back and forth a few times but I felt the responses were very generic and I did not feel I was listened too. It felt like a generic computer response. The only reason I decided to give you a go was a previous experience with your company otherwise I would have went else where based on that experience. I hope this feedback helps.

Product: Staff were wonderful- informative and very caring (one of my party was not well). We saw lots of whales and I felt my comfort and experience was the crews main priority. Thank you.

My only suggestion would be to include an afternoon tea service (even for an extra few dolllars). There were a few other companies that do this.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

2 months ago
5/5

Service: It was an awesome 3hr ride. Despite seeing just the back of the whales and the tail, the cruise to the pacific ocean was so cool. My family enjoyed it.

Product: Provided the best service they committed.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

2 months ago
4/5

Great to see whales up close and educational and entertaining commentary by Paul.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

2 months ago
4/5

Service: On time and good services

Product: First experience watching whales during cruise. It's worthy!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

3 months ago
4/5

Service: Good service

Product: Good feeling for clearing sky

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

3 months ago
5/5

Thanks for a really great day out on our beautiful harbour. We were able to get up close and personal with the whales and the staff of Captain Cook Cruises were all lovely and friendly and knowledgable. Our commentator was full of great info about the whales, Sydney and the harbour and was funny and engaging too.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Friendly, knowledgeable crew. The boat was clean and the trip was punctual and just the right length of time

Product: As already stated above. Same feedback

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

3 months ago
4/5

Service: Excellent comentator and his two assistants were very helpful. Boat excellent for whale watching, particularly as upstairs was protected from wind but there was plenty of fresh air.

Product: Good comentary, good attention by staff, successful sighting of whales. The boat was comfortable - upstairs sheltered from wind but plenty of fresh air.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

3 months ago
5/5

Service: we thought that he hole whalewatchig experince was great the comentry was excellent and the crew were helpful at all times

Product: day all together was excellent comentry was very good and crew was very helpful

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

3 months ago
3/5

Service: Commentator was good but the cruise was just average. Didnt see much whales and only from afar. A little boring.

Product: Boring cruise. Hardly saw any whales.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

3 months ago
4/5

Service: The trip was the second day of the whale watching season. We were a little bummed that only one whale was seen. I awarded a good rating as the captain and crew were professional and did everything in their power to provide a good experience. The tour guide was well informed and entertaining. On the trip out and back he provided more information on Sydney harbor's history and features than the guide on the harbor tour we took two days before.

Product: Value was great. We booked on-line in advanced for a 50% discount.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

3 months ago
4/5

Boat was ok apart from the toilets, which were dirty and one of the doors didn't lock.

Commentary was good.

The offer of drinks and biscuits was either too quiet or didn't happen as we didnt see anyone being offered drinks and biscuits.

We saw 2 whales, which was good.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

3 months ago
3/5

Service: The captian/commentator was very charismatic. Reminded me of jack nicholson. Great guy :D. The experts picked up from Taronga zoo were also very friendly. Shame we only saw one lazy whale, but you can't help that.

Product: Good package; good value!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

3 months ago
2/5

Service: We bought tickets for the Vivid 1 hour cruise . The organisation on the night was dreadful . We stood in the queue for a good 20 minutes begore we realised we were in the wrong queue and had then missed our departure @ 6.45. When I collected the tickets I was never told they're were 4 separate queue's.

Luckily we managed to get on the 7pm departure but we had to wait until everyone had boarded.

Product: Very well organised and amazed that we actually saw the whales . I have definitely recommended this trip

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Ms Crompton,,

Thank you for your review of VIVID and we were disappointed to read your comments as we did have a very large number of guests on the first night of VIVID over a range of Lights and Dining cruises and did have a coloured flag system to let our guests know where to queue up for their cruise.

We are glad we were able to accommodate you on the next lights cruise fifteen minutes later and we hope you enjoyed the lights of VIVID from the water.

We were  glad to read that you enjoyed your Whale Watching cruise too and thank you for your recommendation.

Sincerely
Head of Customer Services
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

3 months ago
4/5

Service: My husband and I loved the whale watching cruise , as we did get to see 3 whales swimming together, but as the swell was alittle rough, so by the time we got back to Circular Quays we were feeling alittle green, as in off colour. But besides that, we did enjoy our time. :)

Product: We had an awesome time whale watching and seeing 3 whales swimming together. It was a part of my husbands 50th birthday present, as it was something we both had always wanted to do. The only negative(s) was the rough swell which by the end of the cruise we were feeling a little green around the gills ourselves, plus the inside of the cabin was too warm with the central heating been set to high. Besides that...it was great and I would thoroughly recommend it to everyone..and we would love to do it again ourselves.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon Cruise

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Very knowledgeable about the experience & what to expect

Product: Very committed to finding whales. Very knowledgeable about whales & facts.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning Cruise

View more reviews