Seafood Buffet Lunch

Inclusions

  • Cruise on MV Sydney 2000 or John Cadman 2*
  • Delicious buffet featuring Sydney rock oysters or mussels, ocean prawns, succulent fish, plus a full range of non-seafood and vegetarian dishes, dessert & cheeses
  • Main Harbour sights & commentary
  • Menu

Need to know

Timetable

Below are the normal departure details. Special timetables operate on selected dates.

Check Your Date   Check your date for changes

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6 Darling Harbour King St Wharf No.1
Daily 12.30pm. Disembark 2.15pm 12noon. Disembark 1.45pm

Download Wynyard Walk Map

Find Us

Seafood Buffet Lunch thumbnail

A delicious buffet with fresh seafood, sunshine and a relaxed, casual atmosphere is what Sydneysiders love best. Top them off with million dollar views of Sydney Harbour, a little sightseeing commentary and you have the perfect lunch escape for the whole family. More Info ...

One of the great delights of Australia is the abundance and diversity of local seafood. As an island nation where 90% of the population lives on the coastal fringes, seafood has become a staple of the Aussie diet.

On the buffet, Sydney Rock Oysters, crab, ocean prawns and the succulent fish are the most popular treats. Non-seafood eaters, meat lovers and vegetarians can take pleasure in the abundance of international hot and cold dishes, salads, desserts and cheeses.

Enjoyed by thousands of visitors every year, this cruise combines a great sightseeing experience with a delicious lunch. The atmosphere is more casual than the Top Deck Lunch and the commentary provides a fascinating insight into Sydney of the past, present and future.  After lunch wander up to the open top deck for some Sydney sunshine, a close-up photograph of the Opera House gliding by, or wave at the climbers as we cruise under the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Dress: We recommend Smart Casual

*About Your Vessel
Cruise aboard Sydney’s premier fleet including the spectacular Sydney 2000 and John Cadman 2, both with million dollar views and expansive cocktail decks. Our world class vessels are chosen for many international VIP dignitaries including the official arrival of Pope Benedict XVI for World Youth Day. Air-conditioned restaurant decks, private dining rooms, expansive decks and 360 degree open Star Deck are just a few of the features. Special attention has been made to ensure fantastic views from every seat with below table height windows. Sydney 2000 operates on dining cruises most days however we do always reserve the right to amend vessels at any time.

Children Under 18 Years
Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Responsible Service of Alcohol Policy

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

YOUR SAY VIVID DINNER & DRINKS - Captain Cook staff just keep getting better the more we sail with them. The meal was very good and the lights were magnificent. This company and this tour are highly recommended. Thank you Captain Cook Cruises for a great night. Anonymous, NSW

View Special Offers

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

86 % approval from 70 responses

Date
Rating
2 weeks ago
3/5

The service was good but the food was disappointing and the cost of the drinks was very expensive. We were originally booked on a breakfast cruise which was cancelled. We did appreciate the upgrade to the seafood lunch buffet however if we had to pay full price for the lunch cruise we would have been angry

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for the review of your Seafood Buffet Lunch cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are disappointed to read that you found we did not meet your expectations as we usually receive good feedback for this cruise. We encourage guests to speak directly to the Cruise Director on board, especially regarding food and beverages, as they can assist immediately; and we assure you that the price of our drinks menu is equivalent to those of other restaurants in Sydney.Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Did what was expected, good commentary, good seat on the boat.

Product: provided the experience it claimed to offer

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Food is fresh and plentiful . Cruise ship is clean and spacious . Service was wonderful .

Product: Excellent fresh food and atmosphere

2 weeks ago
1/5

Service: The food was horrible! Prawns with dirty poo tubes. It seemed as if we had come on board at the end of an already ongoing lunch. Not much left! And very rushed.

Disappointing for a seafood lunch.

The cruisepart was pleasant.

Product: Horrible food and at the tail end of the long lunch so not much left.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for the review of your Seafood Buffet Lunch cruise with us. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. As you know, we strive to provide world class customer service from booking all the way to the end product. Our ingredients are fresh and cooked moments before served to provide better quality and we do replace the dishes on the buffet table as soon as they finish. We encourage guests to speak directly to the Cruise Director on board as they can assist immediately especially regarding food & beverages.Once again thank you for your feedback and we apologise sincerely.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: The whole process was great - and August looked after us brilliantly.

Product: Even though there were passengers who had boarded ahead of us (as in Kings St Wharf), the food was replenished nicely so that there was enough for everyone. The rice could have been better prepared though, too lumpy, and the self coffee area turned into a mess as people trashed the machine not knowing how to use it, Otherwise, brilliant. Love those oysters!!

3 weeks ago
5/5

Everything price food service all wonderful

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: very organized , welcoming and leading to our table was surprise , because I thought seats were not reserved , especially next to the window ,service was excellent , very friendly staff

Product: very fresh, tasty dishes , excellent service , deserts were in abundance

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Very good standard of service, thanks.

Product: The buffet was very nice with good variety.

4 weeks ago
1/5

Service: It was catered for asain people

Product: Not enough variety nothing was fresh

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Hanna Everts,

Thank you for the review of your Seafood Buffet Lunch with us on Sydney Harbour. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations as we usually receive good feedback on that cruise. We strive to provide a wide variety of dishes including seafood, non-seafood, vegetarian, cheeses and desserts in order to try and please both western and eastern tastes. All the ingredients are delivered daily to our kitchens and cooked onboard moments before it is served so it is certainly fresh. We encourage guests to speak directly to the Cruise Director onboard on the day as they are able to assist immediately specially regarding food and beverage. 

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

1 month ago
5/5

Beautful vessel, great lunch, very unrushed, great commentary and such a beautifulharbour. Amazing value and experience.

1 month ago
4/5

Service: Liked the general feeling of the cruise and organisation on board.

Everyone enjoyed the seafood buffet and desserts.

Could the cruise be extended to 3 hours?

Product: Mentioned before that everyone liked the variety and food itself.

1 month ago
5/5

Excellent service and lunch.

1 month ago
5/5

Service: absolutely, we had a wonderful day on beautiful Sydney harbour we were celebrating a Birthday and therefore it was a special day and since we live in a rural town it is a treat to come to Sydney. only negative comment is that the buffet was cleared away rather quickly and to have such beautiful food one needs a rest between refills.,

Product: Because it was indeed excellent

1 month ago
4/5

Service: Very good, we had the buffet lunch so served ourselves. Wine waiter was prompt but then it wasn’t very busy

Product: Good value if you book for 6 or more.

1 month ago
5/5

Everything was great!

1 month ago
5/5

Pleasant staff, good food and of course the fabulous Sydney Harbour.

1 month ago
3/5

The food was not good. The cruising of the harbour was very good experience. And the staff were friendly and helpful.

1 month ago
4/5

Service: The ship, staff and view were great. The food this time was a little disappointing, like the asian food was watery, the fish was overcooked and the prawns and oysters were small. Generally good value.

Product: The buffet was a bit disappointing in that the Asian food was watery, the fish overcooked and the prawns and oysters were small and not very flavourful.

1 month ago
5/5

Celebrated my mothers birthday on board the boat. The crew where great, very helpful and friendly. The food was good and the cruise relaxing. I would go again

1 month ago
5/5

Service: the food was great, the crews was friendly!

Product: good food, friendly crews.

1 month ago
3/5

Service: Plenty of food preparation for a seafood buffet for a lunch cruise will be perfect. We had a good time but the food was not much so I did not bother to get more even if it were a buffet.

Product: As I mentioned already for the review of the experience, plenty of food will be perfect.

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Excellent service. We will recommend them to friends and relatives. One negative was that soft drinks just too expensive for $18.00 a small or standard jug.

Product: Good value for money and service!

2 months ago
5/5

Joined lunch cruise with family.

Love the view of Sydney Harbour.

Friendly staff. Nice food for a buffet lunch.

2 months ago
4/5

Had a great lunch time cruise on Sydney Harbour. The food was fresh, and there was plenty of it. There was a good mix to suit all tastes. There was also fresh fruit salad, deserts and a selection of cheeses.

2 months ago
2/5

Service: Ridiculous to say the least, got seated first and our waiter didn't greet us until 6 or 7 other couples were then seated after us. Food was also of poor quality.

Product: Food was of poor quality and there was a lack of non seafood options.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Angelo Callanan,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are disappointed to read that we did not reach your expectations as we usually receive good feedback on that cruise. The Seafood Buffet Lunch offers rock oysters, ocean prawns, fish, plus a range of non-seafood and vegetarian dishes, but it is focused on seafood, as advertised on our website. We encourage guests to speak directly to the Cruise Director on-board on the day as they can assist immediately especially regarding food & beverage.

Once again we are sorry for not meeting your expectations and thank you for your feedback.


Kind regards,
Head of Customer Serice
Captain Cook Cruises

2 months ago
5/5

Excellent - good friendly service and obliging staff. Buffet was great - fresh with variety.

2 months ago
4/5

Service: V.friendly staff particularly Mark who took the time to chat to my son.

Product: Lovely fresh seafood...only thing to have topped it may have been the inclusion of lobster and bugs but I’m being picky. There was plenty of seafood!

2 months ago
4/5

commentary good, not too intrusive - wait staff courteous, friendly and prompt in service. Only thing lacking was instruction when I was led to my table - needed to be told I could help myself to the buffet whenever I was ready because I wasn't sure if we were supposed to wait to be directed.

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The views, of course are always exceptional when you are on the Harbour, but enjoying the Seafood Lunch with great company and great staff the day was just perfect.

Product: Yum, yum, yum. We couldn't have asked for better.

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent seafood buffet cruise

Product: Food terrific.staff very nice

2 months ago
5/5

Service: great first glass serrvice

Product: we have tried this option before and love it

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent experience, beautiful views, great food, wine and service.

Product: Great experience and a good way to see Sydney.

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Captain Cook cruise seafood is very delicious.

The view of Sydney from the ship is very good.

I had a good experience. The staff are very kind.

I would like to try again next time.

Thank you very much! !

Product: Captain Cook cruise seafood is very delicious.

The view of Sydney from the ship is very good.

I had a good experience. The staff are very kind.

I would like to try again next time.

Thank you very much! !

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Great!! Only issue i had was the drink serving was very slow. I ordered a drink ans didnt get it till 30 mins later. And then for my second drink i waited ans waited. Put my hand up. Nothing. I had to go to the bar and order my second drink. I paid for a bar package and got 2 drinks... it would be cheaper to have paid for them separately. Get your service up to spec!

Product: Food was amazing. Good selection. Good quality. Very happy with the food

2 months ago
4/5

Service: The day was lovely, food very good. We booked for 20 people, however, the guaranteed window seating didn't eventuate which was quite disappointing for the out of towners. The cruise was a touch to quick another half an hour would have been great.

Product: The food was very good and sufficient quantity

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi,

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the food and our cruise. We love hearing positive feedback. 
We've just had a look at your booking, and we can see you booked online however you didn't pay for a window guarantee which is why the window seating didn't occur. We're sorry about this but the guarantee is only for the customers that pay for that extra service.


If there is anything else we can help with please let us know!

Thank you,
Captain Cook Team

2 months ago
5/5

The friendly professional staff making sure our seafood lunch cruise wasn't just another eating experience but a memorable one with not only great food but excellent service too .

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Staff were attentive to our needs, nothing was a problem.

Thought the cruise could have gone for longer.

Product: It was a seafood buffet but I didn't think there was much in the way of Seafood. Only prawns, crab & mussels. There were no oysters.

2 months ago
5/5

Really good food, and views

2 months ago
4/5

Yes I will be going again and will recommending them to friends

The staff were fantastic and very friendly

2 months ago
5/5

all staff was excellent will do again next time in Sydney

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The seafood buffet lunch cruise was a fun experience. The food was great, service excellent and the two hour journey around Sydney harbour was spectacular.

Product: A perfect two hours, eating a delicious seafood lunch, whilst cruising on Sydney harbour. A very pleasurable experience and one I would recommend to anyone visiting or living in Sydney.

2 months ago
1/5

Service: We went to darling harbour to bored and was told the Father's Day Lunch was only boarding at circular quay so me and my partners and 3 year old daughter rushed all the way to circular quay just in time to board to to find out that every else boarded at darling harbour. So mad that I collected my tickets at darling harbour and was told to go to circular quay. Was such a hassle and waste of time really ruined Father's Day for us.

Product: Not much food to choose from and the oysters were off and you could clearly see they were green in colour. Everything was cold

3 months ago
4/5

Service: The service and food great .the only problem the sound system wasn't working properly so the country visitors kept asking where we were. I would thoroughly recommend the cruise. We celebrated a birthday in style .No complaints from any of the group of 10

Product: The amount for buffet was reasonable .I was surprised when I booked I was expecting it to be more

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi Kay,


Thank you for leaving your feedback - we really appreciate it. We'll pass along the comments on the sound system as well so everyone can enjoy our highly rated cruises. 


Thank you so much again and glad you enjoyed the cruise! 

Happy belated birthday.

Regards,
Captain Cook Team.

3 months ago
5/5

Crew were very attentive and helpful. Only criticism we would have of our whole experience would be the food. Plenty of seafood but the hot dishes were limited and too similar, the baked potatoes didn't seem to have any accompaniment e.g. chicken or beef and the ham had no taste whatsoever. Little dessert cakes were not very pleasant.

3 months ago
4/5

All was nice and well prepared.

3 months ago
4/5

Service was great.

Although maybe a bit more variety in the buffet would be even better.

3 months ago
5/5

Service: This is our 3rd time on the Captain Cook Lunch Cruise, most enjoyable friendly staff and great food , would recommend fab value

Product: Great food, pay the extra for window seat and drinks package,,

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi Sheila,

Amazing, we love that this was your third time!
You're basically family now. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we really appreciate it and love hearing about your experiences.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

3 months ago
4/5

Service: Thank you

Product: Thank you. The food was great.

3 months ago
4/5

Service: service food staff ship experience was excellent.

One concern no safety demonstration ie where the life jackets are kept etc

also commentary was not audible and very limited

Product: good quality and plentiful

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hello Frances,

Thank you for writing to us about your recent experience on the Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We love hearing all feedback and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

Our staff are all trained in safety measures and precautions and we will definitely keep your feedback in mind. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food and the service from our staffs. Usually we get very good feedback on our commentary so we will try and improve on this.


Thank you again for your feedback!


Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

3 months ago
5/5

Superior service with great facilities.

4 months ago
5/5

Service: My parents were visiting from overseas and I booked this because it gave us the best opportunity to see the Harbour and learn it's history; as well as a delicious seafood lunch! The food was fantastic and the crew were friendly! Thank you. Something I will do again. 😃

Product: Booked online.... was super easy

4 months ago
4/5

Service: The services was first class, the staff were friendly, polite and professional.

Product: It was well presented and delicious.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for the review of your Seafood Buffet Lunch cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are pleased to read that you were offered a professional and friendly service onboard, and that you enjoyed the buffet.

Once again thank you for your review, it is very appreciated.

Kind regards
Head of Customer Service,
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Friendly staff and good service, the ship is well organised and very clean, presentable, it's worth spending with

Product: Your professional staff, well presentable and good value for money have convinced me to change the rating. I especially thank you to the young gentleman staff who served the beer for me in the front of the ship. Well done mate! :)

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Danny Thompson, 

Thank you for your review of the Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are delighted to read that you found the vessel well-organised and the staff were attentive and friendly. As you know we do our best to offer customers an amazing experience. We agree to say it is great value for money.

Once again thank you or your feedback, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Very well organised. Very professional

Product: Could have more selections of fish

4 months ago
4/5

Need more fresh seafood and salads and deserts very ordinary. Service was good.

4 months ago
3/5

Service: Nice service, nice view

Cruiser's window dirty, food not good at all

Product: Smooth and fast payment, confirmation mail comes quickly

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Tsz Yuk Chan,

Thank you for your review of your Seafood Buffet Lunch cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were disappointed to read that the food was not at your taste as we usually receive good feedback on the choices available. The vessel’s windows are cleaned inside by our crew before and after every cruise and the outside windows have automatic window cleaners too. We strongly encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director if they have any concerns as they would be able to assist you immediately especially regarding food and beverage services.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we are sorry not to reach your expectations.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
5/5

Service: friendly staff and very engaging

Product: nice food. just wish more selection on deserts.

4 months ago
4/5

Service: Staff we very friendly

Cruise was very informative

Weather was gorgeous

The only disappointment was the variety of food.

Not enough choices and both dishes was hot and spicy

Product: See above as already given my comments

5 months ago
4/5

Service: Cruise was great! Seafood buffet sucked! Just do the regular cruise or try different food

Product: Seafood buffet sucked! Wasn't worth money. Cruise was great though.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Charlie Rogers III,

Thank you for your review of your Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We regret about not reaching your expectations as we usually receive valuable feedback on that cruise. We encourage guests to speak to the Cruise Director onboard if they have any concerns as they would be able to solve the problem immediately.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we are sorry.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service,
Captain Cook Cruises

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent meal, great service. All in all a great time had by all

Product: Good value for money - very enjoyable

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Loved the cruise. Got a bit annoyed when other pa§engers just talked over the commentary.

Product: The food was delicious and plentiful.

5 months ago
5/5

Great service we will use them again

5 months ago
3/5

Service: Crew were great, helpful polite and friendly. Seafood buffet was disappointing not the standard of food expected. More like a very cheap Valentines Buffet and a rugby scrum around the food. Not a relaxing Easter Sunday Cruise

Product: Not value for money sadly wouldn't buy again. Such a shame as it is on the most beautiful harbour in the world.

5 months ago
5/5

Service: 很棒的体验 很棒的服务 会再去 也会推荐给他人

Product: 绝佳的观赏海港大桥和悉尼歌剧院的角度 很好的服务 一定会再去!

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Everything about this cruise was fanastic. Service, food, views.

Product: Loved the crab, prawns, ham and desserts

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Food service was excellent for value.

Product: I will sugggest this cruise service to my friend.

6 months ago
3/5

Service: The food on the buffet wasn't always replaced when a dish had run out, unless you were in early.

Cheese board was virtually non existent.

Product: Great experience and commentary. Would've been nice to have had a good selection of food even though we weren't the first people to arrive. Desserts and cheeseboard wasn't very imaginative.

6 months ago
4/5

Let down by the buffet presentation, nothing like your photos, quality ok but presentation ordinary.

Trip itself was good,overall enjoyed it.

6 months ago
5/5

Service: 아주 좋았습니다.

Product: 끝 날때 Circular Quay 오기전에 왜 Darling Harbour wharf 에 너무 오래동안 기다려야 하는지 이해가 되지 않았습니다.

6 months ago
5/5

Service: We were anxious to travel with captain cook, because it was the first time for our family to go on a cruise. The staff at captain cook made us feel comfortable and they organised everything that we requested. so we were pleased with the outcome of the experience. Thank you captain cook

Product: The food was excellent just as we wanted.

View more reviews

Christmas Party Specials

Hire your own boat, book a private room or simply share a deck with other like-minded guests. Cruises from AU$65 

Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race

Be part of one of the world's greatest sailing events this Boxing Day 26 December. Race cruises selling fast!

New Years Eve in Sydney

Nobody celebrates New Years Eve like Sydney. Front row seats to all the action on sale now

Gift Voucher Sale

Save up to 35% on Cruise Vouchers. No crowds, no queuing, vouchers emailed instantly. Buy online now!