Seafood Buffet Lunch

Inclusions

  • Cruise on MV Sydney 2000 or John Cadman 2*
  • Delicious buffet featuring Sydney rock oysters or mussels, ocean prawns, succulent fish, plus a full range of non-seafood and vegetarian dishes, dessert & cheeses
  • Main Harbour sights & commentary
  • Menu

Need to know

Timetable

Below are the normal departure details. Special timetables operate on selected dates.

Check Your Date   Check your date for changes

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6 Darling Harbour King St Wharf No.1
Daily 12.30pm. Disembark 2.15pm 12noon. Disembark 1.45pm

Download Wynyard Walk Map

Find Us

Seafood Buffet Lunch thumbnail

A delicious buffet with fresh seafood, sunshine and a relaxed, casual atmosphere is what Sydneysiders love best. Top them off with million dollar views of Sydney Harbour, a little sightseeing commentary and you have the perfect lunch escape for the whole family. More Info ...

One of the great delights of Australia is the abundance and diversity of local seafood. As an island nation where 90% of the population lives on the coastal fringes, seafood has become a staple of the Aussie diet.

On the buffet, Sydney Rock Oysters, crab, ocean prawns and the succulent fish are the most popular treats. Non-seafood eaters, meat lovers and vegetarians can take pleasure in the abundance of international hot and cold dishes, salads, desserts and cheeses.

Enjoyed by thousands of visitors every year, this cruise combines a great sightseeing experience with a delicious lunch. The atmosphere is more casual than the Top Deck Lunch and the commentary provides a fascinating insight into Sydney of the past, present and future.  After lunch wander up to the open top deck for some Sydney sunshine, a close-up photograph of the Opera House gliding by, or wave at the climbers as we cruise under the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Dress: We recommend Smart Casual

*About Your Vessel
Cruise aboard Sydney’s premier fleet including the spectacular Sydney 2000 and John Cadman 2, both with million dollar views and expansive cocktail decks. Our world class vessels are chosen for many international VIP dignitaries including the official arrival of Pope Benedict XVI for World Youth Day. Air-conditioned restaurant decks, private dining rooms, expansive decks and 360 degree open Star Deck are just a few of the features. Special attention has been made to ensure fantastic views from every seat with below table height windows. Sydney 2000 operates on dining cruises most days however we do always reserve the right to amend vessels at any time.

Children Under 18 Years
Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Responsible Service of Alcohol Policy

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

YOUR SAY HIGH TEA - My mum is particularly hard to buy for, so the High Tea at Sea was the perfect Mother's Day gift. Leah, NSW

View Special Offers

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

63 % approval from 30 responses

Date
Rating
19 hours ago
5/5

Service: Punctual, pleasant helpful staff. Interesting and informative commentary. Nice facilities
Product: Generally pretty good and the fish was excellent

2 days ago
3/5

The service was good. The food was nice but there wasn't enough of the fresh fruit platter. Maybe a few extra platters next time? But overall we had a good time.

3 days ago
3/5

service at the bar was not friendly

3 days ago
1/5

The experience was lacking in all the sparkle that the advert/listing promises. They provide beautiful pictures of the food and the harbor and you get none of that. I took my wife and mother in law on a Seafood buffet lunch for my mil's 50th birthday. We were promised crab and an assortment of salads which weren't available. We got on an older looking worn out ship with outdated decor to find two food stations with poor presentation set up on two separate sides of the ship. There was no variety, just the same selections (which were less than the promised menu but they got away with it because there's a tiny little * subject to change/availability on the menu listing). We weren't even able to finish our first plate of food before we saw them pack up the station on our end and we were advised we had to walk over to the other side to get anything additional. What we ended up with was mediocre food in both presentation and taste on a mediocre ship and some nice views of the harbor. There are so many other spectacular restaurants in the vicinity, don't waste your time or money on this.

4 days ago
4/5

I thought the food and service was good for the Seafood buffet lunch,
Once the food became available, there was no annoucement or explanation
of when to come forward and the process to obtain your meal, eg
line up ,on one side of the table or both sides, there should have been some staff
at the table to explain this situation.
The service for refreshments (drinks) was well done, waiting on the tables
and at the bar.
On entry at the ship the greatings and explanations on where to go, deck levels
and the ammenties should have been explained.
I believe we got value for our money especially the actual cruise and explanation of the harbour sites and history.

Regards
Ray Smiles

4 days ago
5/5

Fantastic experience cruising the harbour whilst dining fine seafood on a luxurious vessel!

4 days ago
5/5

Service: Brilliant ! professional, yet warm and friendly. Everything ran according to schedule and our comfort was their priority.
Product: Very good value. First class food and plenty of it. A wonderful variety of local produce.

4 days ago
5/5

Service: They did everything well from food to service to commentary, we enjoyed the complete experience. Big thumbs up !!
Product: Food was excellent , plenty of it and quality was outstanding

4 days ago
4/5

Service: Wonderful customer service - very pleasant manner & responsive to requests.
Product: Good selection of seafood. Other dishes yummy too.

4 days ago
4/5

Service: Friendly staff, good service.
Product: Tasty selection, well presented and plenty for all

1 week ago
3/5

Customer service was good, but variety of the buffet was limited, so a bit disappointing there.

1 week ago
2/5

Service: We expected better service than we received.
Our assigned staff member did not instruct us the food was ready at the buffet nor any other instruction in regards to amenity and etc, we were basically directed where to sit and that was it.. seemed to be plenty of staff so was not a matter the cruise to be understaffed, just seem to be a matter of low grade trained staff and staff managers.
Product: often travelers from oversea worry about uncooked seafood.there are plenty of cooked seafood dish you could think of as well..

1 week ago
4/5

Great service, lovely staff, excellent quality of food but felt there could have been more variety of salads and vegetarian dishes. Loved the commentary and of course the views are spectacular. Was a great way to celebrate my Mum's birthday

1 week ago
3/5

Just average service, we wrre given the wrong table at first. Staff remmkved orawn head plate and did not bring another one back

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the service on your cruise. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.  

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,  
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

1 week ago
5/5

Service: From booking to coming off the cruise, the service was and always is fantastic, the chef personally came out and chatted with our elderly clients which was great.
Always a pleasure to go on one of your cruises.
Product: Great service, great food, great cruise

2 weeks ago
4/5

Service: They were very friendly and assisted with the lunch and drink service.
Product: It was quite tasty. People sure got in quickly. The coffee machine served only average drinks.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding your beverages. We also offer customers the option to purchase a coffee made by a barista on board. This can be made to order and customised to your convenience. We are pleased you found the service very friendly and of great assistance. We agree that our Seafood Buffet food is an enjoyable lunch.  

Once again thank you for your feedback. 

Kind Regards,  
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

2 weeks ago
3/5

Service: Food was average. But ship was crowded. We paid extra for window seat. We could NOT HEAR any commentary from ship's speakers on any sites we we're passing. We complained to staff and their answer was that's the way it is because ship crowded. Made absolutely no effort to raise volume or help us. Acted like they couldn't care less. We booked the cruise for site seeing, not for floating restaurant. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone
Product: Food just ok. Could not hear any commentary from speakers
No one would help. Staff could care less

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding your vessel and commentary. Our GPS commentary is used to provide a general insight into the history and fun facts of the harbour. This is set at a volume so as to not interrupt or be obtrusive to the conversations and ambience of fellow passengers, whilst still at an appropriate volume for customers to listen to at their leisure. If customers prefer a live, personalised and interactive commentary, we provide live commentary on our Harbour Story cruises. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.  

Once again thank you for your feedback. 

Kind Regards,  
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

2 weeks ago
2/5

The service was good but the cruise was really noisy, too many kids shouting and running everywhere. On top of the comments given it was really noisy and I even couldn't talk to my friend.
We really had to rush to eat, they closed the buffet very quickly (30 min) after we onboarded and so we didn't have time to eat all we wanted to eat.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the ambience and timing of food. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager. We are pleased you found the service to your standards.  

Once again thank you for your feedback. 

Kind Regards,  
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

2 weeks ago
3/5

Food was nice and scenery beautiful of course.
Boat windows dirty, didn't like the recorded voice live person would of been more entertaining.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding your vessel and commentary. Our windows are cleaned thoroughly and regularly, however the salt water can sometimes make the windows appear otherwise. Our GPS commentary is used to provide a general insight into the history and fun facts of the harbour. If customers prefer a live, personalised and interactive commentary, we provide live commentary on our harbour story cruises. We agree that the nice food and amazing scenery makes for an enjoyable cruise on the beautiful Sydney Harbour. 

Once again thank you for your feedback. 

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service 
Captain Cook Cruises

2 weeks ago
3/5

Service was ok. When we boarded at Circular Quay for the seafood buffet lunch,we were not greeted by staff and explained where to go and just had to follow people in front of us. When we got upstairs we were shown our seats and left to our own devices.
The buffet was not well presented and seafood didn’t seem fresh.
There was a problem with onboard internet connection for making card payments for beverages and had to pay cash. Luckily we had got some money out before we boarded.
We paid for a guaranteed window seat $15pp which would of been better if the windows were washed/wiped.
The cruise itself was nice on a beautiful day on Sydney harbour but was let down by simple gestures, presentation, freshness and cleanliness.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

Thank you for your review of our Captains Dinner Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding your food, vessel and service. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering manager. Our windows are cleaned thoroughly and regularly, however the salt water can sometimes make the windows appear otherwise. We agree that the cruise is a nice experience on the beautiful Sydney Harbour. 

Once again thank you for your feedback. 

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service 
Captain Cook Cruises

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Nice lunch and commentary - on time boarding
Product: Lovely selection of foods

3 weeks ago
5/5

Outstanding.

1. I was lunching with my father (87 years old). He is not the fastest on his feet and even had a fall on the wharf on approach but every one on the wharf and on board were so accomodating and helpful.

2. The general service was brilliant. Food great and plentiful. The boat a very comfortable.

Over all a very enjoyable afternoon - on we will repeat.


Thank you

Michael

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Very Aussie and friendly, informative the chef came around and answered some questions about the buildings around the harbour.
Product: very good selection nicely presented

3 weeks ago
4/5

Service: Great experience, nice ambiance, amazing harbor views. The food was good and fresh, although some prawns were a bit soggy. The service could have been better. The used plates were not taken from our table until requested.
Product: A bit expensive, some prawns were soggy.

3 weeks ago
4/5

Service: Excellent service from very friendly, competent and efficient staff!
Lovely seafood buffet, delicious mussels!
wonderful way to spend a couple of hours on a beautiful harbour.
Product: Good value for money, all round package.
We'll be back with family and friends!
Thanks.

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Excellent, on time service. Friendly staff and good food. Slightly disappointing that soft drinks not included in the price, although I understand any alcoholic drinks not being included. Commentary difficult to hear at times, although very good. Signage for restrooms invisible, at least to us.
Product: Excellent food! Very fresh and plenty of it.

3 weeks ago
3/5

The service provided is good but the food variety as for seafood buffet is below average.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding your food. We can assure you that all our products are sourced and prepared fresh. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering manager. We agree that friendly and helpful staff on-board are very good. 

Once again thank you for your feedback. 

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service 
Captain Cook Cruises

4 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Yes, would recommend it to friends. In fact, have done so already.
Product: Excellent value. We had a small baby in our group and were looked after well once we settled at our table. We were in an open area near the bar which was good. However, you need to make it clear that it is stair access only and tricky with a pram until the stairs are clear, so that means waiting until everyone is upstairs.

4 weeks ago
4/5

Service: The crew and commentary were very good. We felt the food was a bit below standard, particularly the hot dishes.
Product: We were overall happy with the cruise.

4 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Great experence for tourists or people test dont know Sydney
Product: Great food, plenty of choice

View more reviews

Vivid Sydney Festival

Experience Vivid Sydney from the water aboard a great range of cruises from AU$25

Discover Kangaroo Island

Discover Kangaroo Island, South Australia. Ferries, accommodation and tours.

Gift Voucher Sale

Save up to 35% on Cruise Vouchers. No crowds, no queuing, vouchers emailed instantly. Buy online now!

Discover Sydney Dining

Discover Sydney Harbour Dining. Daily Dinner, Lunch and High Tea Cruises from AU$59