Seafood Buffet Lunch

Inclusions

  • Cruise on MV Sydney 2000 or John Cadman 2*
  • Delicious buffet featuring chilled oysters, mussels, ocean prawns, succulent fish, plus a full range of non-seafood and vegetarian dishes, dessert & cheeses
  • Main Harbour sights & commentary
  • Menu

Need to know

Timetable

Below are the normal departure details. Special timetables operate on selected dates.

Check Your Date   Check your date for changes

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6 Darling Harbour King St Wharf No.1
Daily 12.30pm. Disembark 2.15pm 12noon. Disembark 1.45pm

Download Wynyard Walk Map

Find Us

Seafood Buffet Lunch thumbnail

A delicious buffet with fresh seafood, sunshine and a relaxed, casual atmosphere is what Sydneysiders love best. Top them off with million dollar views of Sydney Harbour, a little sightseeing commentary and you have the perfect lunch escape for the whole family. More Info ...

One of the great delights of Australia is the abundance and diversity of local seafood. As an island nation where 90% of the population lives on the coastal fringes, seafood has become a staple of the Aussie diet.

On the buffet, Sydney Rock Oysters, crab, ocean prawns and the succulent fish are the most popular treats. Non-seafood eaters, meat lovers and vegetarians can take pleasure in the abundance of international hot and cold dishes, salads, desserts and cheeses.

Enjoyed by thousands of visitors every year, this cruise combines a great sightseeing experience with a delicious lunch. The atmosphere is more casual than the Top Deck Lunch and the commentary provides a fascinating insight into Sydney of the past, present and future.  After lunch wander up to the open top deck for some Sydney sunshine, a close-up photograph of the Opera House gliding by, or wave at the climbers as we cruise under the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Dress: We recommend Smart Casual

*About Your Vessel
Cruise aboard Sydney’s premier fleet including the spectacular Sydney 2000 and John Cadman 2, both with million dollar views and expansive cocktail decks. Our world class vessels are chosen for many international VIP dignitaries including the official arrival of Pope Benedict XVI for World Youth Day. Air-conditioned restaurant decks, private dining rooms, expansive decks and 360 degree open Star Deck are just a few of the features. Special attention has been made to ensure fantastic views from every seat with below table height windows. Sydney 2000 operates on dining cruises most days however we do always reserve the right to amend vessels at any time.

Children Under 18 Years
Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Responsible Service of Alcohol Policy

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

YOUR SAY SUNSET DINNER - Thoroughly enjoyed it.The cruise, food, and service could best be described as excellent. Bob & Judy, NSW

View Special Offers

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

84 % approval from 61 responses

Date
Rating
2 days ago
5/5

Service: The food was amazing. The staff were friendly and efficient. Very pleasant day.
Product: The food was good. We really enjoyed the quality and variety.

4 days ago
4/5

Service: The whole experience was pleasant well organized and courteous crew.
The food was very nice.
Product: Nice variety good food very tasty

4 days ago
5/5

Service: Excellent service and food
Product: Excellent food and service

4 days ago
5/5

good

4 days ago
5/5

Service: Everything was excellent and we enjoyed window seating and. Thoroughly enjoyable cruise
Product: All food was great and a good choice

4 days ago
4/5

Service: Three of my friends and I have been on this cruise for the past 5 years. The staff in the booking office are always very helpful and pleasant. Once on board the wait staff are also very helpful and pleasant and this year was no exception. Unfortunately this year the seafood was very disappointing. Although the price went up by $5.00 there wasn't any crab on the buffet and the prawns were not up to standard. They were very watery and not very flavoursome. I have seen the price of this cruise rise from $39.00 to $55.00 over the past 5 years and one would expect that the quality of the food should be maintained. If the food had been the same standard as it has been in the past 5 years I would have given 5 stars.
Product: Please refer to the previous page.

4 days ago
5/5

excellent service and foods

4 days ago
5/5

Service: My group of older ladies had a great day. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The food was replenished regularly. The only thing the group thought we needed more time, say from 12.30 departure to arriving back and circular quay at 2.30pm. Everyone dining out really needs at least 2 hours to sit, eat and chat. that's what dining out it is all about, ..one and half hours was just not enough time, it was a little rushed. We will certainly go again when the special offer is on.
Product: all great! needed more time.

4 days ago
3/5

I was disappointed with the Buffet , not enough variety , however the cruise was good , commentary was a bit hard to hear .

5 days ago
5/5

GREAT FOOD, LOVELY STAFF, PLEASANT CRUISE

5 days ago
5/5

Service: We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves food was very good the ship was very clean and the staff were very pleasant
Product: The young lady on the phone was very efficient and helpful

5 days ago
3/5

Service: Ordered a beer. Waited a long time. Half way thru the meal ordered again with another staff. That came pretty fast. Later on the first order arrived.
Product: Lacked presentation, no wow factor in my opinion.

Smoked salmon was nice. Food was good.

5 days ago
3/5

Service: the way everyone was crowded over serving table while others were still boarding there was only scrappy left food by the time i got there and was only a small amount of seafood didn`t look appetising at all so i didn`t have any seafood and only a little of the other on offer, and it was cleared away very quickly the desserts really need to be looked at there are extremely poor we were a party of four and paid $421 two of our party were visitors from new zealand quite disappointing although the trip was nice on the harbour i was really looking forward to this special time
Product: i think i have said it all

5 days ago
5/5

Service: Food, aervice, view and weather all perfect!
Product: All very fresh and well presented

5 days ago
5/5

Service: Clean and comfortable vessel

Excellent food
Product: Everything was great,the vessel, the food and the service

5 days ago
5/5

Service: excellent service friendly staff
Product: Fresh Seafood great tasting
Barramundi great salads

5 days ago
5/5

Service, hospitality, food all good it was nice to have a meal on Sydney harbour with nice surroundings

5 days ago
4/5

Service: Just such a loverly day and the food great
Product: Gret food and a wounderful day

5 days ago
5/5

Service: Friendly and excellent customer service
Product: good choice but mussels a little tough

5 days ago
5/5

Service: When we arrived at the wharf, I mentally groaned, there was so many people I thought this is going to be one Hugh chrush. But no, we were ushered to our window table, and all was well. The buffet table worked well, the food was great, just as advertised, we went back for seconds!
Product: The oysters were just wonderful and plenty of them, just what we wanted.

6 days ago
3/5

The cruise was very enjoyable - food was excellent - service very good - one issue was that the cruise was for 2 hours and I was disappointed that we called into Darling Harbour wharf within that time frame when we would have preferred to see more of the Harbour, perhaps further up the Parramatta River, especially when my husband & I paid more for a window seat X 5 people!!

7 days ago
3/5

Service: Replenished the food
They took plates away quickly and then there weren't any more for more food, cutlery too.
Product: Poor quality seafood when that was the highlight

1 week ago
4/5

Service: The greeting on land by (Captain Cook look alike) was friendly and welcoming.To make the trip more authentic a big screen depicticting the HX of sydney harbour would give a more visually perceptive view of the past.The crew were very friendly and interactive with the customers,The food was ok,a bush band playing softly and intermittendly in the background????
Product: Salads not enough variety, mundane and did not excite the taste buds

1 week ago
4/5

Service was good.

Would have liked more choices in the buffet

1 week ago
4/5

Service: We were a group of 14 guests and all enjoyed their meal and commentary. Thank-you.
Product: We took advantage of the Seniors discount. Thank you.

1 week ago
5/5

Service: the entire experience from service to food.
Product: Took advantage of last minute special which made it an affordable day out

1 week ago
4/5

Service: Very good
Product: Excellent food, would recommend.

2 weeks ago
4/5

I thought their service and table service was very good I do not believe in excellence as there is no more room for improvement and whatever you do you can always improve. I would certainly recommend to my friends.

2 weeks ago
3/5

Service was efficient, polite and very friendly. Food was fairly average with a limited selection. Bread rolls however were divine.

2 weeks ago
2/5

The service was very good

2 weeks ago
5/5

Friendly service and lovely food. Well organized. Time table was spot on.
Commentary was excellent.

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Love their service from start to finish. Dishes & desserts were very delicious , they kept on filling up , nice & comfortable seats we had. They have full of smiles & services. Dad wants to go again.
Product: Delicious food & services. Friendly service s.

2 weeks ago
4/5

Service: We were happy with the service, staff were polite and cleaned table up promptly when we had finished food and drinks.
Product: I enjoyed the food but relatives would have liked more of a selection of roast meats and standard veg as they are not seafood lovers but chose this cruise because it fitted in our schedule but they enjoyed the cruise regardless and the weather was fantastic on the day. Must say it was good value for money.

2 weeks ago
4/5

Service: Crew were good.
Product: Food was average to below average. I am unable to think of anything I'd go back for. Long queues, desert was empty for about 30 minutes. Mussels had no flavor (frozen) oyster poor quality. As bad as it sound the best was an overly processed surimi salad. That's not a compliment.

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Good all around, On time, good service and the lunch was above average.
Product: Good quality of food and well presented

2 weeks ago
5/5

I had a group of 55 over 50's for seniors week. The entire group had a wonderful time and are still talking about it a week later. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious and plenty of it. Would recommend this trip to anyone. Thanks very much for a wonderful day.

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: The crew were terrific and the service was extremely good. I loved the food variation and the sea food was very fresh and tastety.
Thanks a lot it was worth doing and you will see me again
Product: Because it was worthed. The food was finger licking

2 weeks ago
5/5

Everything about the cruise was excellent. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Food quality and quantity was also good.

2 weeks ago
4/5

Service: Great except given table right beside the food.Had people hanging over our table in the line waiting for their food..
I thought it was fine however my guest from overseas was not impressed.
We did join at King Street and of cause at that stage there were a very large number of tables vacant.
Product: Good selection and plently of everything.

2 weeks ago
4/5

Service: Every one was most helpful
Product: Cruise was good, Buffet was average, Sweets were poor

2 weeks ago
4/5

Staff were lovely, harbour scenery amazing, but dining chairs somewhat uncomfortable after an hour of sitting.

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: I joined under the senior's discount with the bar added. I thought it was extremely good value for money, the food was excellent and fresh with plenty of choices. The bar supplement was reasonable and the staff were all courteous and friendly
Product: Great value, very fresh with lots or choices

2 weeks ago
2/5

Service: Very long queue at buffet. It would be better if some organisation table by table could take place. The food itself was average for the main course and dessert was below a reasonable standard.
The self serve tea/coffee was appalling. The sign said both tea and were on the hot plate, but both jugs had teabags. There was no coffee there, and the coffee from the machine could only be described as coloured hot water.
We have been on this cruise before and felt its standard has declined to the extent that we are unlikely to go again.
Product: Very long queue at buffet. It would be better if some organisation table by table could take place. The food itself was average for the main course and dessert was below a reasonable standard.
The self serve tea/coffee was appalling. The sign said both tea and were on the hot plate, but both jugs had teabags. There was no coffee there, and the coffee from the machine could only be described as coloured hot water.
We have been on this cruise before and felt its standard has declined to the extent that we are unlikely to go again.

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Very friendly welcome and prompt table allocation.Great service and smiles from all the crew.
Product: Great value for money and a good selection to choose from.

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Enjoyed the lunch cruise, food was very good, staff was very friendly
Product: Good Value for the buffet lunch and cruise

2 weeks ago
4/5

Our group had a wonderful time. The ship itself was beautiful, staff were very patient and accommodating with our sometimes fussy seniors. Buffet was kept topped up at all times and checking food levels, she was very nice and efficient. Was also impressed by how clean and spacious the toilets were. Fantastic experience ,however our clients wish that it was a longer trip around the harbour. Big compliment to the frontline staff, definitely recommend it to family and friends. Thanks so much Team !

2 weeks ago
4/5

Service: Would recommend cruises again.
Product: Some prawns could be fresher. First bowl prawns were old and unperged. Were they Australian prawns? Second bowl a lot better.

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Excellent table waiter
Product: excellant boat, service and commentary

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Great food. Informative commentary. Approachable and courteous staff. Hifhly recommended.
Product: Great food. Great commentary.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customers,

Thank you for your recent review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the commentary, service and food on your cruise. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review for this is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too. We agree that this fantastic cruise is a wonderful way to experience and capture Sydney’s magnificent harbour.

Once again thank you for your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

2 weeks ago
3/5

Service: Service was ok. Had to wait awhile to get a waiter to order drinks and to have the used/dirty plates removed from table. But the waiters were pleasant and obliging.
Product: Ok but not something I’d rave about. And food that I can throw together myself and I’m not the world’s best cook

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the food and service on your cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests. We apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

3 weeks ago
4/5

Service: I found the young steward SERGIO very helpful and engaging with conversation relating to on board requests.
Product: the food selection was quite good- we had 3 adults plus 3 x teenagers and 1 x child.
Everyone found something to eat and all reported that they had a lovely meal.

3 weeks ago
5/5

Great service
Kind staff and very professional. Good food with a good variety.

3 weeks ago
1/5

Very disappointed. Only in Sydney for Easter break and lunch cruise cancelled on Monday.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the your cruise. The cruise did operate on Easter Monday, with other passengers travelling. You contacted us on Tuesday 3rd of April regarding you not travelling, and we provided the equivalent value in cruise credit for you to travel on a date of your choice in the next 6 months.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

3 weeks ago
5/5

Everything was well organized. Food was great too.

3 weeks ago
5/5

Food was delicious. Service excellent and commentary informative

3 weeks ago
5/5

Staff were friendly and the lunch was excellent and well organised. There was plenty of food and it was really tasty
The cruise took us close to shore so we could really see the Sydney waterfront properties

4 weeks ago
5/5

Service: I would gladly tell lots of friends about what a fine service i could speak highly of from start to finish
Product: So much to choose from delightful

4 weeks ago
4/5

Service: Cruise was great until we stopped at circular quay then a horde or asians acame on board and TOTALLY blocked food access for lunch, we were so glad we got on board at Darling Harbour
Product: Food was average and could have been more adventurous

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the food variety and fellow passengers on your cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality. The timing of our buffet is designed to provide customers ample time to both enjoy their meal whilst also leaving enough time to enjoy the stunning views of Sydney Harbour. As you can appreciate the Seafood Buffet is a popular choice with guests and the food stations can get busy at times, however our chefs are on hand to continually replenish the food.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

4 weeks ago
4/5

NIce lunch, informative tour of the Sydney Harbour!

4 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Great atmosphere , informative information and wonderful food .
Product: Great variety and quality

1 month ago
5/5

Great service great food

View more reviews

Sydney New Years Eve

Get the best seats to a spectacular Sydney Harbour New Years Eve. Fireworks cruises selling fast!

Sydney Hop On Hop Off

Visit up to eleven famous harbour attractions over 2 days. Great value from only AU$49

Whales Ahoy Sydney

Don't miss out on seeing the Humpback Whales this season - tickets on sale from AU$45

Christmas Day Lunch

Join our family for Christmas Day Lunch onboard flagship MV Sydney 2000. 2018 tickets on sale now.