Vivid Sydney Festival

Vivid Sydney returns 6-28 August 2021

Each year Vivid Sydney brings together a light, music and ideas festival like no other.  From 6pm each night mesmerising art installations and 3D projections transform Sydney’s architecture and open spaces along the harbour foreshore including The Rocks, Circular Quay, Royal Botanic Garden Sydney, Darling Harbourr and Luna Park. Choose from a great range of cruising options includng the all-new Vivid Bar, right through to the prestigious Gold Penfolds Dinner Cruise. Download flyer

Official Partner - Vivid Sydney `Harbour Lights'
Captain Cook Cruises has been a proud partner of Vivid Sydney showcasing the  `Vivid Sydney' lighting installation on flagship MV Sydney 2000 and the #ilovesydney installation on MV John Cadman 2. Both vessels travelled through a spectrum of light as they cruise the Vivid Sydney Harbour precincts. Stay tuned for details of the 2021 installations.

Vivid Gold Penfolds Dinner

  • Nightly at 5.00pm & 7.00pm 
  • Vivid Lights from 6:00pm
  • 6-course degustation fine dining 
  • Penfolds gold selection of private bin vintage and bin wines to complement each course
  • Selection of house spirits, liqueurs, beers and soft drinks
  • Guaranteed window seating
  • Live music 
  • Expansive windows, premium upper deck seating offering million-dollar views
  • Gold personalised service 
  • Food & Penfolds wine menu
  • Gold Dinner - 6 course degustation dining without drinks also available - Food only menu 
From $179.00

Vivid Brilliant Dinner

  • Nightly at 7.00pm 
  • Vivid Lights from 6:00pm
  • 4-course à la carte dining
  • Live music 
  • Expansive windows, premium upper deck seating offering million-dollar views
  • Personalised service
  • Menu
From $129.00

Vivid Sunset Dinner

  • 2 hour cruise nightly at 5.00pm 
  • Vivid Lights from 6:00pm
  • 3-course à la carte dining
  • Expansive windows, premium upper deck seating offering million-dollar views
  • Personalised service
  • Menu
$99.00

Vivid 7:00pm Special Dinner

  • 2 hour cruise nightly at 7.00pm
  • Vivid Lights from 6:00pm
  • 3-course contemporary Australian dining
  • Live music 
  • Reserved table seating
  • Menu coming soon
From $99.00

Vivid 5:00pm Special Dinner

  • 2 hour cruise nightly at 5:00pm 
  • Vivid Lights from 6:00pm
  • 2-course Contemporary Australian set menu
  • Reserved individual table seating
  • Menu coming soon
From $59.00

Vivid Bar Cruises

  • Nightly at 5:00pm, 7:00pm & 9:00pm
  • Vivid Lights from 6:00pm
  • Approx 1.5 hours
  • Relaxed lounge-style bar experience 
  • Tapas-style bar menu available for purchase
From $29.00

Vivid Lights Cruises

  • Details coming soon
Coming soon

Select cruise and date below


84 % approval from 44 responses

Date
Rating
10 months ago
4/5

Service: Excellent service
Product: Great value, beautiful food
Was very disappointed that we were booked to finish an hour later on Friday night but it came in early and no one had informed us

Review for Captains Dinner

10 months ago
2/5

Service: Average says it all.
No priority boarding as promised
Bar service slow, lots of drinks not available
Only 5 courses rather than the 6 advertised
Food nice enough, service fine
Closed bar half an hour before end.
Looks like they are preparing to close soon
Product: Expected better than Average.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our Gold Dinner does include 6 courses, including the canapes upon the Priority boarding & welcome reception, which as per the website is part of our Circular Quay departures only. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service. Each course is matched with a selected glass of Penfolds Wine, with additional beverages available at any time.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

10 months ago
2/5

kept us dangling on the wharf in the rain we were requested in promotional material to arrive early time given 4.30 food and serving staff for the dinner well done the rest I will take up with NRMA they advertise reduction what a joke

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
2/5

Service: The boat left late, see comments below
Product: I wad disappointed that there was only 1hour to eat a very nice three course meal.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. Our cruise times are listed on our website for complete transparency for our customers and we follow this as closely as possible. Our cruise duration is also optimised to provide the best timing between courses, as well as allowing customers to enjoy the ambience and views unobstructed by food. We apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
4/5

Service: メインのお料理とデザートが美味しかったです❣️残念だったのは天気に恵まれなかったことです💦テーブルがもう少し広かったらゆったりお食事した気持ちになったと思います。サービスしてくれたスタッフさんは親切で丁寧でした🤗
Product: 料金的には日本と変わらないかなと思います。

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Captain Cook is the best dinner cruise.

The service was excellent.
Product: if u like drink, purchase premium bar package.

its worthy

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
2/5

Having your guests check on line for their departing quay puts a burden on your guests. And once going to your web site and then having to put in a booking number to find the quay, please remember that your guests come from many different countries and using phones to connect to the internet may not work the best. Also, not being familiar with Sydney and knowing the different quay locations when you’re jet lagged, creates stress. Your directions once you book on line can be hard to follow. We checked in at Quarry Quay and then we were told (rather rudely) that we were at the wrong place, should be at Darling Quay and the location was given to us on the website when we check in. We had to walk/run to get to the boat.

We do appreciate you holding the boat so we could enjoy the cruise. The food was good and we enjoyed the short time we had on top deck to see the views.

Suggestion would be to send email to guest 48 and then 24 hours before cruise letting guests know to check in and in bold letters a reminder to make sure of the departure quay.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are pleased to see that we have already corresponded via email, and as per our conversation we can see in our records that you contacted us via our Live Chat feature on our website, where our staff member explicitly stated the departure location would be Darling Harbour King Street Wharf No.1, which you acknowledged with thank you prior to your cruise. We apologise if you felt that our communications weren't clear enough, and please be assured your feedback will be forwarded to our reservations manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The food, cruise and staff were 5 stars but I was very disappointed I did not have time to start my dessert or drink the last 3 wines as we had to get off. If I was to do this again it would need to be at least half an hour longer so you can relax and enjoy eating and enjoying the wines.
Product: see above

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Excellent cruise service was great I would recommend this cruise to all my friends and family

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
4/5

Service: They were very friendly and professional at all times.
My husband loved the food and entertainment especially the singer and the gentleman who played the piano.

Yes I would recommend the Captain Cook cruise my husband and I went on on Sydney Harbour.
Product: Quick, good size lovely meal.

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
4/5

Service of staff was excellent. Very friendly and observant. Dinner is ok , nothing fancy and the menu needs to changed at least once a year. Steak is good quality and well prepared. Presentation could easily be improved especially for the shrimps . Its still very good value for money but starting to get very dated.

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good. The view from the ship was as expected. Sailing past the Opera house and under the bridge was great. The duo playing were also good and we managed to dance as well.

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: All in all an amazing experience! Got a little stressed making sure we were boarding at the right place. Instructions are a little confusing. Once there, everything was great!
Product: Amazing!

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was great from the moment we boarded the ship.Our waitress was outstanding and we never had to wait for a drink.Her knowledge of the wine list was very good and her recommendations were spot on.The quality of the food was wonderful.Would happily recommend the cruise to others and would do it again if in Sydney.
Product: Great food and service.Wonderful night

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent experience, friendly staff & great ambience
Product: Excellent experience, friendly staff & great ambience

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: My Girlfriend flew in from the States and we wanted to see the Sydney Harbour. This dinner cruise provided us with a fantastic view Sydney’s iconic skyline, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House and a tasty meal and excellent service. We highly recommend this dining cruise experience to all like minded individuals and couples. Thank you and 🥂!
Product: Pleasant Experience and Good Dining

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: A Captain Cook cruise will also give you some very special moments. The food and beverage are good, but when they get topped with the views from Sydney Harbour they can be unforgettable. Thanks for a great Sunday cruise!
Product: Everything went really well on the day

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Service was great, friendly and attentive
Product: Booked the Brialliant Dinner and The ticket mentioned that you may be upgraded complimentary based on availability to the entertainment area. Mum really wanted entertainment so called on the day of the cruise to see how this could be guaranteed. An upgrade fee was charged which is understandable if high in demand however, upon arrival to the vessel, there were many empty seats. I just found it a little disappointing that we were charged given there was room to move anyway.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you had a great time with our cruise. You were upgraded to an entirely different cruise experience, being our Captains Dinner. This features additional menu options as well as live entertainment - hence the price difference. We do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the product - so your review for this is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
1/5

Boat left without us

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our departure locations and times are located clearly on our website. Unfortunately, our cruise has a schedule to keep for the hundreds of passengers, so we are unable to delay the departure.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

A great night all round. Excellent, food wine and service. Would definitely do it again.

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

11 months ago
2/5

Service: Service was great
Entertainment was ok
Product: Not the best value for money

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. As you're aware, finding the right balance for entertainment can be difficult as each customer has different tastes and preferences. We do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the product - so your review for this is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The food and service was fantastic!!
Product: The meat was cooked to perfection!!!

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: As a group we all had an amazing time and we will all be back
Product: Great value

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

We did the same cruise 5 years ago and the service, food and experience were just as good this time around as it was then.

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: We had a great time on the valentines cruise, the food was fantastic, the wine was amazing and the service top notch. Could not have asked for better!
Product: Food and wine was amazing

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent service, flawless. From booking all the way to boarding and serving, it was spotless. Thanks to our waiter
Product: We’ve got the private room on top of the vessel. Definitely value for money! The views were amazing.

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

11 months ago
4/5

Service: We had excellent seats for viewing the harbour, food was very good, we had to flag down the waitress in order to ask for wine with our meal.
Product: 5 stars would have excellent service, communication prior to the event .

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Had an amazing dinner sunset cruise with Captain Cook Cruises. Everything was perfect and I would definitely recommend it! It’s a great way to see Sydney from the water, especially at night watching the city light up. The food was delicious and catered to vegetarians and vegans too. The service was fast and the live music was entertaining. I would do it again in a heart beat!
Product: Good value for the price, which includes music, food, drinks and a cruise.

Review for Captains Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

We felt like special guests from the moment we stepped on board. The canapes and champagne on the top deck were delicious and there was much room to roam. Our servers were outstanding and fun too. The food and wine were outstanding.

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

12 months ago
4/5

Service: Good service. Good value.
Product: see previous notes

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
2/5

Service: I booked the Captains dinner, premium wine package and window seats but did not find this value for money. People very close to us paid far less and their meal seemed very similar to ours. Service on entry was very slow.
Product: Food was good. Entry was quite small

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Only customers on the Captain Dinner Cruise will receive the menu options you receive. Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise. Our window seating is an optional extra which gives our customers an opportunity to have unobstructed views out of our vessel. Customers are able to purchase drinks on board, and pay for this at the end of their cruise.

We do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the product, so we are disappointed that you felt this was not the case on this occasion. Please be assured your feedback will be forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Captains Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Easy on-line purchase. Good value. Great crew and staff. Only two in party but full birthday service and great seating and food. Beautiful weather helped as well. Just love Sydney Harbour.

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

We had a lovely night with our relatives from the UK with excellent food and service

Review for Captains Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Great views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Good food and service.
Product: Good value for the money.

Review for Captains Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Great
Product: Excellent

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Perfect setting , great food and friendly staff
Product: Great night

Review for Captains Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Service: We had a delicious meal, a good choice of vegetarian dishes. We paid extra for a window seat so we had a wonderful view throughout the meal. The staff were friendly and efficient and our waitress advised us to go out on deck between main and dessert course which was great for taking photos.
Product: An excellent vegetarian meal with a good choice of wine. A good way to end our stay in Sydney.

Review for Captains Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Starting from the greeting the customer service was fantastic. Food and wine selection was of an excellent quality. I’ll be coming back onboard and recommending to others.
Product: Great customer service

Review for Gold Penfolds Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent food, wonderful cruise, awesome scenery
Product: Excellent food, wonderful cruise, awesome scenery

Review for Captains Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Friendly staff, great band, great food, awesome atmosphere.

Review for Sunset Dinner

View more reviews