Seniors Festival

Seniors Festival thumbnail

Seniors cruise from as little as $27.50 between 04-15 April 2018. NSW Seniors Festival is the largest celebration for people over 60 in the southern hemisphere. Captain Cook Cruises are proud to be a participant each year throughout the Seniors Festival. More Info ...

NSW Seniors Festival Cruises 
- Details coming soon ...

2019 details coming soon ...

NSW SENIORS FESTIVAL 04-15 APRIL 2018 Download Flyer

Sydney Highlights (subject to change)

  • 04-15 April, Daily - Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise
  • 04-15 April, Daily - Harbour Story Premium Cruise including morning tea
  • 04-15 April, Daily - Harbour Story Premium Cruise including afternoon tea
  • Premier's Gala Concerts (International Convention Centre Theatre - Darling Harbour)
    - Thursday 05 April 2018 (times TBC)
    - Friday 06 April 2018 (times TBC)
  • NSW Seniors Festival Expo (International Convention Centre Theatre - Darling Harbour)
    - Thursday 05 April & Friday 06 April 2018
  • Selected dates - A great selection of Seniors Festival events

See our full range of NSW Seniors Festival Cruises including: How to book

Seniors Festival Buffet Lunch Cruise 04-15 April 2018
Cruise aboard flagship MV Sydney 2000 featuring a hot and cold buffet of seafood, vegetarian and non-seafood dishes, desserts and cheese. Departs daily at 12 noon from Darling Harbour King St Wharf No.1 and 12.30pm from Circular Quay Wharf No.6 ...

Seniors Festival Morning Harbour Story Premium Cruise 04-15 April 2018
A premium sightseeing cruise including morning tea, commentary and Main Harbour sights. Departs daily 10.00am from Circular Quay Wharf No.6. Duration approx 2 hours ...

Seniors Festival Afternoon Harbour Story Premium Cruise 04-15 April 2018
The best way to see Sydney Harbour including live commentary and afternoon tea. Departs daily 2.30pm from Circular Quay Wharf No.6. Duration approx 2 hours ... 

Regular Cruises
For all other cruises please click on the links below

ELIGIBILITY
To be eligible, you must hold a NSW Seniors Card (New South Wales permanent residents aged 60 or over and work no more than 20 hours a week in paid employment) or hold an Australian or New Zealand Senior Pensioner Card (means tested). All guests in your booking must hold a valid Seniors Card, and present Card at check-in for verification.

HOW TO BOOK SENIORS FESTIVAL SPECIAL CRUISES

  • When booking online please enter the promotional code SEN-PEN at checkout. This will reduce the total price of the booking
  • Please note it is your responsibility to check the price is correct prior to entering your credit card/payment details
  • All payments made are final and non-refundable
  • Discounts cannot be applied after a booking is confirmed
  • If unsure please call +61-2-9206 1111

Children Under 18 Years
Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

IMPORTANT 

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Select cruise and date below

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March - April
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

86 % approval from 78 responses

Date
Rating
22 hours ago
5/5

Service: I would definitely recommend Captain Cook cruises. We had a lovely day and found the staff outstanding. What a beautiful harbour to cruise around.

We did start out with a small problem where my daughter bought along an ice cream cake for my birthday and asked the staff to put it into the freezer. The cake was only put in the fridge and it melted. Your staff not only replaced our cake with another one but also gave us a free bottle of wine. And not only that we were given an extra trip around the harbour - just our little group on our own. We were more than impressed with the exceptional attention the staff on board provided us with. Every one left the boat so happy and loved the day. I don't think I have every been treated so well by staff anywhere. They were so lovely. Thanks again for a lovely day.
Product: A fantastic day with Captain Cook cruises on our beautiful harbour. Only one complaint the food does not cater enough for children. We had a 9 year old with us and not much appealed to him even though we'd paid a lot for his meal. We all thought there could have at least been fish and chips or chicken and chips or even pasta that appeals to children. Maybe worth looking into.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 days ago
4/5

Service: Service was good,plenty of food but the seafood was poor quality.
Product: Poor quality, too expensive

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 days ago
5/5

Service: I couldn't say anything bad. I thought the value for money was very high. The tea cakes were lovely, the champers & coffee was just fine, the tour was of the advertised length, the boat seemed to be piloted very well and safely, and the tour guide on the loudspeaker knew heaps and heaps about Sydney. Also, I don't think I saw one child, which was pure bonus.
Product: Rewrite your questionnaire so it doesn't require this much freaking effort. You have ****** me off now.

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

2 days ago
5/5

The crew could not have been more attentive and helpful. We loved the glass of whisky with sparklers to celebrate my husband's birthday, The seafood was plentiful and fresh. All in all a very enjoyable day.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

1 week ago
5/5

Service: The lady who helped serve us during our cruise was fabulous!! Forgot her name but she was lovely!
Product: It was good although I was dealt with by a few representatives & sometimes had to repeat myself because the last person had no idea what I was querying.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: The premium harbour story scenic cruise was excellent! Warm reception and very high quality refreshments were providered
Product: High quality refreshments and very interesting commentary of the journey

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Morning

2 weeks ago
4/5

Punctual, nice food, good service, window seats and did well in catering for my group.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 weeks ago
2/5

Service: The service staff were friendly and helpful. The quality of the seafood buffet was very ordinary, quite disappointed.
Product: Small seafood and very little choice.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Seafood Buffet experience. We were delighted to read that you found the service staff to be friendly and helpful. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests and we were disappointed to read that this was not up to your standard.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Really enjoyed the cruise, commentary and on-board service, facilities and experience. A great way to see Sydney!
Product: Good coffee and cake box provided

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Morning

2 weeks ago
4/5

Bon service et beau voyage mais on a trouvé les plats pas assez copieux,l'entrée en particulier
De plus le départ etait un peu tardif par rapport au coucher du soleil

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Have had many previous cruises on Captain Cook and have thoroughly enjoy ourselves
The ship crew provide an excellent service .Paul who conducted the Historical commentary was very informative. Looking forward to another Cruise in the near future
Product: Purcgased ticket on line,no problems

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Morning

3 weeks ago
5/5

Loved the pacing of the cruise with the live commentary on the various landmarks around the harbor woven with Australian history. Most importantly loved the drinks and dessert that came with the premium tickets!!!!

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

3 weeks ago
5/5

service was very good, and the food was exceptionally good as well

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 weeks ago
4/5

It's a good choice having 2 hours cruise around sydney. however, the difference between premium and standard harbour story is not really worth it since it just give me a box of cookies and a cheese than the standard one

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

3 weeks ago
2/5

Service: Very tasty seafood buffet BUT windows need washing please?
Product: Very high price.

rude customers (group) around without their manners

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Seafood Buffet experience. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our wonderful seafood buffet. Our windows are cleaned thoroughly and regularly, however the salt water can sometimes make the windows appear otherwise. We believe our pricing to be equal to any contemporary dining establishment in Sydney. If you experience any negative behaviour from other customers, we encourage customers to talk to the Cruise Director as he/she can address the issue immediately.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: The food, service and music were all good and the view was fantastic!
Product: The food, service and music were all good and the view was fantastic!

Review for Captains Dinner

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: EXCELLENT SERVICE AND EXPERIENCE
Product: EXCELLENT FOOD AND DRINKS

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 weeks ago
4/5

Service: It was fantastic experience, friendly staff very helpful
Product: Great way to have lunch and explore Sydney water

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

4 weeks ago
5/5

Service: The cruise and the service was amazing
Product: Dinner was delicious and service was great

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
5/5

Service: they treated everyone attentively,great service, smiley faces, good variety & well cooked meals.
Product: Good wine, very good food, great service, nothing more required.

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
5/5

Good service, good environment and a pleasant journey

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Good service, clear commentary, lovely ady
Product: Top cruise, best intro to Sydney for visitors

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

1 month ago
4/5

Service: We have been on this cruise at least four times now and have always enjoyed it very much .the only problem I could say we had was we would have liked a window seat and was told that we couldn't and yet there where tables at the window with no one at them also one waitress said she would organise our drinks and we are still waiting for her. luckily for us there was a lovely young man who helped us .yes we will go on the cruise again and yes we will be recommending it to others
Product: Beautiful enjoyed every bite

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

1 month ago
4/5

We enjoyed our recent 2 hour afternoon cruise. Our commentator was very informative with his narration. This is my second time on Captain Cook Cruises and will we doing another one with friends in a few weeks.

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

1 month ago
2/5

Service: The snack not
Good enough .
Product: With more variety of food is better

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Harbour Story Experience. We also offer our Harbour Story Premium Cruises, which include afternoon tea including a mixed sweet & savoury selection, Vittoria coffee or a selection of fine teas and a glass of sparkling wine.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

1 month ago
2/5

Service: Lack of directions getting on board
Windows in dining area dirty hampering view of harbour
The prawns on buffet were old and below par
Product: The prawns were very average

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. Our windows are cleaned thoroughly and regularly, however the salt water can sometimes make the windows appear otherwise. We can also assure you that all our food is sourced and prepared fresh.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

1 month ago
5/5

we had a marvoulous day, thank you

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Great experience thank you!
Product: Very nice yummy thanks.....

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

1 month ago
5/5

Service: The crew on board and in the ticket office were very happy and friendly. The lady speaking on the tour was very informative and engaging
Product: The afternoon tea was yum!!

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

1 month ago
4/5

Service: Very good, well worth the money.
First cruise I have been on that goes into middle harbour as well.
Product: Great value, easy to organise on line

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

1 month ago
5/5

Service: The service is always of the highest standard - crew on board friendly and helpful and the food and drink service is excellent.
Product: Great value! All the Captain Cook Cruise products are fantastic!

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Afternoon

1 month ago
5/5

Our tour guide was topnotch! Very knowledgeable on history of Sydney as well as lots of interesting information about the areas around the harbour. Really enjoyed the two hours.

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Morning

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Very good overall value and service. Food was very good and unlimited drinks a great value. We did the harbor 5 PM evening light show dinner and overall had a great time. Outstanding food would have resulted in 5 stars.
Product: Easy reservation online process and good value.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
2/5

We booked the steak and lobster dinner cruise. Was disappointed that the lobster was cold and not tender at all. Steak over cooked. Not worth the price we paid.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Sunset Steak and Lobster Cruise. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests. We apologise that this wasn’t the case on this occasion and please be assured your comments have been forwarded to our catering manager for review.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

Great service, the commentary was good and seaffod buffet w

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 months ago
2/5

Service: My husband and I went to the sunset dinner with captain cook cruise and the whole trip was quite enjoyable. Eventhough it's winter time, we did not really get to see sunset but we were lucky that the vivid sydney lights were on half way of the trip. It was really romantic for us as couple. There was only one thing that we weren't happy about, and it was when we asked the staff who was supervising our table if she could take a photo of me and my husband on my phone at least, and she said she would do it but never happened. Lastly, there was a photographer and he took a photo in every table except us.
Product: Departing time in winter time should be earlier than 5pm, to get the perfect view for sunset. Food was okay. The only disappointment was the staff member who was surpervising our table, we asked her nicely if she could take a photo of my partner and I for the reason that date was special to us. We patiently waited but every time she comes back she never give an effort to do it. But my husband and I enjoyed most of our time on the trip and its all that matters.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruise experience. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review for this is very disappointing to receive. Unfortunately, our photography is outsourced and we therefore do not have any direct control over this. However please be assured that we will forward your comments onto the relevant parties. We always try to provide friendly and efficient service, including meeting customer inquiries and requests. We apologise this was not the case on this occasion.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Loved the friendly staff and the meal was wonderful.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

It was the fantastic experience in my life. My wife and 3 kids had a never-to-be-forgotten day, bacause of the beautiful scenery and dinner. Thank you for giving us good memory.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
2/5

Service: Service is OK. I booked a seafood buffet but didn't really meet our expectation of a seafood buffet. It's like a normal buffet in a 2-3 star hotel with seafood on the side.... The duration seems to be a bit short considering guests need to eat and see the views. We were mostly rushing up and rushing down.... Overall, it is good for a one-time experience.
Product: Not the seafoos buffet I was expecting. And the little seafood that was there don't taste very good.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality – so we’re very disappointed that you felt this was not the case on this occasion. Please be assured your comments have been forwarded to our catering manager for review. Our Seafood Buffet Lunch Cruise operates for 1 hour and 30 minutes. If customers would prefer a longer duration of cruising, then we also offer a variety of dinner cruises that cruise for a duration of 2 hours and 30 mins, to 3 hours and 30 mins.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Check in was easy to find, food and beverages were delicious. Staff were very friendly.
Product: Great value service. Very delicious food.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Very fridndly and professional services, great meal in a comfortable and very pleasant atmosphere.
Product: Purchased tickets online very easily, and very informative

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
4/5

Service: only 2 choices of dessert and cheeses and very small
Product: very small dessert and cheees

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 months ago
4/5

Service: 친절한 서비스 그리고 런치 크루즈 좋았 습니다
Product: 조금더 다양한 요리가 있었으면 좋았을 것입니다

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Was first rate service. The food was better than expected and we thoroughly enjoyed the Vivid light show from the harbour.
Product: The tapas was good and enjoyed the salmon. Dessert selection was good too.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: We could not fault our experience with Captain Cook cruise.
Product: Magnificent dinner cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
4/5

Service: The service and food were very good
Product: The sunset cruise was lovely, but we were disappointed that when I booked it was advertised as a Vivid Sunset dinner cruise and the Vivid Festival ended the day before.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

The premium 2hr cruise around Sydney harbour was fantastic.
Our host, Elizabeth, was brilliant - fantastic commentary.
Highly recommend.

Review for Harbour Story Premium - Morning

2 months ago
2/5

The cruise itself was fine and the staff were very pleasant. However, my food experience was disappointing. I had gone to the trouble of telephoning beforehand to explain that I am gluten and lactose intolerant, so was rather surprised when my bread was not gluten free. I pointed this out and was told they were baking gluten bread for me; this arrived at the same time as my main course which was rather too late, since they were clearing the entree by then! Incidentally the entree was the most inadequate mezze plate I have ever seen in my life (I used to live in Greece) and really doesn’t deserve that name.
My second frustration was the salmon which was very bland, and came with insufficient salsa. I could only eat half of it, and requested a takeaway container so I could give the rest to my cat. I was told this was against company policy. These days food wastage is widely frowned upon, so I really think it is time you reviewed this policy, to avoid bad press! I am sure that customers would be happy to sign a waiver if necessary. Finally, my dessert (orange chocolate pudding) was dry & tasteless; since there was no lactose free cream to moisten it, I could not eat it. Thank god the wine was drinkable!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Vivid Cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of food options maintaining the highest standards of quality, so we apologise that this wasn’t the case on this occasion. We appreciate the comments about the food and the opportunity given to us to improve. Please be assured we have forwarded this onto our catering manager.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
4/5

Excellent meal and very efficient staff

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

場所も分かりやすく、乗船やテーブルへの案内も無駄なくスムーズ、食事も美味しかったし満足できました。

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: On a very rainy night, we thought our Vivid experience was going to be a wash out. However, the excellent service, great wine and amazing food absolutely made up for it all. In fact, we enjoyed viewing the slightly watery lights of our lovely city through the windows of a luxury vessel. Thank you Captain Cook Cruises for making our Vivid experience so special.
Product: The service was sensational, and the food was at least a 5 star experience, not to mention the nice wine.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
4/5

The food and service was really good. The whole event was well prepared. Would have been good if the cruise was 2 hours and not 1.5 hours which felt a little short.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: It was a wonderful experience - from the ease of booking on-line, the luxury of the cruise ship itself & then the staff who looked after us throughout the whole cruise.
I would definitely recommend Captain Cook Cruises.
Product: Excellent value & outstanding quality of service, food & drink.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The whole Cruise was fantastic. Thanks you to everyone. Vivid Sydney coming alive at 6pm was amazing.
Product: Everything was great but the sun had already set when we left the dock

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Professional and very customer focused.
Product: Value for money was exceptional.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: We enjoyed our Vivid dinner cruise so much last time we had to do it again with Captain Cook. This was our 2nd time for Vivid. The food was lovely and the service on board was great. I would recommend the MV Sydney 2000 to anyone. It rained but we stayed dry and enjoyed the views.
Product: Food was really good and service was great.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
1/5

Good Morning,

I have been misinformed about the service, while booking the 'Sunset Cruise'. The refreshments were pathetic, and unlike anything I was told they would be. To make up and give my guest a consolation price, I wasted more money, purchasing a second cruise, immediately following the Sunset Cruise - on the same boat.

As an example; please consider the behaviour of the waiter who foisted on us a second bottle of wine, with only a short time before the end of the 2nd cruise. I then had to argue with the stuff about sitting a few more minutes, finishing the drink while there were cleaning and cluttering around us.

In short, I feel cheated

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review about your Sunset Cruise experience. We strive to deliver the best food, drinks and service possible to our customers and we were disappointed to read that your experience was not up to your standards. Please be assured your comments have been forwarded to our hospitality manager. Our cruises are cleaned and prepared thoroughly to ensure customers enter our vessel to a fresh environment. Therefore, we encourage passengers to disembark at the allocated time.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Great service

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
4/5

Service: We have been three times previous and it has always been excellent. This time they didnt have a table ready for us. It is only a small thing, but the boat wasnt full. Great staff,
Product: No ones perfect, but it was pretty good value for money

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
4/5

Service: Good service.
Product: Overall we enjoyed the cruise. My only suggestion would be a more well presented meze platter. A few olives, artichoke hearts and sundried tomatoes was quite disappointing.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Sunset Dinner Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt the meze plate on your cruise wasn’t to your standards. We hope you would accept our apologies for not quite meeting your expectations in this regard but appreciate the opportunity given to us to improve. A copy of your review has been forwarded to our Catering Manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Very helpful and respectful of our needs.
Product: Great food, well presented and just enough choice.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

The service staff were great, the barman on duty Mark, was very helpful with choosing cocktails.

Review for Sunset Dinner

View more reviews