Christmas in July

CHRISTMAS IN JULY

Winter is a magical time on Sydney Harbour. Grab your yuletide cheer and join us on a special Christmas in July Lunch Cruise for traditional northern hemisphere wintry treats. More Info ...

Christmas in July 2020 
- Details coming soon ...

Select cruise and date below

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

87 % approval from 82 responses

Date
Rating
7 months ago
4/5

Service: The service and food were great. Not your fault that the weather clouded any view of the harbour and foreshore. Very impressed with the beautifully set table and thankyou for the birthday sparkler for our friend's 60th birthday. Would definitely recommend.
Product: Easy to book and no trouble getting tickets at wharf.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

I would recommend Captain Cook Cruises to anyone and everyone. I have done the lunch buffet cruise 4 times. I have brought family from europe to sydney and have done the lunch buffet cruise with them. They all enjoyed the experience. The food is always fresh and plentiful. The service is excellent. The cruise always departs as scheduled.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Very friendly staff. Nice bar and good food.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Great

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: fantastic, staff could not do enough for us
Product: great, excellent variety, yummy

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Was good value for money young ladies waiting at tables very helpful

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Helpful friendly staff. Good food.
Product: Seniors special.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: All the staff treated us as their special guests. Nothing was too much or too difficult. My 8 year old granddaughter said it was the best day of her life. My 92 year old mother loved the cruise. The whole experience was easy and enjoyable even with my Mother’s limited mobility. Thank you to all the staff.
Product: Fresh seafood and salads. Something for everyone to choose from.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
2/5

The buffet selection was average/limited and could not hear the commentary from allocated seat. Buffet was on lowest deck which I understand was not normal. Coffee in the urn ran out. Help with booking was excellent.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is standard for our Buffet Lunch to either be on the Show Deck or Club Deck of our Super Cruise Sydney 2000. As you're aware, finding the right balance for volume for our GPS commentary can be difficult as each customer has different tastes and preferences. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Service was quick and staff very helpful and happy
Product: Food was amazing for adults but i had a 4 and 6 year old they didn't eat anything for them it was not the sort of food they would

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
4/5

Service: The food was plentiful and good quality, the service was Ok but it would have been better if the comprehension of English was better. Table and layout was excellent, we would look at this again for future cruises. It was great boarding at Darling Harbour as there were far less people than at Circular Quay.
Product: Reasonable value for money and good food.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
2/5

Service: Cruise it’s self was lovely and clean.
Product: I didn’t feel the food was of value. No options for children and there desserts were very below average

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that your cruise experience wasn't to your standards. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality - so your review for this is very disappointing to receive. Please be assured that your feedback will be forwarded to our hospitality and catering manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was great,loved the lady's knowledge telling us all what to look out for.
Product: Was a little disappointed at the quantity and quality of food on offer, Last year was much better but maybe a different chef. I felt uneasy that overseas guests would think the same

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
4/5

The service was good & the waitresses were very polite & helpful. The quality of food was also good but it would be better to have a more variety of seafood to choose from on the serving table.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Booking was easy and staff were very helpful accommodating my requests. The family said the lunch and cruise was perfect in every way, a really enjoyable experience!
Product: The family all thought the buffet was great! Fresh, with a good variety to choose from and well presented.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: It was a lovely experience, great food, lovely people, great cruise ship,
Product: Great experience

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Once again a very enjoyable lunch and cruise. Excellent food and the attention to detail from the staff was excellent. As usual the ship was very clean.
Product: Purchase of tickets was easy with no problems.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Staff at all points were efficient and courteous. Food was excellent and plentiful. Commentary was measured and not intrusive. It was good to know that it was "live" and to meet Elizabeth.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Great service as always, such a pity to see so few people this time .

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

The service was excellant

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: My second cruise both amazing received warm welcome on arrival food was delicious nice and clean. Fantastic surprise we were celebrating my aunties 80th and a cake was brought out and everyone sang happy birthday. Was brilliant to see her excitement so overall once again enjoyed our cruise thankyou 👌
Product: I look for presentation and of course taste and found a nice variety of food. Desert could of had less sugary sweets and didn’t enjoy the coffee machine however the brew was nice

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
2/5

I didn’t like that the food was already out and you were basically made to go up and get your food straight away. I was there to sight see I wasn’t interested in food the moment we stepped on board. I thought we would get on, someone would give us a run down of what to expect on the trip and then the food would come out and as we liked we could go up and get food. We got our food and went back to our table to finally start sight seeing and listening to commentary when someone came up and asked us if we would like drinks, which was nice but I had already got our drinks. Then just as we started eating again, a photographer came up and kept taking our photo not sure how we are meant to sight see or listen to commentary when we keep getting interrupted. About half way through the cruise I wanted another drink, of course no one would come near us then nor was anyone ever at the bar to go and get one myself, I never got another drink. Right at the end of the cruise I discovered that there was an outside deck you go out on, this would have been nice to be informed about at the start.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We always encourage customers to view the company website to understand the cruise product and inclusions on their selected cruise. The timings onboard our cruise is optimised to provide the best timing for food, as well as allowing customers to enjoy the ambience and views unobstructed by food. We apologise you felt this was not the case on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: The staff, vessel and food were excellent & contributed to making it a very enjoyable harbour cruise.
Product: A great choice for a family harbour buffet lunch cruise with something for everyone (except for the limited soft drink/soda selection). Nice modern vessel and wonderful staff.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
4/5

Service: The service was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful
Product: The buffet lunch was delicious. Thought there may have been mmore seafood, however the prawns, smoked salmon and oysters weretops and the roast meats were well cooked.
Desserts were fantastic and must admit 2nds were in order

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Absolutely fabulous trip , lovely food so chilled atmosphere lovely day

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Good service, most staff were friendly. Especially the lady who showed us to our seats. Very nice views
Product: We had the buffet lunch, we didn’t really like the food and wasn’t much variety but a lot of other people seemed to enjoy it. Otherwise it was a nice experience

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Good service, timely departure and arrival.
Product: Easy to purchase online and good customer service help

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: That's what we meant, you guys are just 5 star service, excellent all round, from the ease of booking online, to getting there by train, to getting tickets to boarding to table to lunch (AMAZING!) to the cruising and the sight seeing, on top of good price offer on Wednesday! I can't wait for my next trip, given half a chance in Sydney again.
Product: We don't see any reasons you and your cruise should be rated any less.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: We had a wheel and disabled clients the staff were excellent. Staff were helpful and accommodating. The food was served at the table to a large group and was amazing
Product: Will definitely book more events

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: The Captain Cook Buffet Lunch / Harbour Cruise was a wonderful, low-key way for us to celebrate a wedding anniversary - enjoying the iconic views of the harbour, while enjoying a delicious meal, all for a very reasonable price!
Product: The meal was exceptional value, the cruise was very enjoyable, and we enjoyed the sights of the harbour.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Service was wonderful
Product: Not enough variety

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: excellent ship and staff
Product: great seafood and plentiful salads

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was very good, we had purchased a drinks package. The waitress was very attentive and organised. The food was presented well and delicious.
Product: Great service and value for money.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Staff was lovely
Product: Initial purchade was a la carte but downgraded to buffet bad choice

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality, so we apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Wonderful way to see our beautiful harbour...very relaxing and the food was amazing....l will be recommending this cruise to my friends.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Service: The food and service was very good. We have recommended the cruise to other people and we want to try another one one day
Product: Nothing is perfect

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Service and environment, view is very good. Food need to upgrade a little bit will help 😀😀
Product: Good price

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Okay
Product: The food wasn't that nice and it mainly catered for people who can eat seafood. It also didn't cater for people with food allergies.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

The Service was excellent , Michelle books these lunch cruises every year with the support from her carer.
Michelle is wheel chair bound and the staff went over and beyond to make us comfortable.
Helping us out getting our meals and drinks

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Was good food, table service staff were friendly & helpful, however a bit tardy, had to refill our water glasses several times ourselves. Was a good cruise just the sane

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Service is good but can you add more menu to choose from in the buffett?
Product: More menu to choose from please...

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
1/5

I cancelled my travel to NSW/Sydney because of cathastrophic bush fire. I already cancelled a week before the trip but they said no refund. They should have an option for refund in case of an act of nature because it is not my fault that I cancelled for the safety of my family.

Thank you

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. As per our terms and conditions, all cancellations incur a $20 per person cancellation fee. Cancellations notified less than 24 hours prior to sailing incur a 100% cancellation fee. In special circumstances such as the one you have listed, if notified in advance we will change the booking to another date that suits the customer. We always encourage customers to contact our reservations regarding any issues or enquiries.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Everything about the lunchtime trip was excellent. At the last minute we decided to take our brother-in-law out for his birthday as he had never been on this type of cruise before and everything was so good with the staff and the food was delicious. We are planing to use the Captain Cook service again very soon.
Product: Excellent on every point of the cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: The waiter Hugo was very attentive & polite and was a fine young man. The food service was prompt with staff refilling the dishes promptly as required.
The Seafood Buffet had all my favourites. There were generous amounts of all the food, hot and cold salads .........ennough for having more. The dining area was spacious & the buffet area not crowded. The choice for dessert, if you still had room was limited but l enjoyed the cheese platter. The commentary was excelent, l would highly recommend this cruise and was surprised there were so few tourists
Product: Quality of food , good service & not crowded.Pleasant staff

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
2/5

Service: Great atmosphere. Not much of a food selection though. No music or entertainment. Service from waiters was great.
Product: Great atmosphere. Not much of a food selection though. No music or entertainment. Service from waiters was great.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the product - so your review for this is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too.

Selected cruises offer entertainment; however, the buffet lunch features our GPS commentary giving highlights of Sydney Harbour. Our aim is always to provide extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Great time and food
Product: value for money

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
2/5

Service was ok but the variety of food wasn’t like before especially dessert. Don’t feel like coming back or recommending to friends.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality, so we apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

friendly service

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Cruise on time, food excellent, commentary great
Product: Excellent choices and plenty of it

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: the lady that waited on us was so polite and nothing was to much trouble at all I would give her a 10 out of 10 The service was excellent
Product: food a bit of a disappointment but the harbour cruise was excelent

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
2/5

Service: The food was very average. Nothing special in it! The rice was awful.
Product: Food was very average.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests, so we are very disappointed to read that this aspect of your cruise was no to our standards. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: The staff were great and really went the extra yards for my Mum's 80th (14th December 2019). Couldn't fault the cruise itself.
Product: Thought that there might have been more options for kids on the buffet

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Even though the smoke was bad and a crazy storm hit while out on the boat it was still great and the food was fantastic
Product: Excellent

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Service was incredible. The food was varied and well presented. None of our group was disappointed. The table service was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us. It was an incredible day for the family to celebrate an important birthday. Thank you.
Product: Great value for money. Could not fault the experience when arranging the tickets.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: fabulous helpful and hardworking staff, plenty of seafood constantly restocked. Great experience
Scott the manager on the jetty was very funny, comforting and helpful
Product: great value, easy booking process

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Easy to book with, vessel was very sleak and smart. Staff boarded you well and seated you quickly. Buffet was very good plenty of selection and topped continusly. Service to table very attentive and helpful. Excellent cruise around harbour area. First Glass lunch.
Product: Value for money and was as it said

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Great service, food and boat!
Product: Good value.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Easy booking process with helpful polite call service. Enjoyed the commentary & delicious plentiful food.
Product: Enjoyable harbour cruise. Value for money.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The residents really enjoyed the meal and said the service was fantastic
Product: Great meal with a good range of food choices

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Plenty seafood on menu , sure I got money's worth with prawns & oysters , while our group observed the Ovation of the seas , our next trip next year .
Product: Enough seafood to satisfy us all , got my money's worth of prawns & oyster , with couple drinks each ,.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Thank you so much for all of your assistance, with help sourcing food and drinks, being in a wheelchair made it difficult to do this on the day, but your staff were fantastic in helping.
Product: Food was amazing

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

Service: The food was lovely, the drink service could have been better though, when we initially ordered our drinks, the bubbly, they asked did we just want it by the glass,
we said ok but then after the first one I couldn't get another, I should have asked for the bottle to be left at the table! Also after ordering our drinks they were left at the bar and not brought to the table! Other than that everything else was good.
Product: The food was great.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Great service!
Product: The buffet was good and include deserts. The drinks are not included.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent Crew and Service.
Product: Excellent allround

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Very pleasant and comfortable trip around the harbour
Product: Good value

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was excellent,especially that the team leader saw there was ten grandchildren so we were allocated the whole lower deck for the cruise and lunch, the food was very very good also the service with lovely staff. We had previously been on a Vivid cruise and when we decided to hold the 70th birthday party for Carole we decided why would you go elsewhere
Product: Very very good food and service

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

Service: excellent service, food presentation was good. and plenty of it.
Product: good service good food and plenty of it, I like to put my seafood on separate plates and eat that first before going back for my other dishes which was a plus for me.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Nice cruise, good service and good buffet. I took along older relatives from Canada and they thoroughly enjoyed it

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Beautiful boat, lovely staff all dressed in crisp clean uniforms. The food, although there wasn't a lot of choices what they did have was good quality and everything was very tasty, sometimes at a buffet everything is bland but this was delicious and the flavour in the deserts was amazing, probably the nicest and tastiest deserts I have ever had at a buffet, can't wait to go again!
Product: One of the best buffets !!

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and scenery whilst cruising around the Harbour. The staff were attentive and the whole event ran smoothly.
I would recommend this Lunch Cruise.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
5/5

We often use the Capt Cook Harbour Cruise that include meals, always a pleasant outing

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
5/5

amazing! Food was delicious, service was excellent

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
5/5

Good value. Excellent staff, great food, it was my birthday present to a friend from overseas. He was stoked :)

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
2/5

Firstly the instructions regarding the service of the food were not clear and not spoken loud enough for all to hear. There were some ‘nibbles’ type food but no mention of their provision. The hot food was not labelled to indicate the name of the dish and its contents or wether it was vegetarian or non-vegetarian. Admittedly we did not specify any special needs but that would not negate the need for food labelling.
The commentary and other services were satisfactory.
The assistance given to me in the organisation of our Bus travel and Cruise has been very helpful and greatly appreciated.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise. We apologise for not having some of the items on our Buffet Lunch Cruise listed. We always encourage customers to bring this to the attention of staff, to allow us to rectify any issues such as this. As you know we value customer feedback, therefore your comments were forwarded to the relevant managers on that matter.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

View more reviews