Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

A delicious lunch, sunshine and a relaxed, casual atmosphere is what Sydneysiders love best. Top them off with million dollar views of Sydney Harbour, a little sightseeing commentary and you have the perfect lunch escape for the whole family.

One of the great delights of Australia is the abundance and diversity of local seafood. As an island nation where 90% of the population lives on the coastal fringes, seafood has become a staple of the Aussie diet.

Enjoyed by thousands of visitors every year, this cruise combines a great sightseeing experience with a delicious lunch. The atmosphere is more casual than the Top Deck Lunch and the commentary provides a fascinating insight into Sydney of the past, present and future.  After lunch wander up to the open top deck for some Sydney sunshine, a close-up photograph of the Opera House gliding by, or wave at the climbers as we cruise under the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Dress: We recommend Smart Casual

*About Your Vessel
Cruise aboard Sydney’s premier fleet including the spectacular Sydney 2000 and John Cadman 2, both with million dollar views and expansive cocktail decks. Our world class vessels are chosen for many international VIP dignitaries including the official arrival of Pope Benedict XVI for World Youth Day. Air-conditioned restaurant decks, private dining rooms, expansive decks and 360 degree open Star Deck are just a few of the features. Special attention has been made to ensure fantastic views from every seat with below table height windows. Sydney 2000 operates on dining cruises most days however we do always reserve the right to amend vessels at any time.

*From time to time, due to maintenance and scheduling, vessels may change. Vessels may include John Cadman 2 or Captain Cook 3. 

Children Under 18 Years
Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Responsible Service of Alcohol Policy

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

Inclusions

  • Sightseeing Lunch
  • Reserved individual table seating
  • Cruise on MV Sydney 2000*
  • Daily from 12noon, up to 1hr 45min

Need to know

  • Due to global events we have increased our hygiene protocols to maximum and from 18 March we have temporarily suspended the open Harbour Buffet Menu and replaced with a premium 2-course la carte menu
  • Children (4-15 years) $69
  • Optional Extras - see More Info for details
    Guaranteed window seating
    Bar package
  • Cruise Info 
  • Group Specials - Minimum 6 guests
  • Gift Certificate Special
  • *From time to time, due to maintenance and scheduling, vessels may change - see More Info for further details
  • Credit Card Fraud Prevention
    - At check-in you will be required to present the credit card used to purchase your cruise online
  • Virtual tours
  • Map

Timetable

Below are the normal departure details. The vessel will pick-up from both locations. 

For groups of 10 or more, please contact us at least 24 hours prior to travel to notify us of your groups' preferred departure location.

*Special timetables operate on selected dates.

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6 Darling Harbour King St Wharf No.1
Daily 12.30pm. Disembark 2.15pm 12noon. Disembark 1.45pm

Check Your Date   *Check your date for changes

Download Wynyard Walk Map

Car Parking  Please check your date for road closures 

Find Us

Other Options

Top Deck Lunch 3 course

An exceptional cruising restaurant experience in a setting as beautiful as Sydney Harbour - perfect! Indulge in three-course a la carte dining, upper deck seating on the superb MV Sydney 2000* and views that easily rival every other harbour in the world. You’re worth it!

More Info

Top Deck Lunch 2 course

Created for the locals, this cruise offers an exceptional cruising restaurant experience. The menu is premium a la carte and served on the upper restaurant deck of MV Sydney 2000* with sensational views of Sydney.

More Info

Gold Lunch & Drinks

The Gold Lunch Cruise is an exciting dining option hosted by Captain Cook Cruises in partnership with Australia's finest food and wine producers. Every cruise includes a superior beverage selection and a six course seasonal menu, tailored for each departure, all set to the spectacular background of Sydney Harbour. 

 

Gold Lunch Series 2020

  • 6 course seasonal menu
  • Superior beverage selection
  • Tailored to each departure
  • 2020 Series Info

PADDOCK & CLAW Gold Lunch

AQUA FIZZ Gold Lunch

CUT ABOVE Gold Lunch

VINO BOTTE Gold Lunch

AQUA FIZZ Gold Lunch

PADDOCK & CLAW Gold Lunch

  • DEC 2019: Thursday 5th
     - 2020 Series Launch Event
  • Australian beef & shellfish
  • Welcome cocktail & superior wines
  • Paddock & Claw Info
  • Menu

HARBOUR SPICE Gold Lunch  

More Info

Christmas Party Buffet Lunch & Drinks

Enjoy a spectacular Christmas buffet lunch, drinks, live music and million dollars views aboard a special Christmas Party cruise. Departing Fridays and Saturdays during December, book early for great group savings.

More Info

82 % approval from 116 responses

Date
Rating
4 months ago
4/5

Service: The service and food were great. Not your fault that the weather clouded any view of the harbour and foreshore. Very impressed with the beautifully set table and thankyou for the birthday sparkler for our friend's 60th birthday. Would definitely recommend.
Product: Easy to book and no trouble getting tickets at wharf.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

4 months ago
5/5

I would recommend Captain Cook Cruises to anyone and everyone. I have done the lunch buffet cruise 4 times. I have brought family from europe to sydney and have done the lunch buffet cruise with them. They all enjoyed the experience. The food is always fresh and plentiful. The service is excellent. The cruise always departs as scheduled.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

4 months ago
5/5

Very friendly staff. Nice bar and good food.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

4 months ago
5/5

Great

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

4 months ago
5/5

Service: fantastic, staff could not do enough for us
Product: great, excellent variety, yummy

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Was good value for money young ladies waiting at tables very helpful

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Helpful friendly staff. Good food.
Product: Seniors special.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: All the staff treated us as their special guests. Nothing was too much or too difficult. My 8 year old granddaughter said it was the best day of her life. My 92 year old mother loved the cruise. The whole experience was easy and enjoyable even with my Mother’s limited mobility. Thank you to all the staff.
Product: Fresh seafood and salads. Something for everyone to choose from.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
2/5

The buffet selection was average/limited and could not hear the commentary from allocated seat. Buffet was on lowest deck which I understand was not normal. Coffee in the urn ran out. Help with booking was excellent.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is standard for our Buffet Lunch to either be on the Show Deck or Club Deck of our Super Cruise Sydney 2000. As you're aware, finding the right balance for volume for our GPS commentary can be difficult as each customer has different tastes and preferences. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Service was quick and staff very helpful and happy
Product: Food was amazing for adults but i had a 4 and 6 year old they didn't eat anything for them it was not the sort of food they would

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
4/5

Service: The food was plentiful and good quality, the service was Ok but it would have been better if the comprehension of English was better. Table and layout was excellent, we would look at this again for future cruises. It was great boarding at Darling Harbour as there were far less people than at Circular Quay.
Product: Reasonable value for money and good food.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
2/5

Service: Cruise it’s self was lovely and clean.
Product: I didn’t feel the food was of value. No options for children and there desserts were very below average

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that your cruise experience wasn't to your standards. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality - so your review for this is very disappointing to receive. Please be assured that your feedback will be forwarded to our hospitality and catering manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was great,loved the lady's knowledge telling us all what to look out for.
Product: Was a little disappointed at the quantity and quality of food on offer, Last year was much better but maybe a different chef. I felt uneasy that overseas guests would think the same

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
4/5

The service was good & the waitresses were very polite & helpful. The quality of food was also good but it would be better to have a more variety of seafood to choose from on the serving table.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Booking was easy and staff were very helpful accommodating my requests. The family said the lunch and cruise was perfect in every way, a really enjoyable experience!
Product: The family all thought the buffet was great! Fresh, with a good variety to choose from and well presented.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: It was a lovely experience, great food, lovely people, great cruise ship,
Product: Great experience

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Once again a very enjoyable lunch and cruise. Excellent food and the attention to detail from the staff was excellent. As usual the ship was very clean.
Product: Purchase of tickets was easy with no problems.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Staff at all points were efficient and courteous. Food was excellent and plentiful. Commentary was measured and not intrusive. It was good to know that it was "live" and to meet Elizabeth.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Great service as always, such a pity to see so few people this time .

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

The service was excellant

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: My second cruise both amazing received warm welcome on arrival food was delicious nice and clean. Fantastic surprise we were celebrating my aunties 80th and a cake was brought out and everyone sang happy birthday. Was brilliant to see her excitement so overall once again enjoyed our cruise thankyou 👌
Product: I look for presentation and of course taste and found a nice variety of food. Desert could of had less sugary sweets and didn’t enjoy the coffee machine however the brew was nice

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
2/5

I didn’t like that the food was already out and you were basically made to go up and get your food straight away. I was there to sight see I wasn’t interested in food the moment we stepped on board. I thought we would get on, someone would give us a run down of what to expect on the trip and then the food would come out and as we liked we could go up and get food. We got our food and went back to our table to finally start sight seeing and listening to commentary when someone came up and asked us if we would like drinks, which was nice but I had already got our drinks. Then just as we started eating again, a photographer came up and kept taking our photo not sure how we are meant to sight see or listen to commentary when we keep getting interrupted. About half way through the cruise I wanted another drink, of course no one would come near us then nor was anyone ever at the bar to go and get one myself, I never got another drink. Right at the end of the cruise I discovered that there was an outside deck you go out on, this would have been nice to be informed about at the start.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We always encourage customers to view the company website to understand the cruise product and inclusions on their selected cruise. The timings onboard our cruise is optimised to provide the best timing for food, as well as allowing customers to enjoy the ambience and views unobstructed by food. We apologise you felt this was not the case on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: The staff, vessel and food were excellent & contributed to making it a very enjoyable harbour cruise.
Product: A great choice for a family harbour buffet lunch cruise with something for everyone (except for the limited soft drink/soda selection). Nice modern vessel and wonderful staff.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
4/5

Service: The service was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful
Product: The buffet lunch was delicious. Thought there may have been mmore seafood, however the prawns, smoked salmon and oysters weretops and the roast meats were well cooked.
Desserts were fantastic and must admit 2nds were in order

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Absolutely fabulous trip , lovely food so chilled atmosphere lovely day

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Good service, most staff were friendly. Especially the lady who showed us to our seats. Very nice views
Product: We had the buffet lunch, we didn’t really like the food and wasn’t much variety but a lot of other people seemed to enjoy it. Otherwise it was a nice experience

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Good service, timely departure and arrival.
Product: Easy to purchase online and good customer service help

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: That's what we meant, you guys are just 5 star service, excellent all round, from the ease of booking online, to getting there by train, to getting tickets to boarding to table to lunch (AMAZING!) to the cruising and the sight seeing, on top of good price offer on Wednesday! I can't wait for my next trip, given half a chance in Sydney again.
Product: We don't see any reasons you and your cruise should be rated any less.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: We had a wheel and disabled clients the staff were excellent. Staff were helpful and accommodating. The food was served at the table to a large group and was amazing
Product: Will definitely book more events

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: The Captain Cook Buffet Lunch / Harbour Cruise was a wonderful, low-key way for us to celebrate a wedding anniversary - enjoying the iconic views of the harbour, while enjoying a delicious meal, all for a very reasonable price!
Product: The meal was exceptional value, the cruise was very enjoyable, and we enjoyed the sights of the harbour.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Service was wonderful
Product: Not enough variety

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: excellent ship and staff
Product: great seafood and plentiful salads

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was very good, we had purchased a drinks package. The waitress was very attentive and organised. The food was presented well and delicious.
Product: Great service and value for money.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Staff was lovely
Product: Initial purchade was a la carte but downgraded to buffet bad choice

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality, so we apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Wonderful way to see our beautiful harbour...very relaxing and the food was amazing....l will be recommending this cruise to my friends.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
4/5

Service: The food and service was very good. We have recommended the cruise to other people and we want to try another one one day
Product: Nothing is perfect

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
4/5

Service: Service and environment, view is very good. Food need to upgrade a little bit will help 😀😀
Product: Good price

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
4/5

Service: Okay
Product: The food wasn't that nice and it mainly catered for people who can eat seafood. It also didn't cater for people with food allergies.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

The Service was excellent , Michelle books these lunch cruises every year with the support from her carer.
Michelle is wheel chair bound and the staff went over and beyond to make us comfortable.
Helping us out getting our meals and drinks

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
4/5

Was good food, table service staff were friendly & helpful, however a bit tardy, had to refill our water glasses several times ourselves. Was a good cruise just the sane

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
4/5

Service: Service is good but can you add more menu to choose from in the buffett?
Product: More menu to choose from please...

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
1/5

I cancelled my travel to NSW/Sydney because of cathastrophic bush fire. I already cancelled a week before the trip but they said no refund. They should have an option for refund in case of an act of nature because it is not my fault that I cancelled for the safety of my family.

Thank you

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. As per our terms and conditions, all cancellations incur a $20 per person cancellation fee. Cancellations notified less than 24 hours prior to sailing incur a 100% cancellation fee. In special circumstances such as the one you have listed, if notified in advance we will change the booking to another date that suits the customer. We always encourage customers to contact our reservations regarding any issues or enquiries.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Everything about the lunchtime trip was excellent. At the last minute we decided to take our brother-in-law out for his birthday as he had never been on this type of cruise before and everything was so good with the staff and the food was delicious. We are planing to use the Captain Cook service again very soon.
Product: Excellent on every point of the cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: The waiter Hugo was very attentive & polite and was a fine young man. The food service was prompt with staff refilling the dishes promptly as required.
The Seafood Buffet had all my favourites. There were generous amounts of all the food, hot and cold salads .........ennough for having more. The dining area was spacious & the buffet area not crowded. The choice for dessert, if you still had room was limited but l enjoyed the cheese platter. The commentary was excelent, l would highly recommend this cruise and was surprised there were so few tourists
Product: Quality of food , good service & not crowded.Pleasant staff

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
2/5

Service: Great atmosphere. Not much of a food selection though. No music or entertainment. Service from waiters was great.
Product: Great atmosphere. Not much of a food selection though. No music or entertainment. Service from waiters was great.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the product - so your review for this is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too.

Selected cruises offer entertainment; however, the buffet lunch features our GPS commentary giving highlights of Sydney Harbour. Our aim is always to provide extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Great time and food
Product: value for money

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
2/5

Service was ok but the variety of food wasn’t like before especially dessert. Don’t feel like coming back or recommending to friends.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality, so we apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

friendly service

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Cruise on time, food excellent, commentary great
Product: Excellent choices and plenty of it

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: the lady that waited on us was so polite and nothing was to much trouble at all I would give her a 10 out of 10 The service was excellent
Product: food a bit of a disappointment but the harbour cruise was excelent

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
2/5

Service: The food was very average. Nothing special in it! The rice was awful.
Product: Food was very average.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests, so we are very disappointed to read that this aspect of your cruise was no to our standards. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: The staff were great and really went the extra yards for my Mum's 80th (14th December 2019). Couldn't fault the cruise itself.
Product: Thought that there might have been more options for kids on the buffet

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Even though the smoke was bad and a crazy storm hit while out on the boat it was still great and the food was fantastic
Product: Excellent

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Service was incredible. The food was varied and well presented. None of our group was disappointed. The table service was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us. It was an incredible day for the family to celebrate an important birthday. Thank you.
Product: Great value for money. Could not fault the experience when arranging the tickets.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: fabulous helpful and hardworking staff, plenty of seafood constantly restocked. Great experience
Scott the manager on the jetty was very funny, comforting and helpful
Product: great value, easy booking process

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Easy to book with, vessel was very sleak and smart. Staff boarded you well and seated you quickly. Buffet was very good plenty of selection and topped continusly. Service to table very attentive and helpful. Excellent cruise around harbour area. First Glass lunch.
Product: Value for money and was as it said

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Great service, food and boat!
Product: Good value.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
4/5

Service: Easy booking process with helpful polite call service. Enjoyed the commentary & delicious plentiful food.
Product: Enjoyable harbour cruise. Value for money.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: The residents really enjoyed the meal and said the service was fantastic
Product: Great meal with a good range of food choices

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
4/5

Service: Plenty seafood on menu , sure I got money's worth with prawns & oysters , while our group observed the Ovation of the seas , our next trip next year .
Product: Enough seafood to satisfy us all , got my money's worth of prawns & oyster , with couple drinks each ,.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Thank you so much for all of your assistance, with help sourcing food and drinks, being in a wheelchair made it difficult to do this on the day, but your staff were fantastic in helping.
Product: Food was amazing

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

7 months ago
4/5

Service: The food was lovely, the drink service could have been better though, when we initially ordered our drinks, the bubbly, they asked did we just want it by the glass,
we said ok but then after the first one I couldn't get another, I should have asked for the bottle to be left at the table! Also after ordering our drinks they were left at the bar and not brought to the table! Other than that everything else was good.
Product: The food was great.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
4/5

Service: Great service!
Product: The buffet was good and include deserts. The drinks are not included.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent Crew and Service.
Product: Excellent allround

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
4/5

Service: Very pleasant and comfortable trip around the harbour
Product: Good value

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was excellent,especially that the team leader saw there was ten grandchildren so we were allocated the whole lower deck for the cruise and lunch, the food was very very good also the service with lovely staff. We had previously been on a Vivid cruise and when we decided to hold the 70th birthday party for Carole we decided why would you go elsewhere
Product: Very very good food and service

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
4/5

Service: excellent service, food presentation was good. and plenty of it.
Product: good service good food and plenty of it, I like to put my seafood on separate plates and eat that first before going back for my other dishes which was a plus for me.

Review for Sydney Harbour Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Nice cruise, good service and good buffet. I took along older relatives from Canada and they thoroughly enjoyed it

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Beautiful boat, lovely staff all dressed in crisp clean uniforms. The food, although there wasn't a lot of choices what they did have was good quality and everything was very tasty, sometimes at a buffet everything is bland but this was delicious and the flavour in the deserts was amazing, probably the nicest and tastiest deserts I have ever had at a buffet, can't wait to go again!
Product: One of the best buffets !!

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and scenery whilst cruising around the Harbour. The staff were attentive and the whole event ran smoothly.
I would recommend this Lunch Cruise.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

We often use the Capt Cook Harbour Cruise that include meals, always a pleasant outing

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

amazing! Food was delicious, service was excellent

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Good value. Excellent staff, great food, it was my birthday present to a friend from overseas. He was stoked :)

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
2/5

Firstly the instructions regarding the service of the food were not clear and not spoken loud enough for all to hear. There were some ‘nibbles’ type food but no mention of their provision. The hot food was not labelled to indicate the name of the dish and its contents or wether it was vegetarian or non-vegetarian. Admittedly we did not specify any special needs but that would not negate the need for food labelling.
The commentary and other services were satisfactory.
The assistance given to me in the organisation of our Bus travel and Cruise has been very helpful and greatly appreciated.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise. We apologise for not having some of the items on our Buffet Lunch Cruise listed. We always encourage customers to bring this to the attention of staff, to allow us to rectify any issues such as this. As you know we value customer feedback, therefore your comments were forwarded to the relevant managers on that matter.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Everyone was very helpful. From the people taking the booking, to those assisting with extra requests for tickets, the people at the wharf as well as all the staff on board.
Product: Everyone in the group enjoyed the seafood buffet.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
2/5

Service: Very poor service, the food portions were small and the buffet didnt even last an hour. The staff were packing up after 40 minutes and the remainder of the journey was practically site seeing. For the amount paid its not worth it at all.
Product: The buffet was mediocre every thing was average. Felt like being served at a cheap style wedding. Also the buffet only lasted 40 minutes and the staff were packing everything away. The remainder of the time was practically site seeing.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that the food on your cruise wasn't to your standards. Our buffet Lunch is designed to provide customers ample time to both enjoy their meal whilst also leaving enough time to appreciate the stunning views of Sydney Harbour. We do apologise for the misunderstanding. As you know we value customer feedback, therefore your comments were forwarded to the relevant managers on that matter.

Thank you once again for you feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Great welcome aboard and staff were very friendly and gave great service. Were always close by if needed assistance
Product: Great photos that you can treasure and remember the cruise

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
4/5

Service: all positive except on point: The person who served us initially insisted that drinks were not included, even though we had the bar option
Product: all food was good quality and fresh. the only item I thought was a bit lower standard was the carvings

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
1/5

Service: Really bad food
Product: Food taste really bad, just like canteen food. Seafood not even fresh and not many varieties to choose.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality. We can assure you that all our products are and prepared fresh. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concern, especially regarding food, drinks and services as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assure your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

9 months ago
5/5

Service: very good, but it was a quiet day so service was excellent.
Product: food was very good, loved the prawns and oysters

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Staff were lovely and excellent service. The food had good variety and plentiful. The cruise and commentary were excellent.
Product: Lots of variety and plenty to eat

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Great meal and service
Product: value for money and a great day out on water

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Boat great food great crew great lovely cruise on Sydney Harbour
Product: Everything about the lunch cruise was great would do it again

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent. Recommend the window seat
Product: Plenty of seafood but also other options for those who don’t like seafood

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Service: the window is a bit dirty
Product: The quality of food is good but need more quantity and variety.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
2/5

Service: Unfortunately the sound system was not working properly and we could not hear the commentary. This was our first trip and we especially wanted to hear about the hatbour highlights. Very disappointing. There also seemed to be some confusion with staff service maybe more training required. Meal and weather was grear though.
Product: Great food especially the seafoos

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that the service on out Buffer Lunch cruise wasn’t to your standards. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. We apologize for the GPS commentary not working properly on this occasion. We may have experienced technical difficulties, which were addressed as soon as possible.


Thank you once again for your feedback.


Kind Regards,


Head of Customer ServiceCaptain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Excellent food, great service and a fantastic view.
Product: Reasonable price for trip

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Staff were very patient and pleasant

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Service was good
Product: Food was good, and a great variety, drinks a bit pricey

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Food was delicious the service was polite and professional.
Product: perhaps a little more variety

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: The cruise was great the food excellent and the staff courteous and helpful
Product: The food was excellent and a variety for different tastes

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
2/5

Service: The staff was okay. After we complained they explained that there wasn't much fish at the buffet this time, which was really disappointing.
Product: My family from Germany came to visit me in Sydney. I wanted to take them on a cruise around the Harbour with Seafood. We were all very excited and couldn't wait to get on. To say that we were disappointed in the food and the cruise in general would be an understatement.. Nothing was as it was stated on the website.
I wasn't aware that chicken and roast were considered "seafood". There was one type of fish and some oysters, the rest was rice, chicken, roast and a few salads and some dry bread rolls. We took a photo of one of our plates to compare to the photos online. Online we were promised a variety of fish and prawns and not just dry fish and oysters. After telling the staff, they had some excuse as to why there was only two types of seafood. The food was absolutely miserable and a waste of money. We should have gotten fish and chips from Circular Quay, it would have not only been tastier and more authentic but also not a complete waste of money.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

10 months ago
1/5

Service: In the buffet section, the seafood and vegetarian options were horrible. It was like having raw fish! On top of that the environment wasn't enjoyable. There was no music!
Product: In the buffet section, the seafood and vegetarian options were horrible. It was like having raw fish! On top of that the environment wasn't enjoyable. There was no music!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,


Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests. We can assure you that all our products are sourced and prepared fresh. Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise. Selected cruises offer entertainment. However, please be assured we have forwarded your comments onto our entertainment manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Yes, would recommend
Product: Reasonable lunch menu, however, not a great choice for non seafood clients

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
2/5

The experience overall was fine. Maybe the food needs to be improved

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests. Please be assured your feedback has been sent to our catering manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: ran to schedule efficient and courteous staff food excellent
Product: Food we had was marvellous however your advertising is strong on you serving ocean prawns
I had a party of 16 including my wife the birthday girl who is a seafood lover and particularly loves prawns however we did not see a prawn served all day and so that was very disappointing

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: I enjoyed this cruise with my cousin from Russia who was wowed at the views of Sydney Harbour. We had a lovely buffet lunch with incredible views of all the famous sights!
Product: Delicious prawns and oysters!

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Excellent staff and comfortable cruising!

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Wonderful cruise. Fantastic service.
I was suppose to take a lady in a large electric wheelchair. Luckily she was sick and wasn’t able to attend I had rung and was told the John Cadman was wheelchair accessible.
I had explained it was a very large electric wheelchair. I had plan ed to rebook for the lady in the wheelchair but on checking while there the ramp is very steep and at the top there is a thick metal bar which the wheelchair would be unable to navigate.
Must be very careful when you say wheelchair accessible. Need to clarify. It would of been awful if I had brought the lady and been unable to access the John cadman.
☹️☹️

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: My team had a FANTASTIC afternoon! The staff were absolutely wonderful. Helpful, kind and made the cruise a wonderful experience
Product: The food was good. One vegetarian option, a few meats and a couple of seafood options. The salads were nice though! Desserts and cheeses were nice too.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

Service: We really enjoyed our lunch and cruise. We only had a short stay in Sydney and this was a great way to enjoy a meal and the lovely views of the harbour at the same time. Would recommend.
Product: I'm not a seafood eater but my husband is. He enjoyed the seafood and I enjoyed the beautifully cooked ham and salads.

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was great, the staff were professional and friendly. There was a good variety of food and it was delicious. we enjoyed it very much.
Product: already answered this question

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

11 months ago
2/5

Service: The food was not up to standard different to what was on the menu
Product: other then the food it was a beautiful cruise

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with the food on our Seafood Buffet Cruise. Our menu is listed on our website and our reservation staff are always happy to assist with any inquiries customers may have, as we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality, which is why we have made these adjustments to the menu.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
2/5

Service: Could not hear the commentary whatsoever.
There was smoked salmon & oysters..... I don't eat raw fish nor oysters so all I could have was the chicken plus prawns. Would be nice to have maybe some cooked fish & maybe some beef. Just not enough variety.
Product: Not enough variety. I don't eat smoked salmon or oysters. Cooked fish would've been nice & maybe beef as there was only chicken drumsitcks plus a veg curry

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We apologize you were not completely satisfied with your Buffet Lunch Cruise. Our GPS commentary is used to provide a general insight into the history and fun facts of the harbour. This is set at a volume so as to not interrupt or be obtrusive to the conversations and ambience of fellow passengers, whilst still at an appropriate volume for customers to listen to at their leisure. If customers prefer a live, personalised and interactive commentary, we provide live commentary on our Harbour Story cruises.

We also aim to always provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality. We are disappointed to hear that you did not find the options satisfying. Our menu is listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise.


Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
2/5

Service: Only a small selection of choices for what is called a buffet.
Don't know if this was because they usually have a larger boat?
Hospitality staff were very good
Product: already said why.
selection not that good

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We apologize you were not completely satisfied with your Buffet Lunch Cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality, so we are disappointed to hear you did not find this to be the case. Our menu is also listed on our website and we always encourage customers to view this to understand the inclusions on their selected cruise.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

12 months ago
5/5

Excellent experience, service and food!

Review for Seafood Buffet Lunch

View more reviews

Cruise Deals

Book now and save over 30% on a great range of Sydney Harbour Dining and Sightseeing Cruises.

Discover Sydney Harbour

Discover Sydney Harbour. Dinner, Lunch & High Tea, ferries, hop on hop off, private charters & more

Choose a Unique Gift

Spoil someone special with a unique gift. High Tea, Lunch, Dinner & Sightseeing from AU$55pp

Gold Dinner

Degustation dining and first class service with Gold Penfolds upgrade option. Luxury awaits.