Hop On Hop Off

Don’t be fooled, Sydney is a big place to explore over just one weekend and while its world class natural harbour is part of the enduring charm, it is also one of the reasons that makes sightseeing in by normal public transport so challenging. But with Captain Cook Cruises you can do what the locals do and travel on the harbour highway with our famous Hop On Hop Off ferry pass conveniently allowing you to explore Sydney’s best bits - Circular Quay (The Rocks & Opera House), Taronga Zoo, Shark Island, Watsons Bay and Manly - all with the convenience of live commentary from a friendly local throughout your journey. 

 

Sydney Harbour Explorer 2 Day Hop On Hop Off Pass

2-Day Hop On Hop Off Pass

  • 2 consecutive calendar days
  • Captains Special
    - Adult $50 | Child $28
    - Normally Adult $52 | Child $29

Sydney Harbour Explorer 1 Day Hop On Hop Off Pass

1-Day Hop On Hop Off Pass

  • 1 calendar day
  • Captains Special
    - Adult $35 | Child $20
    - Normally Adult $39 | Child $25

Big Bus Sydney Pass

Hop On Hop Off + Big Bus Sydney

  • Hop On Hop Off 2-Day Pass
  • Big Bus 24-Hour Classic Ticket
    - Valid within 7 days of cruise
  • Adult $99 | Child $59

Sydney Harbour Whale Watching Explorer

Whale Watching Explorer

  • 10:00am Whale Watching Tour
  • 2-Day Hop On Hop Off pass commencing on day of the Whale Watching tour
  • Adult $99 | Child $59

 

The Hop on Hop Off cruise passes with Captain Cook range from 1 or 2 calendar days, to a single circuit, offering visitors to the city the best sightseeing cruise and value for money option on Sydney harbour.

This unique ferry pass is a true harbour explorer, criss-crossing the harbour throughout the day and travelling between famous Sydney Harbour precincts including Circular Quay (The Rocks & Opera House), Taronga Zoo, Shark Island, Watsons Bay and Manly. 

You can be sure to cover off multiple Sydney hotspots in a single day and after a huge day of exploring with a Hop On Hop Off cruise, you’ll still be ready for a lively evening at one of the many waterfront bars and restaurants on King Street Wharf, Barangaroo, The Rocks or Darling Harbour. 

The full circuit of the Hop On Hop Off Sydney Harbour Explorer takes approximately 80 minutes and departs regularly throughout the day from Circular Quay. 

If you’re looking for a Sydney ferry pass with flexibility, comfort and live commentary - this is it!

Daily timetables can vary depending on what’s happening on the harbour city. Visit the timetable web page for the lastest information.

Circular Quay

  • Sydney Opera House
  • The Rocks historic precinct & weekend markets
  • Royal Botanic Gardens
  • Harbour Bridge walkway & Bridge Climb
  • Restaurants, bars & hotels
  • Big Bus Sydney & Bondi Explorer
  • Transport hub - cruise & ferry wharves & airport train line

Taronga Zoo

  • Australia's most famous Zoo with amazing wildlife including koalas, platypus, kangaroos and animals of the world - open daily 9am to 5pm
  • Headland natures walks towards Bradleys Head and Chowder Bay 

Manly

  • Short walk to famous Manly surf beaches
  • Ocean-front restaurants, bars & cafes
  • Discover the natural beauty of North Head Sanctuary (45min walk from Manly)
  • Fish n chips on The Corso
  • Cabbage Tree Bay Eco-Sculpture Walk on Marine Parade

Watsons Bay

  • Famous Doyle's seafood restaurant & waterfront pub
  • Park and picnic grounds
  • Short stroll to beautiful harbour swimming beaches, the Gap, South Head & HMAS Watson

Shark Island

  • National Park Island
  • Perfect BYO picnic destination
  • Small swimming beach
  • Five picnic shelters
  • 360 degree harbour views from the Opera House to the Heads

Car Parking 

Quick Links

Children Under 18 Years

  • Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all licensed cruises.

Terms & Conditions 

  • Special payment and cancellation conditions apply to all special offers and special events. View our terms and conditions

Inclusions

  • Stunning Sydney Harbour by day
  • The official Sydney Harbour Explorer
  • A quick and easy way to see the harbour and visit famous precincts Stopping at Circular Quay, Manly, Shark Island, Taronga Zoo & Watsons Bay  
  • Commentary
  • Approx 1hr 20min harbour circuit
  • Family Bonus 

Need to know

  • Captains Special from $35 T&C's
  • Select your Pass Option from the `Book this Cruise' box
    - 1-Day Pass or 2-Day Pass
    - 2-Day Pass + Big Bus 24hr Classic Ticket
    - 2-Day Pass + Whale Watching
  • Planning on visiting Taronga Zoo?
    - During Covid restrictions, please ensure you pre-book your entry ticket directly with Taronga Zoo, as entry is not available at the gate. The Sky Safari and lower entrance are also currently closed.
  • Map | Cruise Info | Family Bonus | Gifts | Covid Safe

Timetable

 

Departs  Circular Quay Wharf 6  
School Holidays  26Sep-11Oct 2020 & 19Dec 2020-26Jan 2021 Daily
Non-School Holidays Oct 2020 - Mar 2021  Sat-Sun
  Check availability for additional departures  
Important notice: Shark Island wharf closed for emergecy maintenance - 02Oct20

Ferry Timetable  View timetables, check your date for special events and changes to the normal cruise program

Car Parking Specials   Remember to check your date for NSW road closures 

Find Us

YOUR SAY HOP ON HOP OFF - Friendly and courteous staff. Overall value excellent. David, Australia

View Special Offers

85 % approval from 52 responses

Date
Rating
6 months ago
2/5

Service: No announcements at Circular Quay pier causing confusion, boats too small leaving people behind.

First scheduled boat far too small for number of people wanting to go to Taronga Zoo early in the day so left people behind then second boat was massive - they need swapping round!

Wouldn't go with Captain Cook again, would choose another way of getting to Taronga by ferry.
Product: Poor customer service and poor response to feedback. Would not recommend so score updated to reflect.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the wharf at Circular Quay. We do apologise sincerely for the inconvenience. As you know we value customer feedback, therefore your comments were forwarded to the relevant managers on this matter.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

7 months ago
4/5

Excellent trip but wasn’t told by the office that the timetable changes the next day

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Tower

7 months ago
5/5

Excellent service and ease of booking.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

7 months ago
5/5

Service: we had 2 great days using the hop on hop off boat on Sydney Harbour, the ferry was punctual and staff friendly
Product: easy access to the zoo and a great day out, we enjoyed arriving and departing by boat

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

7 months ago
5/5

Easy to use and great customer service. Everyone was super informative and helpful.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Tower

7 months ago
5/5

Friendly, professional timely service. Enjoyed Ron's commentary very much. Clean vessel, comfortable seats. Timetable easy to follow.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

7 months ago
5/5

Cruise left on time and captain had great info to share on the ride.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Very easy to book. Good price, nice vessel, and good info about the Harbour.
Product: The crew was very friendly, and had some great information about the harbour, and the different areas that we visited.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Tower

7 months ago
5/5

Service: We were on a cruise from Darling Harbour to Manly and back. Luckily for us it happened to be one where Ron was our tour guide. He was informative fun and friendly. The other crew members obviously knew their jobs. I would recommend this trip to everyone
Product: We did purchase this ticket but unfortunately didn’t have enough time to use this option to its optimal use

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Fabulous 2-day hop on hop off schedule for 8 different locations across the Sydney harbour! I recommend combining it with the Taronga Zoo entrance ticket or another Sydney attraction. Totally worth it. Zoo takes about 2-3 hours to see it all.
Product: Excellent value

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

7 months ago
5/5

Great service to combine hop on hop off with entry to Taronga zoo. Very interesting guide who pointed out lots of things as we sailed across the harbour

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Had an amazing dinner sunset cruise with Captain Cook Cruises. Everything was perfect and I would definitely recommend it! It’s a great way to see Sydney from the water, especially at night watching the city light up. The food was delicious and catered to vegetarians and vegans too. The service was fast and the live music was entertaining. I would do it again in a heart beat!
Product: Easy to hop on and off around Sydney. Would recommend this if you’re planning to visit multiple tourist points. I first visited Luna Park then made my way to Manly Beach. The boat was not very busy and more comfortable than the city cruises.

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

8 months ago
1/5

Service: Holy hell, where to begin. Get rid of the incredibly rude staff? We had the captain tell us to go run and get the tickets prior to our first boarding, and then immediately start to take off. I had to yell at him to get him back. The next day the receptionist working the deck was horrendously rude to us. Out of the entire trip the one thing I would change would be to never even hear of your cruise line. Absolutely unacceptable.
Product: The staff is incredibly rude. The service is misleading, as it's very spotty and if you want to go to manly, you really have to plan the time. Next time I'm just taking the regular ferry. You're not exactly saving by having the hop on and hop off, as the service is rather irregular.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that the service you received wasn't to your standards. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the product - so your review for this is very disappointing to receive. Please ve assured your concerns have been forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

8 months ago
5/5

Very pleasant, got a good view of the Harbour

Review for Hop On Hop Off and SeaLife

8 months ago
5/5

On time. Informative commentary. Air conditioned. Perfect.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our Hop on Hop off Service. as you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the product - so your review for this is very satisfying to receive. Your feedback will be forwarded to our hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Hop On Hop Off and 2 Attractions

9 months ago
4/5

The Captain Cook Dinner cruise was great! The staff were super friendly and helpful. The food was delicious! However, the music was not so great. It was a bit too boring. Otherwise it was good and I would definitely recommend to other people. Thanks for the experience 😊

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Definitely would travel with CCC again, staff knowledgeable and very friendly, boats very well laid out. Service overall 5 stars, can not fault. Recommend purchasing the hop on, hop off tickets over several days with combined attraction ticket(s) for great value for money.
Product: Loved the great saving on zoo entry.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Great day with a group
Product: Great tour

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

9 months ago
5/5

Easy way to get around, friendly staff

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Ferries arrived on time and service was friendly. The hop on hop off ferry travels to multiple locations-all of them worth traveling to.
Product: Good value. Love the ferry service.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

9 months ago
4/5

Service: A great way to get around and see Sydney from the water!
Product: Try to make an early start to be able to see as much as possible. SeaLife was so much bigger on the inside than it looked from the outside. We enjoyed our day of Hop On Hop Off and the finish with a SeaLife visit a lot!

Review for Hop On Hop Off and SeaLife

9 months ago
1/5

Service: This is our first visit to AU and we decided to buy your Hop on Hop off ferry run. Our first morning trip to Manly Beach went as scheduled. However once we were there, we were left stranded. Not only was the ferry late but you were at capacity and left a large group of us stranded. Most of us had to go and buy another ferry ticket to reach the next intended destination since you would no longer make that run. There was absolutely no point in the purpose of the "hop on hop off" when we are unable to use it. You basically charged us 50 AUS for a one way run. We asked the local agent to take back out ticket and just charge us the one way cost as we could no longer trust your service. The agent could not do so since it was a HOHO ticket. It was absurd. The organization, communication and logistics of the experience was absolutely ridiculous, frustrating, and left a horrible experience. You failed to make things right when it was clear this was your fault. We showed up at the time and location per your schedule and was simply told "sorry we are full, you will have to stay here and find another option". You didn't even offer to pay for another ferry for us to reach our destination. Rest assured our travel blogs and social media will be getting a full descriptive run down of how your service treated it's passengers. Thank you for robbing us and thank you for leaving us stranded and ruining the rest of our evening as we spent it trying to find a way back to Sydney on our own.
Product: This is our first visit to AU and we decided to buy your Hop on Hop off ferry run. Our first morning trip to Manly Beach went as scheduled. However once we were there, we were left stranded. Not only was the ferry late but you were at capacity and left a large group of us stranded. Most of us had to go and buy another ferry ticket to reach the next intended destination since you would no longer make that run. There was absolutely no point in the purpose of the "hop on hop off" when we are unable to use it. You basically charged us 50 AUS for a one way run. We asked the local agent to take back out ticket and just charge us the one way cost as we could no longer trust your service. The agent could not do so since it was a HOHO ticket. It was absurd. The organization, communication and logistics of the experience was absolutely ridiculous, frustrating, and left a horrible experience. You failed to make things right when it was clear this was your fault. We showed up at the time and location per your schedule and was simply told "sorry we are full, you will have to stay here and find another option". You didn't even offer to pay for another ferry for us to reach our destination. Rest assured our travel blogs and social media will be getting a full descriptive run down of how your service treated it's passengers. Thank you for robbing us and thank you for leaving us stranded and ruining the rest of our evening as we spent it trying to find a way back to Sydney on our own.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Unfortunately in this instance our vessel was filled with passengers, which as you know is outside of our control. However we are pleased to note that we scheduled an additional vessel to pick up remaining passengers, which also included an additional stop at Watsons Bay.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

King Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

9 months ago
2/5

Service: Out of schedule but once you get on the boar - it is ok. Schedule a bit confusing.
Product: Pirchase was online and clear in each step.

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

9 months ago
1/5

Need more longer time of schedule esp in the afternoon.

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

9 months ago
4/5

Love the cruise and the high tea food. i would do it again for the next time to fully enjoy the atmosphere and the service they provide.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

9 months ago
5/5

Service: We also had an afternoon boxed tea and narrated cruise the afternoon we arrived with an excellent lady guide. It was the perfect way to spend our first afternoon in Sydney.
Our added Hop On/Hop Off cruise was very pleasant and really helped us get around.
Product: Helpful to navigate around Sydney with great suggestions from guides on board.

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Easy and efficient. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Product: Fast ride between Circular Quay and the zoo. The hop on hop off option is great if you wish to disembark at different locations and explore parts of Sydney.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

9 months ago
5/5

Good people, straight forward process, clean boats and great views. One ferry was late but not bad really when you consider how busy it is!

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

9 months ago
5/5

Service: We had an amazing experience touri g Sydney Harbour through Captain Cook Cruises. Informative tours and friendly staff. Highly recommend.
Product: Great value, friendly staff

Review for Hop On Hop Off and SeaLife

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Purchasing tickets on-line was fast and convenient.
Product: The package was a good value, since we used the ferry to get around Sydney Harbour for the two days the HOHO tickets were good for. Cheaper than separate tickets for SeaLife plus individual ferry tickets.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and SeaLife

10 months ago
5/5

Service: All the staff were happy and helpful. Boys on the boat had a great sense of humour.
Product: Bought tickets online, and the girls at the check in counter gave us a refund as they had a special running that week! Nice surprise!

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

10 months ago
4/5

We loved the convenience of the Hop on Hop off Ferry and I would definitely use it again. The services were reasonably frequent, locations easy to find, and staff polite and friendly. The only disappointment was that we could only use the service on the first day as the second day all services were cancelled due to smoke surrounding the area.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Madame Tussauds

10 months ago
5/5

Ronny was very knowledgable about Sydney and could answer all our questions. Your routes were changed when you ran behind time but it didn’t effect us. We had a wonderful time

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Tower

10 months ago
1/5

Service: Hi Captain Cook crew,

I am extremely disappointed on your service. As you can see in the attached, I have booked and fully paid 2 adults package for high tea.

In the attached files, there were no instructions whatsoever on where the boat will depart. We were instructed to view the timetable in which it directed us only to hop on and hop off schedules.

Because of that confusion, we were unable to board to the boat although when we arrived at wharf 6, the boat were still there. As much as I was disappointed to your unclear instructions, I have left a local phone number for contacts and yet, no one called me to confirm if I were really gonna show up at the harbour or not. In that case, please specify why is my phone number requires at the first place?

On top of the later, I was extremely disappointed to your on land crews. Which are not helpful, defensive, kept blaming me and my friend. One crew offered a refund and told us that we should have boarded at the latest by 2.20pm (which of course this is not written anywhere in the booking receipt and your website), while another crew kept insisting we cannot board and did not offer any solution at all safe for asking more money to reschedule for our trip (which we already told her that it would not be possible as we will be flying the next day). We had to ask for a hop on and hop off tickets (as this is the best we can think of).

Big disappointment. I will, not just not recommend your service to others, but as much as possible I will forbid anyone to take your service.

You need to improve your service and website and your crews asap.
Product: Unpleasant

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

We are pleased to note that we have already corresponded with your over email. In the attachment that you were sent with your email, it was shown where and when the boat departs, which is, as you have already written, at 2:30 on circular Quay Wharf No.6. Our ticket offices are always happy to help if you have any questions, such as where the vessel departs.

We can assure you that staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service, so we sincerely apologize if you felt this was not the case on this occasion. In regard to your phone number, your number has one digit missing and is therefore incomplete, which is why we have been unable to contact you.

Once again thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

10 months ago
4/5

They were very prefisional and friendly, on time and helpful.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Tower

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Good service
Product: Easy & Convenient and value for money

Review for Hop On Hop Off and 3 Attractions

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Onboard staff were great and informative
Product: Easy transaction, email ticket, simple

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

11 months ago
5/5

everything was perfect

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The food was delicious with lots of choices on the menu. The sights are fabulous and service spectacular
Product: We caught the ferry from darling harbour. The ferry was always on time and staff wonderful. Would have been good yo have more services to darling harbour later in the day.

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Nice experience with friendly crews.
Product: Various kinds of animals. Great experience!

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Convenient and good service. A wonderful way to sightseeing Sydney with Captain cruises.
Product: Easy and fast. Got our tickets at Darling Harbour

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The boats were on time and clean. Everything ran very smoothly. It was a great way to explore the harbor.
Product: It is hard to rate the value of the zoo. We only stayed for a short time because it was a holiday weekend and a school holiday. The place was absolutely mobbed, so we left.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

11 months ago
4/5

we holiday in Sydney regularly and always use captain cook cruises to get around the harbour.staff and commentary are always great

Review for Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The deal that included the hop on hop off ferries, the hop on hop off bus, Taronga zoo and 3 attractions was great! But really enjoyed the ferries we did the whole circuit one day just to go for a nice boat ride on a beautiful day and enjoy the sights. The commentary on the area was very welcomed as well.
Product: Amazing deal. Great value for money and got to do so many touristy things. Unfortunately the buses were to full for us to make it out to Bondi, which my boyfriend really wanted to do. The drivers just kept saying if there was just one more bus... So we kind of wasted half a day and a bit of money there with the hop on hop off bus and probably wouldn't get that again, might just uber next time. But everything else was great.

Review for Hop On Hop Off and 5 Attractions

11 months ago
2/5

Service: Not enough information as to how it works. Purchased ticket to Madame Toussouds, after lining up at ticketing at Madame Toussouds, was told we needed to go all the way to Captain Cook's office to get the ticket then go back the end of the line to be allowed entry!
The staff at Captain Cook's was not very accommodating, no explanations on how it works or anything. Ferry times finished early for the day so not much options for later on the day.
Product: Not enough information as to how it works. Purchased ticket to Madame Toussouds, after lining up at ticketing at Madame Toussouds, was told we needed to go all the way to Captain Cook's office to get the ticket then go back the end of the line to be allowed entry!
The staff at Captain Cook's was not very accommodating, no explanations on how it works or anything. Ferry times finished early for the day so not much options for later on the day.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that the service wasn't to your standards. We aim to provide the adequate information to all our customers. We always encourage customers to contact our reservations staff regarding any enquiries they have for any product we sell. Please be assured your feedback has been forwarded to our reservations manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Madame Tussauds

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Easy way to get around, friendly staff
Product: Good value over 2 days...

Review for Hop On Hop Off and SeaLife

12 months ago
2/5

Service: The tour commentator seemed bored and the commentary uninformative.
It was too difficult to work out how to hop on and off so we abandoned the cruise's service and used harbour ferries.
Product: Zoo was half closed for renovations. Nothing new, unusual or interesting about the exhibits that were open. Highlight was the views of the harbour.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that the service on your cruise wasn't to your standards. We update our timetables daily for our Hop on Hop off cruises. Our reservation staff are happy to help with any enquiries customers may have. Some of our Hop on Hop off cruises offer live, personalised commentary providing insights from our highly experienced commentator. Finding the right balance between providing information, humour and interactions can be difficult as each customer has their own tastes and preferences. However, please be assured your thoughts will be forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Hop On Hop Off and Taronga Zoo

View more reviews

High Tea at Sea

Enjoy sweet & savoury treats, sparkling wine & amazing views of Sydney Harbour from AU$69pp

Cruise Deals

Book now and save over 30% on a great range of Sydney Harbour Dining and Sightseeing Cruises.

Discover Sydney Harbour

Discover Sydney Harbour. Dinner, Lunch & High Tea, ferries, hop on hop off, private charters & more

TripAdvisor Excellence Awards

We are thrilled to be awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2019. Read more ...