Vivid 5pm Sunset Dinner & Drinks

Inclusions

  • 1.5hr cruise aboard "Vivid Sydney" MV Sydney 2000
  • 3-course set menu with choice of mains
  • Standard Bar Package or beer, wine and softdrinks
  • See the lights of Vivid turn on from the water approx. 6pm
  • Menu

Need to know

  • Nightly during Vivid 24 May - 15 June 2019*
    - 2019 dates subject to confirmation by DNSW
  • Captains Special from $89 per adult
    - Normally $99
    - Limited availability
     - Terms & conditions
  • Children (4-15 years) $69
  • Guaranteed Window seating additional $19pp
  • Vivid Peak Nights - Saturdays
    - 25 May 2019
    - 01, 08 & 15 June 2019
  • Cruise Info
  • Credit Card Fraud Prevention
    - At check-in you will be required to present the credit card used to purchase your cruise online

Timetable

Departs  Darling Harbour King Street Wharf No.1
Nightly during Vivid 24 May - 15 June 2019  5.00pm. Returns 6.30pm

Car Parking  Please check your date for road closures 

Find Us

Vivid 5pm Sunset Dinner & Drinks thumbnail

Cruise aboard Vivid Sydney vessel MV Sydney 2000 including contemporary Australian dining with a choice of mains and desserts, plus house still, sparkling wines, beer and soft drinks. This 1½ hour cruise is a popular with early diners and those eager to see the lights of Vivid Sydney turn on every evening at 6.00pm. More Info ...

2018 details below as a guide ...

Vivid Highlights 25 May to 16 June 2018

2018 Vivid Light - more than 60 interactive light installations from 6.00pm to 11.00pm daily. 

Sydney Harbour Bridge - Eora-Dark Emu projection & Harbour Lights
Sydney Opera House - Metamathemagical 
Museum Contemporary Art Australia - Light projections
Customs House - Snugglepot & Cuddlepie
Darling Harbour - 'Ocean Fantastic'
Barangaroo - Experience the art of puppetry 
Royal Botanic Gardens - 3D Projections an enchanted,nocturnal envirnoment made up of LED lights
Taronga Zoo - Lights for the Wild light sculptures 
Chatswood - NASA 360-degree projection 
Kings Cross - Vivid KX will see the Coca-Cola LED billboard light up in vibrant colours for the first time in 40 years
Vivid Music & Modulations @ the Carriageworks
Vivid Ideas Exchange @ the MCA
Vivid Live @ the Sydney Opera House

The Vivid festival includes the NSW June long weekend.

Dress: We recommend Smart Casual

Special Diet? Please visit our Menus page for information or Contact Us. Download vegetarian menu or child menu for the Vivid 5pm Sunset Dinner Cruise.

Children Under 18 Years
Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy 

Responsible Service of Alcohol Policy 

YOUR SAY SUNSET DINNER - Just wanted to say thank you. My partner and I took the Sunset cruise on Saturday 11th Feb. We had a wonderful time, food was great, and would definitely recommend. Meagan, VIC

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

87 % approval from 135 responses

Date
Rating
2 days ago
5/5

The whole crew was absolutely amazing! Everyone was so friendly and made this part of our honeymoon so awesome. They even brought out our dessert and sang to us! We would love to do this again!

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 weeks ago
5/5

They did every thing well.the cruise took in all of the harbour, the meal was good and well presented, the drink just kept coming, and the staff were very professional. Great value for money.

Review for Sunset Dinner

4 weeks ago
5/5

Service: The sunset dinner cruise represented good value for money, and was well organised to fill the time nicely with the dinner and drinks. We received a pleasant surprise by being upgraded to window seats.

I would recommend the cruise to anyone.
Product: We phoned the purchase through as this was the easiest option to use.

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Staff were very lovely and couldn’t help enough. Food was delicious and ship was very tidy and clean.
Product: Well worth the money. Loved every minute

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
2/5

Service: The ride was smooth, despite windy conditions and storms in the area. However, I was very disappointed, and somewhat disturbed, that NO SAFETY announcements were made during the cruise! Nothing about what to do in case of emergency, where the life vests and life rafts are located, etc. This is a HUGE miss in my opinion.
Product: We had excellent vegetarian entrees, and a very friendly server who chatted with us during the cruise. Food was served hot, and the dessert was excellent.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for the review of your experience of your Cruise. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and service on your cruise. We can assure you that safety is of paramount importance to us and all our staff are highly trained to deal with emergency situations.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Pontualidade, otima infra estrutura de barco e de jantar e vista da cidade perfeita. @debbytour recomendou nao tem erro
Product: Toppppp, jantar otimo....

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Everything was top class
Product: Very easy and quick very efficient

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
5/5

Service: I had to change the date by one day and it was done by phone well
Product: Very good but it could have gone another half hour

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
5/5

Service was great the views from our window seats were excellent for myself and my two daughters from England a must for anybody visiting Sydney. A great ship Sydney 2000

Review for Sunset Dinner

1 month ago
5/5

Great cruise! Great service! Loved the food!

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

We were greeted at arrival on board and shown to our table and our waitress was very attentive, pleasant and looked after us. She even made a birthday hat for me and added sparkles to my dessert, a lovely gesture. My only thoughts were there was no salt container on the table, no butter for our bread rolls and a coffee to finish off the meal would have been lovely, it should be included in the price and not an extra cost. Otherwise a very pleasant cruise & dinner.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

This was a great sunset dinner cruise!
My mother was visiting from the US, and it was such a wonderful experience to see Sydney at night this way. I highly recommend this dinner cruise as it was definitely good value for the price.

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was excellent and professional. Would definitely come back.
Product: I think it was a really good price for the service that was offered

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Friendly staff, meal 4 star, service 5 star
Great to unwind after a long week with views of harbour.
Would recommend highly.
Product: excellent value for money

Review for Sunset Dinner

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Crew were cheery and pleasant, out waitress was very polite and helpful
Product: Great value and very pleasant

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent service, very nice staff, very good food, very comfortable. We enjoyed it all.
Product: Very good food and service. Very comfortable.

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was amazing, everyone was very attentive. Don't go on this cruise for the food though. It really wasn't very good, but the presentation was. We really just wanted the cruise experience under the harbour bridge and it was very romantic and the champagne, wine and beer were unending!
Product: The food really could have been higher quality. However, the beer wine and champagne were very good quality! That's mostly what we were looking forward to anyways.

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 months ago
4/5

All good enjoyed experience would go again

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 months ago
4/5

Service: I made a mistake with order. Phoned captain Cook cruises and they fixed it in no time
Product: Amazing food with great views. Plenty of time to look around

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 months ago
4/5

the service was very good.i have been on several dinner cruises and staff are always good. good to see edward doing the cruises,he is a very good host

Review for Sunset Dinner

3 months ago
4/5

Service: The cruise was lovely as was the food. The wait staff were distracted and not attentive. We had three children and the drinks were adult size glasses- which ended up being spilt. We had ask if there was a children’s meal which is odd given the booking request asking for details of ages.
Product: This is a great Sydney experience

Review for Sunset Dinner

4 months ago
2/5

Service: The staff were fantastic. Did not enjoy the meal offered but the wine went down well. The cruise seemed to go very quickly.
Product: Would rather have paid more for a longer relaxed cruise

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for the review of your experience of your Cruise. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests, so we’re disappointed that you felt this wasn’t to your standards on this occasion. Our Sunset Cruise operates for 1 hour and 30 minutes. If customers would prefer a longer duration of cruising, then we also offer a variety of dinner cruises that cruise for a duration of 2 hours and 30 mins, to 3 hours and 30 mins. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review for this is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

4 months ago
4/5

The service was good but please consider adding non-alcoholic beverages on the menu (aside from water).

Review for Sunset Dinner

4 months ago
5/5

Service: It was a fortieth birthday months in the planning. And the service was exactly what I had expected. I thank the crew of the Sydney 2000 on the 12th of December for their fine service and the efforts they had made in the restricted timing available to them, to make this the most occasion the most important person my life could have expected - or dreamed of!
Product: Departure was prompt and the meal service well rehearsed in such a way that one would not say it was rushed. Timing was very well orchestrated.

Review for Sunset Dinner

4 months ago
4/5

Service: The staff were friendly and made sure we were well catered for in drink plus the food. With asking for a window seat we were able to enjoy the view of the harbour without moving away from our seats.
Product: Food was good and we were given a choice with our mains and dessert !

Review for Sunset Dinner

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Absolutely fantastic cruise. Topped off our wonderful Australian experience. The food and service was excellent.
Product: Great value for the money and experience.

Review for Sunset Dinner

5 months ago
5/5

We had a wonderful night. The service was exceptional.

Review for Sunset Dinner

5 months ago
2/5

Service: Passable service. Slow to do refills, and slow to start.
Product: The food was okay, nothing bad, not great.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for the review of your experience of your Sunset Dinner Cruise. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests, so we’re disappointed that you felt this was not the case on this occasion. Sunset times are shown on our website as they do vary depending on the season and daylight saving times during summer each year. We can assure you that there is no limit to drinks served in conjunction with the responsible service of alcohol. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

5 months ago
4/5

The sunset cruise was wonderful, I found the portion sizes perfect, others may find the size too small.
Staff were friendly and efficient

Review for Sunset Dinner

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Amazing experience
Product: Good .........................

Review for Sunset Dinner

5 months ago
5/5

Service: The service provided by the crew was excellent. They were very attentive and friendly, and made our party feel welcome. The menu was delicious and everyone loved the food. We would definitely recommend Captain Cook Cruises.
Product: Great value for money, perfect amount of time, really nice ship.

Review for Sunset Dinner

5 months ago
5/5

즐거웠습니다.

Review for Sunset Dinner

5 months ago
2/5

Service: Overall we enjoyed celebrating our first year wedding anniversary aboard the sunset cruise. There were only a few minor details that detracted from the mark:
* having to pay additionally onboard for tea or coffee.
* the starters or mezze share platter was a bit dissappointing, and the size of the main dishes were a little underwhelming.
* our server was not very well presented. Their pants were dirty with handprints on the backside & their shirt wasn't pressed.

While we acknowledge these are not big issues, in the grand scheme of things, it's doing the little things well that make a difference.
Product: Overall we enjoyed celebrating our first year wedding anniversary aboard the sunset cruise. It was an enjoyable cruise & the scenery was spectacular, but the experience was tarnished by a few small details:
* having to pay additionally onboard for tea or coffee.
* the starters or mezze share platter was a bit dissappointing, and the size of the main dishes were a little underwhelming.
* our server was not very well presented. Their pants were dirty with handprints on the backside & their shirt wasn't pressed.

While we acknowledge these are not big issues, in the grand scheme of things, it's doing the little things well that make a difference.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for the review of your experience of your Sunset Dinner Cruise. The meze plate is designed to make the dining experience more efficient for our customers to enjoy the beautiful sunset over Sydney Harbour. Like all fine dining restaurants, tea and coffee are an additional extra and therefore payment is required for these luxuries. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review for this is very disappointing to receive. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
4/5

Really nice experience, great food and nicely mannered service. Service to our table could have been more frequent/faster to follow-up on water/drinks, extra bread, etc. We had to chase them down a bit for that. Other than that, it was very enjoyable.

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
5/5

Great experience. Good food. Very friendly staff

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was excelent
Product: excelent No complaints all good

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
2/5

Service: Der Service war nett, aber nichts Besonderes.
Product: Die Bootstour war schön, aber nicht aussergewöhnlich. Vom Sunset war noch nichts zu sehen, die Tour ging zu früh los und wir waren noch einige Zeit vor dem Sonnenuntergang zurück. Das Essen war ok, für so viele Gäste ist es natürlich auch schwierig.

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
5/5

Service: It was a very very nice dinner cruise, and a good price.
Product: The woman, although I apologize to her for not remembering her name, who helped us with the purchase was extremely knowledgeable and very pleasant,especially on such short notices for the dinner she had to arrange. Thank you very much.....

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
5/5

Service: We did the sunset cruise last Saturday. The price was very good and included drinks for the duration of the cruise. The food was excellent. The staff were very attentive and of course the view was magnificent.
Product: Excellent value and there was plenty to drink if you wanted it

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
4/5

I often take visitors to dine on the harbour. Service and food are good.

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Great experience and the cruise was a pleasant with excellent food and facilities, will definitely be coming back
Product: Excellent, catered for Gluten free diet

Review for Sunset Dinner

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Five class service. Wait staff very pleasant, cruise ship lovely - modern and clean, food was top class.
Product: First Class dinner cruise in Sydney Harbour.

Review for Sunset Dinner

7 months ago
5/5

Service: I have nothing but praise for the crew of the Sydney 2000. When we missed our sunset cruise departure by literally 20 seconds I was devastated. But we waited for its return to find out if there might be a chance of getting on the dinner cruise. The crew were fantastic. They couldn't do enough to help us. Luckily there were seats available, and we were very happy with where we were seated. The band was fantastic and the food was delicious. I was crying tears of joy I was so happy. You could not have made our 32nd wedding anniversary any better! Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
Product: The crew could not have been any more helpful. When we missed our booked sunset cruise, by about 20 seconds, and waved the Sydney 2000 off as it sailed away, I was devastated. But we knew the cruise would be back for a dinner cruise later that evening. So when it came back to the harbour we asked the crew if there was a chance we could pay the difference and join the dinner cruise, if there were seats available. Luckily there were seats. We had a great table, fantastic staff, delicious food, and the band was great! I was crying tears of joy because I was so happy. You could not have made our 32nd wedding anniversary any better. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Review for Sunset Dinner

7 months ago
5/5

Brilliant trip & fab time. Serving team brilliant, food really lovely & views from the boat terrific. An excellent way to catch up with friends on our visit to Australia

Review for Sunset Dinner

7 months ago
1/5

Booked private room on 15th September to celebrate my father's 60th birthday. The room is beautiful however service slack. I asked for some birthday candles to be set up on desert, but nothing happened. On boarding a staff was relaxing in the Sirius room claiming to be working on the cruise. He's to be asked a few times to leave to give us some privacy. Go somewhere else if you are after just the view, surely more than half a grand for 1.5 hours will get you done decent service and courtesy.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Sunset Dinner Cruise. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

7 months ago
5/5

a staff celebrated my friend's birthday. We were so moved. Thank you.

Review for Sunset Dinner

7 months ago
5/5

The food was great, the service was good and the view was on point!

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
5/5

Service: We enjoyed our cruise, excellent service and beautiful cruise around the harbour.
Product: excellent service and easy to purchase.

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
2/5

1時間半と全体の時間が短いため、食事、飲み物のサーブが忙しい感じでした。担当のサービスは、良い方でスパークリング、ワインと一杯のめました。食事は、チキン、サーモンの2択で連れとシェアしましたが想像通りの品質。美味しいとは言えませんが、こちらの物価考えるとフェアではないでしょうか?久しぶりの良い天気できれいな日没が見えましたが、その時に特に良い辺りで止まる等もないので海に落ちるような感じではありません。全体には、良いスタッフさんもいたのでまあまあでした

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

この度はキャプテンクッククルーズをご利用いただきまして、誠にありがとうございます。 料理をお出しするタイミングは、お客様がお食事と景色を十分にお楽しみいただけるように考慮されています。しかし短いクルーズ時間でも、お客さまにゆったりおくつろぎいただけるクルーズを提供できますようにサービスを改善していきたいと思います。また、お料理のお味も質を高め、オーストラリアならではの味を深くまで楽しんでいただけるよう、努力してまいります。 貴重なご意見誠にありがとうございました。

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
4/5

Great cruise. Meals were tasty and the service was excellent.

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
4/5

Service: The Harbor is beautiful at sunset, but the food could have been better.
Product: The food could have been better, and the cruise a little longer.

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
4/5

Service: The Synergy of this experience as was better than expected
Product: Dinner was well above average.

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Top customer service and great food. It was well worth it and such a scenic way to see the city!
Product: The food and service was great. Also the spectacular views around the harbour were amazing

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
4/5

Service was amazing, food was great and the view was perfect. Windows were not clean and this caused photos not to turn out great.

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
5/5

Service: The dinner cruise experience was very pleasing. The service was fast and efficient and the staff were very professional. The drinks and the food did not dissapoint.The view was awesome. Will go back.
Product: The visitor experience did not dissapoint.

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
5/5

Great service.

Review for Sunset Dinner

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Lovely views, food and service - thank you😀
Product: Worth every cent. Could be improved by providing brief narratives about key sights.

Review for Sunset Dinner

9 months ago
4/5

Bon service et beau voyage mais on a trouvé les plats pas assez copieux,l'entrée en particulier
De plus le départ etait un peu tardif par rapport au coucher du soleil

Review for Sunset Dinner

9 months ago
5/5

service was very good, and the food was exceptionally good as well

Review for Sunset Dinner

9 months ago
5/5

Service: EXCELLENT SERVICE AND EXPERIENCE
Product: EXCELLENT FOOD AND DRINKS

Review for Sunset Dinner

9 months ago
5/5

Service: The cruise and the service was amazing
Product: Dinner was delicious and service was great

Review for Sunset Dinner

9 months ago
5/5

Service: they treated everyone attentively,great service, smiley faces, good variety & well cooked meals.
Product: Good wine, very good food, great service, nothing more required.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Very good overall value and service. Food was very good and unlimited drinks a great value. We did the harbor 5 PM evening light show dinner and overall had a great time. Outstanding food would have resulted in 5 stars.
Product: Easy reservation online process and good value.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
2/5

Service: My husband and I went to the sunset dinner with captain cook cruise and the whole trip was quite enjoyable. Eventhough it's winter time, we did not really get to see sunset but we were lucky that the vivid sydney lights were on half way of the trip. It was really romantic for us as couple. There was only one thing that we weren't happy about, and it was when we asked the staff who was supervising our table if she could take a photo of me and my husband on my phone at least, and she said she would do it but never happened. Lastly, there was a photographer and he took a photo in every table except us.
Product: Departing time in winter time should be earlier than 5pm, to get the perfect view for sunset. Food was okay. The only disappointment was the staff member who was surpervising our table, we asked her nicely if she could take a photo of my partner and I for the reason that date was special to us. We patiently waited but every time she comes back she never give an effort to do it. But my husband and I enjoyed most of our time on the trip and its all that matters.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruise experience. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review for this is very disappointing to receive. Unfortunately, our photography is outsourced and we therefore do not have any direct control over this. However please be assured that we will forward your comments onto the relevant parties. We always try to provide friendly and efficient service, including meeting customer inquiries and requests. We apologise this was not the case on this occasion.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Loved the friendly staff and the meal was wonderful.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

It was the fantastic experience in my life. My wife and 3 kids had a never-to-be-forgotten day, bacause of the beautiful scenery and dinner. Thank you for giving us good memory.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Check in was easy to find, food and beverages were delicious. Staff were very friendly.
Product: Great value service. Very delicious food.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Very fridndly and professional services, great meal in a comfortable and very pleasant atmosphere.
Product: Purchased tickets online very easily, and very informative

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Was first rate service. The food was better than expected and we thoroughly enjoyed the Vivid light show from the harbour.
Product: The tapas was good and enjoyed the salmon. Dessert selection was good too.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: We could not fault our experience with Captain Cook cruise.
Product: Magnificent dinner cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
4/5

Service: The service and food were very good
Product: The sunset cruise was lovely, but we were disappointed that when I booked it was advertised as a Vivid Sunset dinner cruise and the Vivid Festival ended the day before.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
2/5

The cruise itself was fine and the staff were very pleasant. However, my food experience was disappointing. I had gone to the trouble of telephoning beforehand to explain that I am gluten and lactose intolerant, so was rather surprised when my bread was not gluten free. I pointed this out and was told they were baking gluten bread for me; this arrived at the same time as my main course which was rather too late, since they were clearing the entree by then! Incidentally the entree was the most inadequate mezze plate I have ever seen in my life (I used to live in Greece) and really doesn’t deserve that name.
My second frustration was the salmon which was very bland, and came with insufficient salsa. I could only eat half of it, and requested a takeaway container so I could give the rest to my cat. I was told this was against company policy. These days food wastage is widely frowned upon, so I really think it is time you reviewed this policy, to avoid bad press! I am sure that customers would be happy to sign a waiver if necessary. Finally, my dessert (orange chocolate pudding) was dry & tasteless; since there was no lactose free cream to moisten it, I could not eat it. Thank god the wine was drinkable!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Vivid Cruise. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of food options maintaining the highest standards of quality, so we apologise that this wasn’t the case on this occasion. We appreciate the comments about the food and the opportunity given to us to improve. Please be assured we have forwarded this onto our catering manager.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
4/5

Excellent meal and very efficient staff

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: From the moment we entered the wharf area, they were in control. So easy to get the ticket, board the ship and be seated. Excellent wait staff. Good food,fine wines and incredible views. So calm on the harbour. Great work folks!!!
Product: Excellent value. Really nice dinner and wines.

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

10 months ago
2/5

Service: Email to confirm booking confusing, too much information.
Food poor
3 stars for service on board by staff and the experience of seeing vivid from the boat.
Product: For the wonderful service from the staff on board and the opportunity to see vivid from the boat.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Sunset Dinner Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt the food and booking system of your cruise wasn’t to your standards. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager. We provide customers a range of options to book, including email, online, in-person at one of our ticket reservation offices or over the phone. We are always happy to assist in any way we can to make this process streamlined and easy for the customer. We agree that the great service and amazing views of the Vivid Sydney skyline make for an enjoyable experience.


Once again thank you for your feedback.


Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

10 months ago
5/5

場所も分かりやすく、乗船やテーブルへの案内も無駄なくスムーズ、食事も美味しかったし満足できました。

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: On a very rainy night, we thought our Vivid experience was going to be a wash out. However, the excellent service, great wine and amazing food absolutely made up for it all. In fact, we enjoyed viewing the slightly watery lights of our lovely city through the windows of a luxury vessel. Thank you Captain Cook Cruises for making our Vivid experience so special.
Product: The service was sensational, and the food was at least a 5 star experience, not to mention the nice wine.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
4/5

The food and service was really good. The whole event was well prepared. Would have been good if the cruise was 2 hours and not 1.5 hours which felt a little short.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: It was a wonderful experience - from the ease of booking on-line, the luxury of the cruise ship itself & then the staff who looked after us throughout the whole cruise.
I would definitely recommend Captain Cook Cruises.
Product: Excellent value & outstanding quality of service, food & drink.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: The whole Cruise was fantastic. Thanks you to everyone. Vivid Sydney coming alive at 6pm was amazing.
Product: Everything was great but the sun had already set when we left the dock

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: We had visitors from USA here for Vivid - what a perfect way for them to experience this and a beautiful sunset dinner cruise on the harbour at the same time. We all loved it.
Product: Fantastic way to spend an evening with friends. Excellent value especially with window seats.

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Professional and very customer focused.
Product: Value for money was exceptional.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: We enjoyed our Vivid dinner cruise so much last time we had to do it again with Captain Cook. This was our 2nd time for Vivid. The food was lovely and the service on board was great. I would recommend the MV Sydney 2000 to anyone. It rained but we stayed dry and enjoyed the views.
Product: Food was really good and service was great.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
1/5

Good Morning,

I have been misinformed about the service, while booking the 'Sunset Cruise'. The refreshments were pathetic, and unlike anything I was told they would be. To make up and give my guest a consolation price, I wasted more money, purchasing a second cruise, immediately following the Sunset Cruise - on the same boat.

As an example; please consider the behaviour of the waiter who foisted on us a second bottle of wine, with only a short time before the end of the 2nd cruise. I then had to argue with the stuff about sitting a few more minutes, finishing the drink while there were cleaning and cluttering around us.

In short, I feel cheated

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review about your Sunset Cruise experience. We strive to deliver the best food, drinks and service possible to our customers and we were disappointed to read that your experience was not up to your standards. Please be assured your comments have been forwarded to our hospitality manager. Our cruises are cleaned and prepared thoroughly to ensure customers enter our vessel to a fresh environment. Therefore, we encourage passengers to disembark at the allocated time.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Great service

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
4/5

Service: We have been three times previous and it has always been excellent. This time they didnt have a table ready for us. It is only a small thing, but the boat wasnt full. Great staff,
Product: No ones perfect, but it was pretty good value for money

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Good service.
Product: Overall we enjoyed the cruise. My only suggestion would be a more well presented meze platter. A few olives, artichoke hearts and sundried tomatoes was quite disappointing.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Sunset Dinner Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt the meze plate on your cruise wasn’t to your standards. We hope you would accept our apologies for not quite meeting your expectations in this regard but appreciate the opportunity given to us to improve. A copy of your review has been forwarded to our Catering Manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Very helpful and respectful of our needs.
Product: Great food, well presented and just enough choice.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

The service staff were great, the barman on duty Mark, was very helpful with choosing cocktails.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
2/5

Staff was really friendly... Food is alright... Tasty but a less amount of food served

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Sunset Dinner Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt the portion size on your cruise wasn’t to your standards. We believe our portion sizing to be equal to any contemporary dining establishment in Sydney. We apologise you felt this wasn’t the case. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering manager.


Once again thank you for your feedback.


Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Service was excellent, very friendly, view exceptional.
Product: excellent position, service great, very friendly

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Everything was spot on, their check in was smooth, boats are great, the welcome with a bigggg smile and ofcourse their hostesses are beautiful. We were served by a Brazilian girl and she was great.
Product: Tasty and apt for an individual. No complaints whatsoever

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
4/5

Service: The food was nice. Unfortunately we didn't get to pick where we wanted to sit.
Product: Overall a great experience!

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the cruise compared to last year's buffet cruise. This time we opted for an a la carte option, and it was fantastic. The food was surprisingly excellent, which is saying something for mass produced food (we had the salmon and was awesome and NOT overcooked). Our host Vivian was also a delight, and kept us on our toes with cheeky banter all night. Two bottles of wine on the table was enough for the three of us, with other drinks part of the included beverage package available from the bar.
We will do this again.
Product: We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the cruise compared to last year's buffet cruise. This time we opted for an a la carte option, and it was fantastic. The food was surprisingly excellent, which is saying something for mass produced food (we had the salmon and was awesome and NOT overcooked). Our host Vivian was also a delight, and kept us on our toes with cheeky banter all night. Two bottles of wine on the table was enough for the three of us, with other drinks part of the included beverage package available from the bar.
We will do this again.

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Was a good cruise. Only let down was that it’s a family friendly cruise that doesn’t offer kids options for dinner
Product: Cruise was good. You need to offer kids options though for dinner

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Everything about the cruise was great for us. We got what we asked for and were not disappointed especially co-inside with Vivid

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Booked a dinner cruise to see Vivid lights. Meal was delicious. Service fantastic. A very enjoyable cruise. Would recommend to everyone.
Product: Absolutely fantastic night. Dinner delicious. Service great.

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent service. Food was tasty.It was a perfect night.
Product: Excellent night with excellent service by all staff.

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

I like the cruise also the dinner all of the crew was nice and friendly I will do it again

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: It was excellent, the meals, wines and customer care. Actually I had two cruises with you, for my birth day 14/5/18,and vivid lights on 26//5/18.different days. Vivid lights dinner cruise was the best I have ever attended, the music was excellent ,Piano and Guitar player was excellent Thank you.

Kind regards,
Eva N
Product: Beautiful, though short. Exellent customer care

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: We really enjoyed our experience
Product: We really enjoyed our experience

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Booking was easy and the staff was friendly.
Product: Taking the harbor dinner cruise was a nice way to see the city. The staff was friendly and the food was good.

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Excellent service. Food was very good.

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Martin our waiter was very attentive and friendly.
Product: Great food, romantic dining experience

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Crew were lovely. Very happy and worked so hard. Food was amazing. Thank you for a perfect birthday cruise and meal
Product: Amazing view of the city. Lovely sunset over opera house and bridge

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
2/5

Staff service was great. Food was reasonable. However we paid $400 for 2 adults and 2 kids with window seats and value for money was nowhere near satisfactory. Due to the window tinting on the boat there was little quality view. We could and have have eaten at a top restaurant with a view of the harbour for similar money

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer, 


Thank you for your recent review of our Sunset Dinner Cruise. We were disappointed to read that you felt the views on your cruise wasn’t to your standards. Our window seating is an optional extra which our gives our customers an opportunity to have unobstructed views out of our vessel. The windows do have a light tinting to reduce glare from the sun during the day and bright lights during the night, however this should not impair viewing from within the vessel.


Once again thank you for your feedback. 


Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service  

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Great

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

11 months ago
2/5

クルーズはよかったです。中国人の団体客と別のフロアーだったので静かでした。ディナーがあまりおいしくなかったのでもう少し内容がよければ5つ星。

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

この度はキャプテンクッククルーズのダイニングクルーズをご利用いただき誠にありがとうございました。お食事に満足いただけなかったとのこと。より多くのお客様に満足していただけるよう改善を続けてまいります。貴重なご意見をありがとうございました。またのご利用を心よりお待ちしております。

Kind Regards,  
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

12 months ago
4/5

Service was great, staff were excellent

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of your Sunset Dinner Cruise. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the service on your cruise. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review for this is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too. Like all fine dining restaurants, tea and coffee are an additional extra. We have a fine selection of teas from T2 and Vittoria Coffee for our customers enjoyment. We agree that this excellent cruise is a great experience on Sydney’s brilliant harbour.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

12 months ago
5/5

We went end of April - the perfect timing for the sunset. It was pretty windy / choppy water but the boat was big enough to not notice much rocking. The wine was free and regularly topped up by cheerful staff. Last minute we asked if they had a candle as it was a birthday, and they provided a giant sparkling one - awesome!

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Awesome!
Product: Perfect night out... highly recommend!

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

12 months ago
4/5

Service: Great meal and service
Product: 2 hrs would be a grate time

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

12 months ago
5/5

Great ambiance, good food, excellent service and "Wow"-ing views. The staff on board made you feel welcome and lived up to the expectation of spending a special evening on board MV Sydney 2000.

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Service, food, comfort and sights were excellent - my overseas visitors, and even my son who's local, were very impressed with the whole experience! (I've done it several times before.)
Product: Excellent value - just right!

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Very nice cruise. Thank you
Product: Very nice cruise... Thank you!

Review for Sunset Dinner Cruise

View more reviews

Mothers Day in Sydney

Treat Mum to a relaxing Mothers Day on Sydney Harbour with High Tea Lunch or Dinner on Sunday 12th May from $49

Christmas Day Sydney

Cruise aboard MV Sydney 2000 for Christmas Day Lunch and leave the work to us - 2019 cruises on sale now

Discover Magnetic Island

Discover Magnetic Island, Far North Queensland. Ferries, accommodation and tours.

Discover Kangaroo Island

Discover Kangaroo Island, South Australia. Ferries, accommodation and tours.