Sydney to Hobart Picnic Cruise 10.30am

Boxing Day on Sydney Harbour is an iconic event. Bring your own picnic and enjoy complimentary morning tea and a glass of wine or beer as you experience the excitement of the yachts departing Sydney Harbour for Hobart.

Children Under 18 Years
Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

IMPORTANT

Responsible Service of Alcohol Policy

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Inclusions

  • Cruise aboard premier sightseeing vessels to the Heads
  • Includes sweet & savoury morning tea box, one free beer, wine or soft drink plus tea or coffee
  • Bring your own picnic lunch
  • Beverages are available for purchase (no BYO alcohol)
  • Commentary

Need to know

  • Boxing Day - Thursday 26 December 2019
  • $99 per person
  • Race start time 1.00pm
  • Special Event conditions
  • Download flyer
  • Credit Card Fraud Prevention
    - At check-in you will be required to present the credit card used to purchase your cruise online

Timetable

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6
Thursday 26 December 2019 Departs 10.30am. Return 2.00pm

Car Parking  Please check your date for road closures 

Find Us

YOUR SAY GOLD DINNER - Thank you for a wonderful dinner on Sydney 2000. We had a most memorable night celebrating our anniversary. David & Myriam

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

91 % approval from 22 responses

Date
Rating
7 months ago
4/5

Service: Beautiful day on the harbour - great to see the yachts up close and the start

Good information about what was happening and some sites of the harbour
Product: Easy to do for my first attempt of on-line

7 months ago
1/5

Service: We were ill for the few days prior to and on the day of this cruise and were therefore unable to attend the Boxing Day cruise. The 100% cancellation penalty without refund meant we were left with paying for a cruise we could not attend. We will never book with Captain Cook Cruises again due to this cancellation policy. And neither will many of our family and friends who find this outcome disgraceful for people who unfortunately and unexpectedly get ill. This is regardless of how much the cancellation policy is advertised to customers prior to them completing their booking.
Product: We were ill for the few days prior to and on the day of this cruise and were therefore unable to attend the Boxing Day cruise. The 100% cancellation penalty without refund meant we were left with paying for a cruise we could not attend. We will never book with Captain Cook Cruises again due to this cancellation policy. And neither will many of our family and friends who find this outcome disgraceful for people who unfortunately and unexpectedly get ill. This is regardless of how much the cancellation policy is advertised to customers prior to them completing their booking.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for the review of your experience of your Cruise. We have already corresponded via email, however thank you once again for your feedback regarding your experience. As you know, our special event cruises are extremely popular, however space is limited. Therefore, our policy is implemented to ensure that we have enough time to re-sell tickets for the cruise. We apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

7 months ago
5/5

Everything was great. Good & on time service. i would definitely support it.

7 months ago
4/5

Service: Good value a great day out .
Product: Good value a great day out.

7 months ago
5/5

An excellent day out. Have done several times and will do again.
Boarding is a little messy. No other constructive comments

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Great day and better than expected boat. Only negative was there was no order getting onto the boat. There needs to be an organised barrier so people can queue in an orderly fashion - especially if you have arrived early to ensure a good spot.
Product: As per previous comment on other page

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Very good value for money compared to other offerings. I was impressed by the way they didn't overcrowd the boat, which meant we were able to enjoy a high quality experience. And the captain did a great job of getting us 'front row seats' to the start of the Sydney to Hobart yacht race.
Product: Okay - some confusion on paypal side of things

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Service was surprisingly very attentive. Boat was full but not crowded. Snacks could have been better.
Product: Reasonable value for the money if purchased early.

7 months ago
5/5

The whole thing was great, very professional. Will definitely use Captain Cook Cruises again.

7 months ago
5/5

Service: great commentary,great position near the start line,but it would have been nice to follow the boats down the harbour a way.
Product: great commentary,clean and safe boat

7 months ago
5/5

Service: A really great experience and everyone in my family had a wonderful day. The service was excellent and we all commented on the fact the boat was not overcrowded, the staff were friendly and helpful and the morning tea was very good.
Product: Great value for money thank you

8 months ago
5/5

Service: A stunning day on the harbour for the Sydney to Hobart Race. Cruise staff were friendly and helpful as always and I'll be back on Dec 26 this year. Thank you for a wonderful day out!
Product: Extremely good value for such an amazing day on the harbour for the Sydney to Hobart Race.

8 months ago
2/5

Service: The skipper knew exactly where to park the boat for a great view of the start of he race. The commentator was informative and spoke clearly. However the directions by the jetty crew when boarding did not manage the visitors very well. There was nobody at the boarding gate to ensure those who arrived early had appropriately sequenced order of boarding.
Product: It was easy and efficient.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for the review of your experience of your Cruise. Our cruise offers live, personalised commentary providing insights from our highly experienced commentator. As you’re aware, finding the right balance between providing information, humour and interactions can be difficult as each customer has tastes and preferences, so we’re glad that enjoyed this aspect of your cruise. We always endeavour to provide a safe and fair boarding process at all times for our special event cruises. We sincerely apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion. Please be assured your feedback will be forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

8 months ago
4/5

Great, friendly, staff...Boxing Day cruise was fantastic.

8 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent service
I would prefer a more savoury morning tea thanks
Product: Not crowded Able to see the boats and harbour
Staff very good - patient and generous in manner

8 months ago
4/5

Service: The cruise time was prompt. Viewing platform and windows were excellent.
Windows were clean and spotless.
Boarding was a bit chaotic. Mad rush and surge.
Bar service was quick.
Product: Great position for start of race. Better than previous experience with another cruise
I think the boat got boxed in and could not move to chase the fleet as it left.
A bit disappointing.

8 months ago
5/5

Service: ferry was on start line
starf very helpful
Product: fery on start line
starf very help full

8 months ago
4/5

Service: Not overcrowded, food and drinks good. Good position for the race, clear visibility
Product: Good value and service. Boarding was chaotic

8 months ago
5/5

Service: The Picnic Sydney to Hobart yacht race cruise was excellent. There was ample space to set up and leave picnic supplies as well as view the race from the top deck.
The staff were very accommodating and extremely helpful.
Product: As mentioned above in first question

8 months ago
5/5

I had an amazing experience with Captain Cook Cruises as I was planning to see Sydney to Hobart Race for a while and then on the race day I had to see a dentist due to an emergency. I have missed the boat for a couple of minutes but their lovely staff have offered me another cruise departing half an hour later and due to my emergency they haven’t charged me any extra. A guide on the tour gave us a lots of interesting information about the race in general and favourites. Not to mention that the race leaving Harbour was fantastic, full of adrenaline!

View more reviews

Melbourne Cup Lunch

Celebrate the race that stops a nation aboard this special Sydney Harbour Lunch Cruise. Book now from AU$119

Discover Magnetic Island

Discover Magnetic Island, Far North Queensland. Ferries, accommodation and tours.

Sydney Hop On Hop Off

Visit up to eight famous harbour attractions over 2 days. Great value from only AU$50

Cruise Deals

Book now and save over 30% on a great range of Sydney Harbour Dining and Sightseeing Cruises.