Whale Watching Afternoon

Inclusions

  • Afternoon Whale Watching Cruise operates daily
  • Morning cruise operates Sat-Sun
  • See Humpbacks & the occasional Southern Right whale during migration
  • Open water cruise through the entrance of Sydney Harbour aboard an ocean catamaran with open-air & all-weather lounge viewing
  • Whale Sighting Guaranteed or cruise again for FREE* (see more info for details)
  • 2hr 45min cruise with commentary

Need to know

Timetable

Departs 20 May - 01 Nov 2017 Circular Quay Wharf No.6
Afternoon Cruise departs daily Depart 1.30pm, return approx. 4.15pm
Morning Cruise departs Sat-Sun Depart 10.15am, return approx. 1.00pm

Find Us

Whale Watching Afternoon thumbnail

Afternoon cruises operate daily, while morning cruises depart on weekends only. What an amazing year for whale watchers so far! Humpback sightings have continued to increase every year and these amazing mammals just love to show off with tail slapping, breaches, and even a close up wink when they are feeling extra curious. Don't miss this extraordinary opportunity to experience the gentle giants of the sea on their annual migration. More Info ...

Whale Watching Cruises 2018
- Details coming soon ...

The whale species you are most likely to see along the New South Wales Coastline are

*Humpback Whale
*Southern Right Whale

Throughout June and July Humpback Whales head north for breading before return south with their calves from September to November.

Other whale species you may see include:

  • Minke Whale
  • Blue Whale
  • Sei Whale
  • Fin Whale
  • False Killer Whale
  • Orca or Killer Whale
  • Sperm Whale
  • Pygmy Right Whale
  • Pygmy Sperm Whale
  • Bryde’s Whale

Whales are highly social and intelligent mammals that have graced our oceans for our fifty million years.  They breath air, give birth to live young and suckle their calves through mammary glands.  Their streamlined bodies are insulated from the cold by thick layers of blubber. The largest species of whales were hunted almost to extinction and have survived only thanks to conservation and protection efforts. There are 86 recognised whale species. The largest animal on earth is the gigantic blue whale.  

Whales can travel immense distances to meet their food, mating and calving needs. Many make annual migrations from cold to warm climates for calving.

The Whales close cousin, the dolphin is second only to humans in intelligence. The degree of intelligence of whales and porpoises is still to be determined however, their sophisticated behaviour and ability to learn suggest they have a capacity for complex thinking.

Typical whale behaviour includes: Breaching, Spy Hop, Pectoral Fin Extension, Tail Slapping, Peduncle Slap, Tail Cocking, Tail Slash and Tail Swish, Pectoral Stroking and Pec Slapping all of which are explained on our About Whales - Whale Watching Guide.

What to bring
This is an open water cruise and you will experience sea motion. We recommend you eat lightly before and during the cruise. Travel sickness tablets are generally most effective if taken prior to the cruise. Please dress according to the weather - it will often feel colder at sea. Smoking is not permitted onboard.

Selection of soft drinks and snacks available for purchase on board, subject to change.

Whale Guarantee
We have a 95%+ success rate. The Whale Guarantee applies when a whale is not sighted during your cruise. Cruise again in the same season for free on Standby Basis confirmed 24 hours prior, subject to availability.

This Week's Predicted Comfort Levels & Weather
Waves, swell, winds & visibility can be very different outside the Harbour. 

Passengers must complete a Contact Information form prior to cruising in case of emergency - submit online or download the form here & return by email to [email protected] after you have made your booking.

Daily Whale Sightings

Whale Images

Reconfirmation & Cancellation
As this is an open water cruise, names of all passengers and their individual contact details are required for each passenger. Cruises are subject to cancellation due to weather & other operational requirements. Please ring (02) 8062 3623 from 7.15am on the day of your cruise for the latest information. If your cruise is cancelled by us passengers may (1) rebook another afternoon Captain Cook Whale Watching Cruise in the same season or (2) seek a refund from the original place of purchase or (3) a credit can be made with Captain Cook Cruises towards another cruise within 12 months of original date of travel. If purchased through an agent, please refer to the agent’s terms &conditions. 

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

Other Options

Whale Watching Morning

Morning cruises operate Saturday and Sunday, while afternoon cruises depart daily. This has been an amazing season so far! Humpback sightings have continued to increase every year and these amazing mammals just love to show off with breaches, tail slapping and even a close up wink when they are feeling extra curious. Don't miss this extraordinary opportunity to see the gentle giants of the sea on their annual migration. More Info ...

Whale Watching Cruises 2018
- Details coming soon ...

More Info

Taronga Zoo & Whale Watching Cruise

Combine two amazing Sydney experiences with this cruise & attraction package. Cruise to Taronga Zoo aboard a Rocket Ferry, spend the morning exploring Taronga Zoo, then venture outside Sydney Harbour for an afternoon Whale Watching cruise during the annual migration. More Info ...

Whale Watching Cruises 2018
- Details coming soon ...

More Info

About Whales

Whales have graced the planet for over 50 million years and are present in all oceans of the world. The largest species of whales were hunted almost to extinction. Often referred to as the gentle giants of the sea, they capture our fascination like few other animals. More Info ...

More Info

Availability & Price Calendar - Legend

Rack Rate Special Offer Agent Only Nett

 

 

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

80 % approval from 101 responses

Date
Rating
2 weeks ago
5/5

Very good experience!

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Excellent service and very informative

Product: Great Service and very informative

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Mark Prior,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you that you had a great day aboard our Whale Watching Afternoon Cruise. We’re pleased that the service was of your standard and that our staff were very informative. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

2 weeks ago
4/5

Service: On time, very informative, would recommend to others

Product: Good value for money, easy booking process, all information clear

3 weeks ago
3/5

Service: Its pricy and I was expecting to see more whales and also closer. And if the customer experience was not satisfying I would expect captain cook to reduce price or provide a complimentary ticket for another day. I understand whale watching depends on the day however seeing whales quite far away from the cruises was not that satisfying. We travelled a group of 8 and were not satisfied with the experience considering we spent 400 $ for the experience.

Product: Captain Cook could add more value for money.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Riyaz Thottakurichi,

Thank you for the review of your Whale Watching cruise with us. We are disappointed to read that you found we did not meet your expectations. As mentioned, we have no control over these beautiful mammals as they are in their natural habitat, however our crew is well-trained and experienced and that is why we have a 95%+ whales sighting success rate. According marine rules we must not get closer than 100 metres from a whale.Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: The boat was comfortable , the crew competent, the commentary interesting, and we saw several whales as well a fur seals. A pleasant afternoon on the water

Product: The boat was comfortable, the crew competent, the commentary interesting and we saw several whales as well as fur seals. A pleasant afternoon on the water.

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Great company to tour with to get the very most out of the experience. Highly recommend any of the tours

Product: Very knowledgeable crew. Made the experience so much better.

4 weeks ago
4/5

Service: Lunch cruise was very good. Whale watching was great

Product: Whale watching was great!

1 month ago
5/5

Excellent trip on a good stable boat. Very capable skipper.

Good and very informative commentary.

Whales for a good hour or more. The whole trip weas fantastic.

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Ottimo servizio. Soprattutto per la escursione whale watching, il comandante ci ha dato la possibilità di avere e seguire molti avvistamenti. Ed è stata una delle ultime a rientrare in porto.

Product: Attenzione e dedizione al cliente

1 month ago
4/5

Service: It was our 1st visit to Sydney and we were very excited over the trip. Sadly we didn't get to see much of the whale (it was far and we saw a tiny bit of their tail before it dives in). Will be good if the crew can let us know much earlier on where to sit ("calmer seats"). Overall the experience was good and the crew were friendly. Impressed that the lady can steadily walk around passing out bags!

Product: We didn't get to see much whales...that can't be helped.

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Wir hatten einen augestellten Reiseführer,welcher jede Frage beantwortet hat.

Product: Preis in Ordnung, würde diese Tour nochmals buchen

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Delivered on the promise of an exciting whale watching tour

Product: Saw many whales including a mother and calf. It was fantastic

1 month ago
5/5

Service: All in all a great afternoon , plenty of whales and even the white whale was seen 😀😀😀

Product: Great afternoon plenty of whales

1 month ago
5/5

Service: great experience ever.

Product: great experuence ever, excellent

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Very well orchestrated lunch cruise. Food was excellent & staff amazing!!

Product: Cruise was fine. Was not prepared for the other passengers walking around with vomit bags. Not much in the way of whale watching, but again, circumstances were out of the control of the captain & staff.

1 month ago
5/5

Well planned cruise with good facilities

1 month ago
5/5

The commentary was great. The crew were friendly.

1 month ago
5/5

Awesome Commentary, Patient Captain, Breath-Taking view

1 month ago
5/5

很棒的遊輪晚餐和賞鯨體驗,相當值得!!

2 months ago
1/5

I wait in 2 queue to enter boot in circular key to be told to go to next queue.

2 months ago
3/5

AMAZING EXPERIENCE and you need to do this ! it was on my bucket list for a long time and I am so glad I did it !!! Make sure you are ok out in the open ocean :)

2 months ago
5/5

We saw wheels - lots of them!

Staff were also friendly and informative and was an o time departure

2 months ago
1/5

Service: No one has warned us about the sea-sick extreme experience. Only in board when they delivered vomit bags to all.

As a medical doctor I think it was an unreasonable and unresponsible experience. Old people where vomiting and crying.

Shame!!!

Product: My wife didn’t came due to my daughter was sick. No cancellation offer.

2 months ago
5/5

excellent

2 months ago
4/5

Nice Trip~

2 months ago
5/5

有全程英语的介绍,看到鲸鱼是会清晰的告知鲸鱼的方向,不错的一次感受,海上风浪特别大,我晕船了

2 months ago
5/5

They were so skilled at spotting the waves and accurately directing our attention to them!! :) Amazing! Thanks so so much!

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The organizers and tour guides are professionals, they are very passionate and know a lot about whales and sea life.

Product: It was a great experience, with a little luck. The organizers and tour guides are professionals. We have seen many whales, 8 or 10 maybe.

Advise for future guests: be better prepared for seasickness (medicine, best practices). But this shouldn't hold you back from participating to this tour.

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The Captain and crew were first class.Your presenter ,Lisa, was absolutely brilliant , and thoroughly charming. I told her she should write a book !

Roderick Ramsay.

Product: Obvious !You are now pushing too hard !

2 months ago
4/5

The captain and crew ensured we got the most out of the experience by following the whales and describing their behaviour very well.

2 months ago
5/5

Service: ホエールウオッチングのツァーに参加しました。

最初は、本当に見れるか不安でしたが、クルーの活躍により、複数のクジラを見ることができました。

圧巻は、2頭のクジラが並んで、船に近づき、船下を通って、反対側に出たことです。

今までに経験した事がない体験が出来ました。

Product: ホエールウオッチングのツァーに参加しました。

最初は、本当に見れるか不安でしたが、クルーの活躍により、複数のクジラを見ることができました。

圧巻は、2頭のクジラが並んで、船に近づき、船下を通って、反対側に出たことです。

今までに経験した事がない体験が出来ました。

2 months ago
4/5

The only draw back to the trip was limited outdoor space from which to photograph. Had there been a full boat, many would not have been able to take photos not behind glass. They did open up the bow area.

2 months ago
5/5

Really enjoyable and informative

2 months ago
1/5

It was a disaster. The boat rocked very strong, because there was a strong wind. We were all seasick on the boat. I think you should have cancelled the trip or go back earlier. Now my boyfriend stays at home already 2 next days and he went to see a doctor. Such a bad experience will never go back again!!! :(

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi Oxana,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We’re so sorry to hear you were not happy with your Whale Watching Cruise.We usually get really good feedback so we definitely want to make sure everyone keeps having a great time on our cruises. The safety and well-being of our guests are our main priority and with an open water cruise you can be exposed to the rough and windy conditions. Please note that we only operate when it is safe to do so and our we take great care that everyone is safe on board.As you can appreciate we are unable to control conditions, but we do make great effort to ensure our guests know what to expect cruising outside Sydney Heads. Our website even has a comfort indicator which provides our best estimate on daily conditions. 

Again, thank you for giving us feedback, we really appreciate it and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day.

2 months ago
4/5

When we got to Wharf 6 there was no one to tell us where to wait and a lot of people were asking the other whale watching people where we should be and some of them were quite rude to us.A lady in a Captain Cook uniform was waiting to join the cruise and she kindly told us where to wait, but a sign with your logo on it would be a good start and save a lot of confusion. Unfortunately the waves were very large on the day we went so we opted to get off early when we had to pull into Manly for another passenger who needed the Ambulance.

2 months ago
4/5

Very considerate, informative and professional. We were cautioned prior to departure about the big swells and given the opportunity to reschedule. They dealt professionally and compassionately with a medical incident. I would recommend this trip.

2 months ago
4/5

bello ma speravo di vedere qualcosa di più

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The boat was clean and comfortable. The commentery was excellent and I highly recommend the young lady who did the commentary for us. It was obvious that she was intelligent, passionate about her work with the Cetaceans at the zoo and enjoyed sharing her knowledge. I would come back just for her commentary.

Product: excellent commentary and the whales were there!

2 months ago
3/5

Non ho visto i delfini, però bello

2 months ago
1/5

You really should cancel the cruise next time, when the sea is so rough like it was on sunday!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi,

Thanks for your feedback - we had a look at the Report for the Whale Watching Cruise on the 10th. We definitely cancel cruises if it's unsafe - as safety is our biggest priority. On the 10th it wasn't cancelled as it was deemed safe and we can see you saw a Humpback on the cruise. We do acknowledge that on the 10th there was excessive swell, and while we cannot control the weather at all times, hopefully seeing a beautiful humpback made up for it. 

Thank you again.


Kind Regards,
Captain Cook Team 

2 months ago
4/5

Service: The CCC Team is very experience and knowledgeable. Great expedition with them where they located a group of whale within 30 minutes after leaving the wharf. The MC was jovial and he shared with us a lot of information along the journey. The whale watching was wonderful and the Team is able to stay with the whales for more than a hour.

Product: The Customer Service Team did a great job, responsive and transaction was done smoothly even though changes to the date of the event was made at eleventh hour. Kudos and keep up the good work!

2 months ago
5/5

Service: 非常好!只需要去換實體票就可以了,而且碼頭門口就有人站在那裡,直接給他看就可以了。而且confirm的時間也非常短很快就可以了!保證能看到鯨魚,而且那個船長說話風趣幽默,他會指出鯨魚在哪裡。極力推薦去

Product: 非常好!而且非常快!絕對適合提前買,而且比市價便宜很多!

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Tour fantastico, quasi subito dopo essere usciti dal porto abbiamo visto 3 balene! Per tutta la durata del tour le abbiamo affiancate, è stata un'esperienza bellissima. Lo staff è gentile e disponibile, inoltre sono molto simpatici.

Tornando al porto si sono avvicinati alla scogliera per farci vedere un gruppo di foche!

Product: Bravissimi. Tour perfetto.

2 months ago
5/5

Great guide clean comfortable boat and good value for money

2 months ago
5/5

Service: The whale cruise was excellent the tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining and we had a great time ! If anything I would say that the girls at the office need to be more proactive and be more willing to share information irrespective of the race of the tourist

Product: Experience at the bookIng office very cold Reception not very proactive

3 months ago
4/5

Service: すばらしい。ガイドの方の鯨やその他の海の生き物についての専門知識が豊富で大変勉強になりました。

Product: ガイドの方の専門知識の豊富さとプロフェッショナリズム

3 months ago
4/5

Service: It was not special experience. We could see whales far distance. But you need to be once in your life.

Product: In boarding zone no crews were there so we were difficult to know redeem our online booking to real tickets

3 months ago
5/5

Online booking process was very simple, the cruise very nice and very interesting

3 months ago
5/5

Service: 期待以上でした。今回はホエールウォッチングに参加しましたが、他のクルーズにも参加してみたいと思います。

Product: 何度もクジラを見ることが出来、ほんとにまじかで見れました。

3 months ago
5/5

What a great experience!

The crew was so excited to share their love of the sea and all creatures in it! Their delight and exuberance at spotting and watching the whales was contagious. Very knowledgeable and fun to listen to. The whales were magnificent! Playful and interactive. I'm so glad we booked with them!

3 months ago
2/5

Service: I was disappointed with the trip getting cut short due to 1/2 of the boat getting sea sick. The trip was advertised to be three hours long. After only seeing one whale 1.5 hours into the trip, the boat immediately turned around. Additionally, it was difficult for those passengers who were not sea sick to have a clear view of the whale due to sea sick passengers at the outside railings. There should be a designated area for sea sick passengers so that they do not ruin an experience for other passengers.

Customer service representatives refused to give any sort of a refund because they satisfied one portion of the trip by seeing "a" whale.

Product: See previous section for additional details.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi Elizabeth,

So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our Whale Watching Cruise.
We have had some very rough weather in Sydney recently and unfortunately we can't control the weather. It's very unfortunate that our guests were sea sick. The safety and well-being of our guests are our main priority, especially if they need immediate medical care. We want to treat all of our guests with compassion and care.


Again, we're sorry you did not enjoy our Whale Watching Cruise as it's a special favourite for many of our customers. If there's anything else I could help you with, please feel free to get in contact with us. 


Thank you for writing in your review, we appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Customer Service Team 




 

3 months ago
5/5

Very good. Had a great time :-)

3 months ago
3/5

Lovely customer service. It was the perfect day for whale watching, sunny, not too windy. However, the sound was terrible on the boat, we couldn't hear the comments. We also think that the boat wasn't really suitable. If you're not sitting upstairs on the sides, it's hard to see the whales.

3 months ago
4/5

Service: Its was a wonderful experience... easy to talk to and easy to buy tickets. Would be better if the guy in a british captain uniform could take photos with

Product: the ship waited a while in search of whales. although only we saw just the back of the whales, it was really cool

3 months ago
3/5

The service is perfect. The crew was very kind. We saw whales but they were quite far (100meters) so the maximum we saw: whale backs. I guess that is the maximum possibility.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Hi,


Thank you so much for leaving us such a glowing review.

Glad you enjoyed the service!

Regards,
Customer Service Team 

3 months ago
5/5

The information session delivered right thru was really good

3 months ago
5/5

Excellent cruise!

if you are in Sydney and have some free time, don't hesitate to go for whales cruise.

Great fun either for kids or adults. you can breath fresh sea air and learn something about nature. I strongly reccomend this tour.

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Comfortable ship. Good commentary and explanations. Good value for money.

Product: Excellent communication with customers. Comfortable seating

3 months ago
5/5

Awesome whale watching cruise. We saw so many whales and everything was so professional. The cruise was knowledgeable and we spent 4 awesome hours

3 months ago
3/5

Service: Good

Product: Enjoyable trip nice weather

3 months ago
3/5

The staff on the cruise were very pleasant but, unfortunately , the whales were not very cooperative on this day.

3 months ago
4/5

Service: It was a great trip seeing the common dolphins and humpback whales. The staff were great and very helpful. It would be nice to have been a bit closer to the whales however it is understandable that it is for their safety.

Only the weather made it a bit difficult but that was no error of the cruise.

Product: Great cruise considering the weather

3 months ago
5/5

Very nice experience

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Trip was expertly managed, well run and would happily recommend them

Product: A well run trip, safe travel and great experience

4 months ago
5/5

I didn't expect to see whales breaching on this wonderful cruise.

4 months ago
4/5

Service: The crew did a good job explaining everything, lots of information on the animals and made us feel safe

They didn't take long to find whales either

Product: I would recommend this trip

4 months ago
2/5

Service: I found it nothing special I have done one before and it was a lot nicer cruise I went on. The staff was very good but I would not do one again .

Product: I did not find it anything special as I been on one before and it was a very nice trip I don't think I will do one again .

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your review of the Whale Watching Afternoon Cruise with us on Sydney. Our crew report on the day shows that whales were sighted immediately after leaving Sydney Harbour and whales were breaching and a pod of dolphins were also encountered  We appreciate your comments on our staff, we do strive to provide the best customer service from booking all the way to the end product.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to not have met your expectations.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Todo fue perfecto , en especial las vistas y el confort del barco.

Lo recomendaría.

It was an unforgettable experience that I recommend.

I miss that among the language of the website there is not Spanish with 1000 million people who speak it in the world. It is just a suggestion.

Ahhh! The first to see Australia was the spaniard Luis Váez de Torres, It wasnt Captain Cook.

Dont forget it.

Kind Regards

Product: Todo fue perfecto , en especial las vistas y el confort del barco.

Lo recomendaría.

It was an unforgettable experience that I recommend.

I miss that among the language of the website there is not Spanish with 1000 million people who speak it in the world. It is just a suggestion.

Ahhh! The first to see Australia was the spaniard Luis Váez de Torres, It wasnt Captain Cook.

Dont forget it.

Kind Regards

4 months ago
5/5

we got to see 6 whale breeches. Amazing mind bending life changing experience. Apparently very rare to see. We were very happy.

4 months ago
5/5

Service: very patient and informative guide. i would recommend and buy their services again.

Product: imformative and great staff who pa attention to detail.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Roselyn, 

Thank you for your review of the Whale Watching cruise with us on Sydney. We are pleased to know that you would recommend us and that you found our staff pleasant and attentive. We hope to see you again on one of our cruises.

Once again thank you or your review and your recommendation, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
4/5

Great cruise. Saw heaps of whales. The crew was very good.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of the Whale Watching with us on Sydney. We are delighted to read that you would recommend us and that the crew was friendly and attentive towards you. 

Once again thank you or your review and your recommendation, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
4/5

Service: Clean boat, good commentary

Product: The relatively small viewing side areas restricted acces as there were quite a few on the boat

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer, 

Thank you for your review of the Whale Watching Cruise with us. We are pleased to read that the boat met your expectations and that you found the commentary interesting. We understand that the areas provided are restricted when full, but our boats must correspond to the Marina regulations.

Once again thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
4/5

Service: A perfect day on the water! Calm and sunny. Humpback whales lazily active - no breaching, sadly. Friendly staff. Not crowded. Most enjoyable family outing. Could have cleaned windows on upper deck, my only complaint.

Product: Easy to navigate to website online in response to email. Ordering a cinch. Check in went smoothly - friendly, helpful lady at the desk.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer, 

Thank you for your review for your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are very pleased to read that you had an exciting time onboard with us and that our staff were attentive and friendly towards you. As you know we strive to provide the best customer service from booking all the way to the end product. 

Once again thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
2/5

Service: I booked the cruise at good price but had to cancel this morning of the event as my husband fell it.. I left a message to this affect and didn't even get a call back from anyone.

Product: It too a very long time for someone to come back and make contact with me,

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Jan Clark,

Thank you for your review with us on Sydney Harbour. We were disappointed to read that you were unable to contract us and we have made a note in your booking that if you wish to re-book you are able to do with the appropriate booking fare difference. Please contact our reservations team.

Once again thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
3/5

Service: A good cruise but the boat had limited outdoor space which meant you were competing to get by a rail to see the whales. The Captain Cook whale watching cruise that left 15 minutes earlier was in a much better boat (like the one in their advertising)..

Product: Even when you pay and book online for a whale watching cruise you still have to queue at Circular Quay to then get a ticket.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the cruise and that the sighting was not as you expected. The vessel used on these cruises follow all the Marine regulations and was ‘Maggie Cat’ which is the same as the one used in all our promotional pictures. The boat that departed prior was our usual Hop On Hop Off service. Check-in is necessary for this cruise as we are legally required to ensure that passengers have filled the emergency contact form.

Once again thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
5/5

On Saturday we enjoyed an afternoon Whale watching cruise. Everyone was very professional & informative. I recommend Captain Cook Cruises. I will definitely be using this company again.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching Afternoon Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are delighted to read that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you on board again.

Thank you for your review and recommendation, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
4/5

Boat could have more outside areas for whale watching like other whale watching boats

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were disappointed to read that we did not reach your expectations as the vessel used has ample outside areas and has a capacity of 200 passengers and we only board 120 on our whale watching cruises .

Once again thank you for your review, and we are sorry we did meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

4 months ago
4/5

Service: Good value. Informative commentary.

Product: Enjoyable cruise. Good commentary.

4 months ago
5/5

Service: Made every effort to find whales to view, boat was clean and comfortable and an excellent commentary on the whales and other sightings dolphins and sea birds

Product: Booking was very easy online

4 months ago
4/5

Service: After we tracked some pods down we had about 20+ sightings with a number of breaches. There were many encounters close to our boat (50-100mtrs)

Product: A great day but might have been better with a better kiosk

5 months ago
4/5

Service: Would by again. Flat ocean made it difficult for the whales to want to breach, but the commentary was good,

Did not hear if tea or coffee was available which would have been a nice touch.

thanks for the experience.

Product: Calm ocean, pleasant time. tea, Coffee or water would have been good.

5 months ago
4/5

its good

5 months ago
5/5

Service: The whole crew was so helpful, it was not just whale watching, but more informative about the characteristics of humpback whale, sperm whale and the cruise ride was a roller coaster! (The crew had indeed informed us well upfront about the rough tides in the ocean even before we had started and we wanted to experience those rough tides! :-))

Would strongly recommend!

Product: Value for money and worth every penny!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Prasenna and Swetha,

Thank you for your review of your Whale Watching Cruise with us on Sydney waters. We are delighted to read that our crew was helpful and attentive and that you found our commentary informative and educational. Being on the open water is the best way to view these fascinating mammals.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

5 months ago
5/5

Service: Ich kann diese Fahrt nur bestens empfehlen.

Die Crew ist mega freundlich, hilfsbereit und bestens gelaunt.

Was mir am Besten gefallen hat war, dass der Captain länger auf See blieb als alle anderen, da wir erst sehr spät Wale entdecken. Er hat uns dankenswerterweise genug Zeit gelassen, diesen doch sehr seltenen Moment mit unseren Kameras und Smartphones festzuhalten.

Die Mannschaft ist super bemüht, kann aber gegen Seekrankheit kann auch sie nichts ausrichten.

Bitte lest euch Ratschläge durch, um zu vermeiden, dass ihr nur über einem Beutel hängt..... man ist immerhin auf einem Ozean....

Herzlichen Dank an die Crew

Martina

Product: Wie zuvor beschrieben war es ein unvergesslicher Moment....

5 months ago
5/5

Fun cruise and well organized

5 months ago
4/5

Service: the whole experience was first class

Product: very informotive and good value

5 months ago
2/5

Service: I took the time to fill in the Emergency Contact form online for my 2 bookings for 6 adults and 3 children, but on the day of collecting the boarding tickets from your booth, your staff said she could not find my completed online form and made me do a handwritten one on the spot. Why should that happen? I even received an email acknowledgement thanking me for filling in the online form - I just didn't think to print that out!

Product: Half of my passengers vomited, some of them a few times. Yes, we understand there's nothing anyone can do about the weather/tides but after the cruise we spoke with some other fellow passengers who were NOT sea sick during the cruise, and most admitted that the catamaran was too small for the open sea, and this was made worse by the waves. Well, while the waves are beyond anyone's control, at least with that forecast in mind, Captain Cook should have considered a bigger vessel. So busy vomiting and sitting very still in the open deck that most of us just couldn't even think about watching the whales (though from the commentator's speech we know he found a few).

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Cindy,

Thank you for your recent review of our Whale Watching PM Cruise on Sydney Harbour. We were very disappointed to read that we did not reach your expectations as we often receive good feedback on that cruise. Safety is our primary concern and we apologise that we were unable to locate your completed form and therefore you were requested to fill another one on check-in. All our whale watching vessels are licensed to operate in open-water and the vessel you were on has operated our whale cruises for a number of seasons and we do remind all our clients that these are open-water cruises and that sea sickness may happen and to take pre-cautions to prevent or minimise this possibility.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Services
Captain Cook Cruises

5 months ago
5/5

Service: 开始看到了几条鲸鱼,后来吐的已经没力气看了,如果你没有seasick的问题的话尽管来看好了:)

Product: 观鲸的经历很难得,值得去一趟,一定要提前备好seasick的药,一定

5 months ago
4/5

Service: Service great Commentary great Weather turned poor hard to view any whale movements through the windows Needed WIPERS

Product: commentary great .weather turned poor visibility through windows poor need wipers

5 months ago
5/5

convenient with good service !!

5 months ago
5/5

Prepared staff, interesting and organized cruises.

I can't imagine a better way to visit Sydney Harbor

5 months ago
4/5

Service: Commentary was really throughout the whole whale watching. Several whales were seen but waters was quite choppy in big sea.

Product: Smooth purchase but slight hiccup on submitting details. I have sent it online but not captured on system.

5 months ago
3/5

Service: The staff in the night were exceptional- very friendly and quick with the food. Our waitress overheard that it was my mothers birthday and made the night extra special. The music was also lovely. Getting a drink was a little difficult as the staff were so busy serving food. Overall the night would have been a 4/5. The reason I rated a 3 is the online booking staff member. I sent an enquiry regarding a non alcoholic package for the designated driver and a few other questions regarding view and children packages. We went back and forth a few times but I felt the responses were very generic and I did not feel I was listened too. It felt like a generic computer response. The only reason I decided to give you a go was a previous experience with your company otherwise I would have went else where based on that experience. I hope this feedback helps.

Product: Staff were wonderful- informative and very caring (one of my party was not well). We saw lots of whales and I felt my comfort and experience was the crews main priority. Thank you.

My only suggestion would be to include an afternoon tea service (even for an extra few dolllars). There were a few other companies that do this.

5 months ago
4/5

Service: On time and good services

Product: First experience watching whales during cruise. It's worthy!

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Friendly, knowledgeable crew. The boat was clean and the trip was punctual and just the right length of time

Product: As already stated above. Same feedback

6 months ago
5/5

Service: we thought that he hole whalewatchig experince was great the comentry was excellent and the crew were helpful at all times

Product: day all together was excellent comentry was very good and crew was very helpful

6 months ago
3/5

Service: Commentator was good but the cruise was just average. Didnt see much whales and only from afar. A little boring.

Product: Boring cruise. Hardly saw any whales.

6 months ago
4/5

Service: The trip was the second day of the whale watching season. We were a little bummed that only one whale was seen. I awarded a good rating as the captain and crew were professional and did everything in their power to provide a good experience. The tour guide was well informed and entertaining. On the trip out and back he provided more information on Sydney harbor's history and features than the guide on the harbor tour we took two days before.

Product: Value was great. We booked on-line in advanced for a 50% discount.

6 months ago
3/5

Service: The captian/commentator was very charismatic. Reminded me of jack nicholson. Great guy :D. The experts picked up from Taronga zoo were also very friendly. Shame we only saw one lazy whale, but you can't help that.

Product: Good package; good value!

6 months ago
2/5

Service: We bought tickets for the Vivid 1 hour cruise . The organisation on the night was dreadful . We stood in the queue for a good 20 minutes begore we realised we were in the wrong queue and had then missed our departure @ 6.45. When I collected the tickets I was never told they're were 4 separate queue's.

Luckily we managed to get on the 7pm departure but we had to wait until everyone had boarded.

Product: Very well organised and amazed that we actually saw the whales . I have definitely recommended this trip

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Ms Crompton,,

Thank you for your review of VIVID and we were disappointed to read your comments as we did have a very large number of guests on the first night of VIVID over a range of Lights and Dining cruises and did have a coloured flag system to let our guests know where to queue up for their cruise.

We are glad we were able to accommodate you on the next lights cruise fifteen minutes later and we hope you enjoyed the lights of VIVID from the water.

We were  glad to read that you enjoyed your Whale Watching cruise too and thank you for your recommendation.

Sincerely
Head of Customer Services
Captain Cook Cruises

6 months ago
4/5

Service: My husband and I loved the whale watching cruise , as we did get to see 3 whales swimming together, but as the swell was alittle rough, so by the time we got back to Circular Quays we were feeling alittle green, as in off colour. But besides that, we did enjoy our time. :)

Product: We had an awesome time whale watching and seeing 3 whales swimming together. It was a part of my husbands 50th birthday present, as it was something we both had always wanted to do. The only negative(s) was the rough swell which by the end of the cruise we were feeling a little green around the gills ourselves, plus the inside of the cabin was too warm with the central heating been set to high. Besides that...it was great and I would thoroughly recommend it to everyone..and we would love to do it again ourselves.

View more reviews

Christmas Party Cruises

Secure the best vessel on the best date at the best price. Christmas Party Cruises from AU$65

Christmas Party Specials

Hire your own boat, book a private room or simply share a deck with other like-minded guests. Cruises from AU$65 

Christmas Day Lunch

Join our family for Christmas Day Lunch onboard flagship MV Sydney 2000. Tickets selling fast.

Discover Magnetic Island

Discover Magnetic Island, Far North Queensland. Ferries, accommodation and tours.