Whale Watching Explorer

Whale Watching Explorer available now

This great Sydney combo offers a flexible Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer pass allowing you to visit up to 4 famous harbour precincts, plus join a Whale Watching Cruise and see Humpbacks and the occasional Southern Right playing outside Sydney Heads during migration.

Whale Watching Explorer

Includes:

  • Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer
  • Morning Whale Watching Cruise
  • Disembarking Darling Harbour, King Street Wharf 2 (1.00pm)
  • Validity commences from the date of the Whale Watching Cruise

Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer

  • Flexible Hop On Hop Off Pass
  • 4 famous stops including
    - Circular Quay
    - Taronga Zoo
    - Manly
    - Watsons Bay
  • Commentary provided on selected routes

Whale Watching Cruise

  • What to bring
    • This is an open water cruise and you will experience sea motion. We recommend you eat lightly before and during the cruise. Travel sickness tablets are generally most effective if taken prior to the cruise. Selection of soft drinks and snacks available for purchase onboard, subject to change. Please dress according to the weather - it will often feel colder at sea. 
  • Whale Guarantee*
    • We have a 95%+ success rate. The Whale Guaranteed applies when a whale is not sighted during your cruise. Cruise again in the same season for free on Standby Basis confirmed 24 hours prior subject to availability
  • Reconfirmation & Cancellation
    • As this is an open water cruise, names of all passengers and their individual contact details are required for each passenger. Cruises are subject to cancellation due to weather & other operational requirements. Please ring (02) 8062 3623 from 7.15am on the day of your cruise for the latest information. If the whale watching cruise is cancelled, the total Whale Watching Explorer package is cancelled. If your cruise is cancelled by us passengers may (1) rebook another for another date during the current season or (2) seek a refund from the original place of purchase or (3) a credit can be made with Captain Cook Cruises towards another cruise within 12 months of original date of travel. If purchased through an agent, please refer to the agent’s terms &conditions. 

Passengers must complete a Contact Information form prior to cruising in case of emergency - download the form here & return by email to [email protected] once you have made your booking.

Typical whale behaviour includes: Breaching, Spy Hop, Pectoral Fin Extension, Tail Slapping, Peduncle Slap, Tail Cocking, Tail Slash and Tail Swish, Pectoral Stroking and Pec Slapping all of which are explained on our About Whales - Whale Watching Guide.

This Week's Predicted Comfort Levels & Weather
Waves, swell, winds & visibility can be very different outside the Harbour.

Daily Whale Sightings

Whale Images

IMPORTANT

  • Whale Watching Cruises operate subject to weather conditions and minimum numbersquirements
  • All travel must be completed within 2 consecutive days. 2-Day validity commences from the date of the Whale Watching Cruise
  • Valid for morning Whale Watching departure only
  • Special reconfirmation and cancellation conditions apply to Whale Watching Cruises
  • Not valid with any other offer
  • Limited commission applies
  • Details subject to change

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

Inclusions

  • The whales are here!
  • Approx 3hr morning whale watching cruise with commentary
  • Hop On Hop Off 2-Day Harbour Explorer
  • Spacious decks, social distancing compliant 
  • Book direct - Full refund cancellation policy if the cruise cancels 
  • See Humpbacks & the occasional Southern Right whale during migration
  • Whale sighting guaranteed or cruise again for FREE* (see more info for details)
  • Download our Cruise Safe, Cruise Well initiatives

Need to know

  • Adult $99, Child (4-15 years) $59
  • 95%+ Whale Sighting success & family friendly
  • Cruise aboard an ocean-going catamaran 
  • Validity commences from the date of the Whale Watching Cruise
  • All passengers are required to submit a Contact Information form prior to cruising
  • Waves, swell, winds & visibility can be very different outside the Harbour. See This Week's Predicted Comfort Levels & Weather
  • Whale Reconfirmation Hotline - Call +61-2-8062 3623 from 7.15am on the day of your cruise
  • Map | Cruise Info | Whale Sightings

Timetable

Social distancing operating dates

Departs approx July - October 2020 School Holidays: Daily (25Sep-10Oct 2020) 
Non-School Holidays: Saturday (19Jul-24Sep & 11-28Oct 2020)
Whale Watching Cruise  Depart Darling Harbour, King Street Wharf 2 - 10.00am. Return approx 1.00pm
Hop On Hop Off 2-Day Harbour Explorer Depart Circular Quay Wharf No.6 
Download timetable

Car Parking  Please check your date for road closures 

Find Us

YOUR SAY MANLY - BARANGAROO FAST FERRY The trip was both quick and enjoyable as Paul give an excellent commentary on highlights along the way. I have lived in Sydney almost all my life but I found Paul’s commentary very interesting and made me feel that I should explore our local history more closely. Thanks Captain and thanks Paul. John, Sydney

View Special Offers

91 % approval from 34 responses

Date
Rating
3 hours ago
5/5

Service: The customer service at Captain Cook Cruises is second to none. The staff in the office were so incredibly helpful, while the staff on board were fantastic, friendly, knowledgeable.
Product: Definitely worth the price.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

23 hours ago
5/5

Service: Good service
Product: Nice scenery really good experience

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

1 day ago
5/5

Service: Professional
Product: Great trip, have recommended and will do another whale watching trip myself

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

5 days ago
4/5

Overall it’s been a nice experience on board Captain Cook’s whale watching cruise, but we have returned to Darking Harbour about 20 minutes earlier, which we could use to track the whales a little bit longer.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

5 days ago
2/5

Service: The crew were friendly but seemed to lack information about birds seen. I thought the MC talked too much. The facilities were clean
Product: Reasonable value for the experience

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

6 days ago
5/5

Service: The boat was clean and the crew told us what to expect on a wet Sunday AM cruise. the weather did ruin the day with rain at 45 degrees in exposed areas for viewing and windows blurred by the rain but it was the experience and did see only a few tails and missed the breach while trying to get a better look. Dylan commentated on the cruise and was very informative.
Product: Easy online booking with all info re parking etc.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

6 days ago
5/5

Service: Thank you for the tour! It was my Birthday and I had a great time! Captains' comments were interesting and informative. great job!
Product: The weather was perfect and we saw whales.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

6 days ago
4/5

Service: Easy to book, friendly staff and the cruise was organised well. We were able to see many whales during our experience.

One thing which could be improved was better communication about where to meet for the cruise as there are two check-in offices. This was not made overtly clear.
Product: Easy to purchase and good deal!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

6 days ago
4/5

Good safety. Great knowledge from Paul commentating. Good views up top. Not crowded. To make better a sunny day and would have loved to buy a cuppa tea and biscuit. Let people know to bring own snacks and drinks. Overall a great experience.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

6 days ago
5/5

Service: - friendly and attentive staff throughout the trip (office and boat)
- easy booking online with offers for booking in advance
Product: - Great audio guidance on board
- safe and comfortable ride offshore
- change of route when there were no more wales to see to make the cruise enjoyable

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

6 days ago
5/5

Service: Friendly. Good information. Covid safety easy booking great value.
Product: Great value The experience was live giving

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: It was a wonderful occasion for both my grandson, whose surname is actually WHALE, and myself. Even though I live part of the time on the oceanfront where whales regularly pass, here you were seeing them at close hand which was amazing. A great experience!
Product: It was 3 hours for a little over $100 for two. The time length was getting a little hohum by the end of the tour but I still feel it was worth it. Whether I would repeat the exercise is questionable.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

3 weeks ago
5/5

Friendly and informative crew. Very still conditions. Our Family really enjoyed the afternoon sailing off the coast of Sydney and seeing the many whales, some quite close.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: We took four of our grandkids on this cruise and we all had a great time. Very close to an inquisitive whale. Very enjoyable day.
Product: Smooth process and good value for money.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Great boat trip, excellent guid with good explanation and funny too.
All services on board, bar with drinks and snacks, toilets, seats on 3 levels, both inside as outside.
Seen a lot of whales!
Have great follow up on current COVID standards/obligations.
Product: Great boat trip, excellent guid with good explanation and funny too.
All services on board, bar with drinks and snacks, toilets, seats on 3 levels, both inside as outside.
Seen a lot of whales!
Have great follow up on current COVID standards/obligations.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Fantastic! day out on the water. We did the afternoon cruise and was lucky enough to have still waters and plenty of whales around! Crew were fantastic
Product: Fantastic! day out on the water. We did the afternoon cruise and was lucky enough to have still waters and plenty of whales around! Crew were fantastic

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

3 weeks ago
5/5

Great experience, would definitely go again next season! Nice and friendly crew, loved their enthusiasm! Thanks guys!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

3 weeks ago
4/5

Service: the crew were friendly and knowledgeable, I thought the trip was good value.
Product: Good Value for money, comfortable boat

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: very enjoyable cruise, lovely to see the whales. staff very friendly, informative & all covid 19 measures were in place. happy to recommend the cruise
Product: very enjoyable day, friendly staff, good information, observed all covid19 precautions

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Safe vessel, friendly, professional, informative crew and glimpses of whales eventually. The boat stayed in the area of the sightings for longer in the hope we would see more.
Product: Booking was straight forward and full information was provided. I would definitively book again with Captain Cook Cruises.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
2/5

Clarification around cost of things, I was charged $45 for two palartis classes and I $800 for what i thought was vitamins . Staff didn't speak very good english. Put that money together and i could have gone on another cruise.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your kind review. We are disappointed to read that the service on your cruise wasn't to your standards. We can assure you that all our hospitality and catering staff are all fluent in English and we employ a range of nationalities from many countries. We can also confirm that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
5/5

Really appreciated that they honoured my clients companion card so his support worker could attend the cruise with him

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
2/5

Service: The whale watching cruise is too much bumpy when sailing and maybe we are in the end of the whale watching season and the sea is not so calm but we still manage to see some whale. The whale watching cruise crew is awesome and give us very good service.
Product: The sea is not calm and bumpy in the end of the whale watching season. I seen more than half of the passenger onboard was vomited but we still manage to see some whale. The cruise crew was awesome and giving us the best service they could. Like a vomit bag to each of us. lol

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your cruise experience. As you may know, we endeavour to provide our customers with the best experience possible. As you know, the movements of whales and sea conditions are unfortunately outside of our control.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
4/5

Service: nous avons bien aimé cette sortie en mer, afin de voir les baleines , avec la possibilité de revenir, pour une autre sortie si on ne voie pas de cétacés. je recommande...
bateau comfortable .
Product: bien sous tout rapport ,absolument rien à redire.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
4/5

The cruise was on time. I saw many beautiful whales asnd dolphin. The only thing was that I bought ticket online. It was not mentioned on email that I need to exchange to paper ticket. It was a bit of a rush to go to the counter and exchanged it at last minute.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
5/5

The boat was clean, the guide was excellent she had a lot of knowledge on the sea life and presented it in an interesting way. The crew went out of their way to find us a whale and they were successful. Thank you.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

9 months ago
5/5

Great experience with caotain cook

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

9 months ago
5/5

Service: A fantastic journey with the humpback whales! Staff service was excellent n equally excited about spotting whales with us. At sea searching for 1hr plus and finally we were treated to a fantastic 30min show by the whales! Beautiful mother n baby whale, acompanied by a grand looking male humpback! So happy we got to join us in their journey. Thanks Captain Cook!
Product: Online booking was easy. Ticket collection was convenient. Thanks for the special price deal on that day.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
5/5

Happy with everything

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
2/5

I was very disappointed with the fact that upon ordering no one asked about the age of my son and charged us for it only to find out he wasnt meant to pay as he is under 4.
No where on the email did it say we needed to go print the tickets and we waited in the wrong line for no reason.

I did contact the company post cruise and had the money for my son refunded but still left a bad taste so to speak

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We apologise for the inconvenience. We are pleased to note that this issue has been resolved, and your child's ticket has been refunded.

Apologies once again.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent experience, staff extremely cooperative. Would love to be in the cruise again.
Product: Fares are reasonable & fully satisfied with the trip.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

9 months ago
5/5

Great service

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
5/5

Service: Great experience. We saw whales, a baby calf, breaching, as well as seals. The tour guide, was excellent, enthusiastic and genuinely happy to share her knowledge. She has a PhD in Biology and whales are her thing :) . She is a star!
Product: Great experience and great value for money. A great day on the seas full stop! Highly recommended

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

9 months ago
1/5

Service: The crew was great. But the water was too choppy to go out in. Everyone was throwing up and it was disgusting. Had I known, I wouldn’t have gone. Also, people did. Oy take turns in the rail spaces like the crew said to do. They just stood there and didn’t let the shorter people see.
Product: I changed it below in my response.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We can assure you that our vessels only operate when it is safe to do so. If there is inclement weather, our crews assess the conditions and reschedule any cruise where it is unsafe to operate. As you know we value customer feedback, therefore your comments were forwarded to the relevant managers on that matter.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
5/5

Service: We had a great trip with plenty of whale action. The crew were excellent and very helpful.
Product: A great trip with plenty of whales to see.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

9 months ago
4/5

Service: Great, friendly staff, always checking to see if everyone was ok. Nice clean boat. Couldn't hear what the captain was saying on the top deck of the boat
Product: Good value for money, very quick with response once booked online

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
2/5

Service: Cruise met its objective of seeing whales but crew onboard was lacking friendliness.
Product: Purchase via website was straightforward.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that the service on your cruise wasn't to your standards. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customers Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching and Taronga Zoo

10 months ago
5/5

Service: This was a great whale watching cruise especially for my first time. My Dad and i enjoyed viewing from the middle deck. The service was fantastic and the on board commentary from Vanessa was great. You could tell how passionate she was about marine life and ecology. We got to see a female humpback whale and baby whale and on the way back got to see a group of seals sunbaking off south heads. Exceeded my expectations and wpuld highly recommend. Was very peaceful and enjoyable experience that took usbout from Sydney Harbour pass south heads towards Bondi.
Product: We got a discount as we has previously booked through captain cook for a vivid lights cruise. We only paid $49 each

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Very organised and enthusiastic staff. Made it very exciting identifying the pods.
Product: Good value for money ....

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
4/5

The service provided and punctuality of the team is commendable.

Review for Whale Watching and Taronga Zoo

10 months ago
5/5

Saw lots of whales and enjoyed the narration - the guide was very enthusiastic and informative! Amazing to see so many whales so close to Sydney!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
5/5

xxxxxxxxxx

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
5/5

Service: We went on a whale watching cruise, it was a really lovely afternoon outing. The captain, crew and commentator were all very knowledgeable.
Product: It was a lovely afternoon outing for the whole family

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
5/5

Staff were great and we saw a few whales. It was a lovely afternoon out on the water.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
5/5

Informative tour. Nice whale watching experience.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
4/5

very good!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
5/5

Wonderful experience, informative guide and was lucky enough to see 3 whales and a dolphin at close distance

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Friendly knowledgeable crew.
Product: A cool windy overcast day, but we were prepared with warm jackets. We saw our first juvenile hump back whale before we left the harbour, and we continued to spot juveniles throughout the trip. The crew were pleasant and we enjoyed host Bob’s ongoing announcements about whales and their behaviour. All in all, a lovely way to spend the afternoon.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
5/5

Service: こちらからの質問に対して、メールでも電話でも、対応がすばらしかった
Product: クジラが見れて満足でした
また機会があれば挑戦したい

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Great reliable service, the whale watching cruise was fantastic. Was lucky enough to see a young whale and mum breaching, tail slapping and all the things whales do at play.
Product: Excellent day all round, very happy.

Review for Whale Watching and Taronga Zoo

10 months ago
1/5

Service: The man who was talking has been great,
anyway the boat was too big for a whales watching experience, the first 2 hours have been a complete waste of time as we have spent them randomly in the open see where there are not usually whales.
On the way back we have spotted a group of boats pisitioned in circle around 3 whales and finally we could have a look at it but being our boat too big, the whales didi not come closer neither we could get closer to them, because our time was out we had to leave in the middle of a whale jump which as been such a disappointment.
Overall a nice experience I would recomend it just if you have kids otherwise I would go for smaller companies that give you an authentic experience
Product: The purchase ticket should communicate clearly place and boarding time, I should not be going through website to understand where and when to board.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We always endeavor to get as close to the whales as possible, without harming the animals or disturbing them. As for the boarding location and time, our departure points and cruise times are clearly listed on our website, since boarding times and locations can change over time due to weather or construction work. Our reservation staff is also happy to help with any inquiries customers may have, and they are located at all departure points in ticket offices.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

11 months ago
5/5

Very professional crew. We spotted many whales. It was a great experience. Would definitely recommend captain cool crew!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent! First class from booking to customer service onboard. Captain and commentary extraordinary, always following laws and regulations.
Product: Saw 3 whales, one of them breaching all the time. Captain Cook really knows where to go to see these beautiful animals in their natural habitat.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
2/5

クジラは見えました(*⌒▽⌒*)
もっと近くで見たかったけど

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience.

We always endeavour to get the best view of the whales as possible, without harming the animals or disturbing them. We hope that next time, you will be able to see them closer.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,


Head of Customer ServiceCaptain Cook Cruises



お客様各位、

キャプテンクッククルーズの体験をレビューしていただきありがとうございます。

動物を傷つけたり、邪魔したりすることなく、できるだけクジラに近づけるように最善を尽くします。次回、あなたがそれらをより近くで見ることができることを願っています。

ご意見ありがとうございます。

敬具、


カスタマーサービス部長キャプテンクッククルーズ

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Service: A great cruise. The crew tried very hard to find the whale, the talk was funny and interesting. Lastly, we could see two whales which were very near to the boat. Thanks to the crew.
Product: Worth much more than its cost

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
2/5

Service: We had a mixed day with Captain Cook Cruises. We purposely timed our Zoo and Whale Watching day to start at 9:15 because their website listed departure times from Darling Harbor at 9:15 and 9:45. To get ample time at the zoo, we hoped to take the earlier boat. We arrived at the counter/dock at 9:05 and were told that the next boat left at 9:45 and the last one had just left at 9:00 (we watched it leave the dock). We were disappointed to have lost that 30 minutes and the woman working the counter was not at all apologetic (which really wouldn't change anything, but might have felt nice) nor did she make any effort to check the website and verify their error. We were given tickets each for the 9:45 boat, for the zoo, and for the 1:30 whale watching boat. We wasted time around the dock and got on the 9:45 boat and arrived at the zoo around 10:20. It would have been helpful if the CCC website would clarify both departure and arrival times. The zoo was great and we went to the dock to catch the whale watching boat at 1:30. Once at the dock we were told our boat would arrive at 1:45. Not a big deal because the timing was moot once we got on their boat, but frustrating. We headed out to sea, and though it was totally outside of CCC's hands, the wind was crazy and we were rocking back and forth at 45 degree angles. There were great guides/crew on the boat telling us what we should expect to see once we got out to our spot. Unfortunately about half way out, we were told we had to turn around and head back due to the weather. Again, not at all the fault of CCC, but disappointing. Back at Circular Quay we talked to the counter agent who quickly moved us all through the line and told us we'd be refunded the whale watching portion in the coming weeks. I'm not sure if we've been refunded yet (5 days later) but I'll keep watching our CC statement. I would give CCC a chance again, but might just call to verify timing of things and watch the weather a bit more closely.
Product: I purchased the zoo ferry and entrance as a package with whale watching and I might opt in the future to book it separately so that I didn't feel rushed to get through the zoo to get on the whale watching boat.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,


Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. Our cruise times are listed on our website for complete transparency for our customers and we follow this as closely as possible. As any other ferry operator in the harbour, we unfortunately depend on traffic and weather conditions to operate which can be affected by unforeseen circumstances. For that reason, we update our timetable daily to try to be as reliable as we can.


We always try to give our customers the best possible experience, however as you stated we unfortunately do not have any control over weather conditions. We do apologise sincerely for the inconvenience. As you know we value customer feedback, therefore your comments were forwarded to the relevant managers on that matter.


Thank you once again for your feedback.


Kind Regards,


Head of Customer ServiceCaptain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching and Taronga Zoo

11 months ago
4/5

though we did not see the whale and.have to.turn back, the team handled the situation very professionally. Refunded the cost to the trip and applogies for the situation.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

staff is nice !!

Review for Whale Watching and Taronga Zoo

11 months ago
4/5

Service: A really informative cruise although the speaker spoke very softly and was not audible over the tanoy at times throughout the journey out to sea. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful but we were delayed leaving port by half and hour. However, despite the delay this was a fantastic experience and value for money with the discount we recieved. We would go again for sure!
Product: The commentary was hard to hear during our journey out to sea and boarding was delayed by half and hour but the experience overall was fantastic, staff were friendly and helpful and it was really good value for money.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Wish the HOHO Whale watching explorer passes were available at any of the wharfs for pickup and use instead of having to pay for one way passes to Circular Quay to get the tickets for 2 days. Also not explained very well that tickets don't have to be purchased on the dock and can be done on the ride to the destination. Also wish the locations of the pickup/drop offs were more clearly detailed for Darling Harbour- we walked and walked and walked and there weren't any banners or signs to see clearly where they were located.
Product: $7/person for one way rides is pretty steep.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,


Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. Our departure points are also clearly listed on our website, and our reservation staff are happy to help with any enquiries customers may have. You can start your Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer from the main tourist precincts of both Circular Quay or Darling Harbour.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,


Head of Customer ServiceCaptain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching Explorer

11 months ago
5/5

The whole trip was interesting although at first we could spot any whales but in the end we managed to see 2 wholes and a few dolphins. We learned a lot about whales and enjoyed the ride.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Excellent service from start to finish. Well done.
All staff members fully alert ,the guide was very passionate young lady very engaging. Although once out in the open waters it poured down it didn’t matter one bit once you see your first whale your hooked.

Review for SeaLife Aquarium & Whale Whale Watching Cruise

11 months ago
5/5

Service: We had an exciting whale watching trip coming across two pods of whales. The crew were very informative with information on the whales and knew where to go for possible sightings.
Product: The crew shared a lot of information about the whales and knew where to go for possible sightings. Was exciting to come across two pods.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Detailed description of living and movement of Whale and Dolphin, help us to locate and snapshot them when they surface above the sea.
Product: Smooth process and clear communication.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Our safety was well taken care of!
The captain went beyond what was expected, constantly looking out for more wild life not limited to only whale.

I was previledged to have an close encounter with whale, dolphins and even a seal.

Much recommended for anyone who wish for a good wild life experience!

Review for Whale Watching and Taronga Zoo

11 months ago
2/5

A smaller boat would work better as the whales tends to get closer to small boats

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,


Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. The size of the boat makes no difference, as all vessels must turn off their engines when within 100 metres of a Whale. Unfortunately, whales can be unpredictable, but please be assured that we endeavour to give our customers the best opportunity to see whales as possible.

Thank you once again for your feedback.


Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Very informative cruise and attentive crew. Crew did not give up searching for the whales to ensure that we were guaranteed our whale encounter.
Product: Worth every penny spent !!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Excellent service from the complete crew - I had a great afternoon

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Amazing experience:)

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

11 months ago
4/5

Staff friendly

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Provided information about whales and their travels along our east coast. Were also entertaining when presenting this info.
Product: The purchase of tickets was easy to do. We did not buy anything else whilst on board though

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Fantastic!!
Product: This service was good value for money

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
2/5

I was unable to make my cruise and also unable to reach anyone to let them know. All your contact numbers were only for checking on the status of cruise/ weather.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We always ask the customers to let us know, at least a day before the cruise, if they are unable to make the cruise. However, our reservations lines are always available for your enquiries. All contact information can be found on our website or Google.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Great experience, great staff, good price, very capable vessel and, not something you have much control over, but beautiful calm day/sea and close views of whales.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

11 months ago
5/5

Service: There service was excellent, we were well informed of the event, right from the start as we queued up to the end of the event. I highly recommend them.
Product: Great event, great price.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Service: very good whale watching tour1
Product: it was very happy experiences

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

11 months ago
5/5

Service: The guide was very knowledgeable and kept us well entertained.
Product: The tour guide was very knowledgeable

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

11 months ago
5/5

This was a great value for money trip, with knowledgeable, helpful staff. Didn't feel rushed, we took the time to find whales and weren't afraid to leave a boring whale to look for more active ones! Marine biologist on board was great and you handled inattentive customers who weren't paying attention and talked through safety briefings very confidently and professionally.

Great day out, I've been recommending it to people already.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Simply amazing tour. And ooohhh we saw some whales! Congratulations!!
Indeed the best value for a tourists money.
Product: Very easy to find and buy this tour. Great value by the way!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Really nice trip on a comfortable ferry. Both indoors and outdoors areas.
We saw plenty of whales - mum and baby, some teenagers and a few adult humpback whales. You can also see some albatrosses occasionally.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Great and friendly service, did not end up seeing too much but that’s always a possibility. Crew and captain did their best to search and lookout for spots of activity despite bad weather and choppy conditions.
Product: No issues with purchase, efficient.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Mooie boottocht, met walvissen naast de boot die we goed konden zien. Tijdens het onderduiken van de dieren, kregen we prima uitleg over walvisgedrag, omstandigheden en wetenswaardigheden omtrent de dieren door Bob! Een zeer enthousiaste verteller!

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Very informative and a wonderful experience

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
4/5

Easy to find the location to aboard. Staff are nice. Weather on that day was wonderful. Many whales were seen.
However the wind very strong, the ship shaking seriously. Most people got dizziness.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
2/5

Service: Ensure small, elderly people can have an opportunity to a viewing position. I gave up trying to fight my way through the overcrowded boat and therefore saw very little whale. Most disappointing.
Product: As I stated , the boat too overbooked and not able to gain a viewing point.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that your experience on the Whale Watching Cruise wasn’t up to your standard. The Whale Watching Cruise is aboard a spacious ocean-going catamaran, limited to just 120 guests per departure. Both upper and lower decks are available for viewing advantage and to ensure everyone gets see the whales.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
2/5

Service: I joined two companies for whale watching at Sydney. However, I only saw whale once as we could only stand at the back of the ferry or inside the ferry and too many people on the ferry. Even there were several whales swimming close to the ferry. But all the view were blocked by people. Very disappointed with captain cook!
People can stand everywhere on the ferry of the other company!
Product: Not worth! Too expensive!

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that your experience on the Whale Watching Cruise wasn’t up to your standard. The Whale Watching Cruise is aboard a spacious ocean-going catamaran, limited to just 120 guests per departure, both upper and lower decks are available for viewing advantage. It includes outdoor and indoor all-weather lounge. Please be assured that all of our captains are trained to give our customers the best possible chance to view whales.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Die Live Kommentare von Vanessa war super. Das allein war für mich schon ein Grund, 5 Sterne zu geben.
Product: Der Kauf war online erfolgt. Alles sehr einfach zu handhaben. Es fehlt leider der Hinweis, dass man noch das Papierticket am Büro abholen muss. Warum kann man hier nicht die Online Bestätigung als Nachweis anzeigen?Spart Papier.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

12 months ago
5/5

Well organised and interesting cruise with several sitings of whales and dolphins.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Great experience! Good organisation, good food, great service and wonderful reef experience!

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Their service was great, it was easy purchasing the tickets for the cruise online.
Product: The cruise itself was enjoyable and we saw a few whales skimming the sea. However the winds & the waves were very strong, therefore making us feel rather seasick.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

The weather is great on that day and everything is great from Captain Cook Cruises Whale watching; will recommended to anyone.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Service: Very well organized cruise with amazing views and good stories. Crew was very helpful and found whales. Spent enough time to experience nature and sights.
Product: Good service and very helpful information on cruse and location.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

12 months ago
5/5

Their great smiles and attitude~ their knowledge of the whales !

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Awesome crew and funny tour guide

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Service: It was an amazing experience with delicious food and beautiful view. The decoration inside the cruise was also very pretty. Our whole family have warm and sweet memory in that afternoon.
Product: It was a great experience that we have seen dolphins and whales during the trip. And the introduction and explanatoin wasvery good. We have great and happy moment during the trip.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Located more than several whales which was a good start! Captain really knew how to sight them & judge how long they would take to resurface after diving. Commentary was good but probably a little too much of it.
Assistance for those suffering motion sickness & subsequent cleaning up was excellent.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
1/5

Service: Seasick from the start to the end. If tides are 5m high and conditions bad, should have cancel and refund. See nothing much but just into vomit bags. Waste $ and time
Product: Seasick from beginning to end. See nothing much but into vomit bags. Was informed of high tides of 5m when onboard. If sea conditions are bad, could have given option to cancel and refund.a total waste of my money and time for our whole family of 4. Disappointing

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that you weren’t completely satisfied with our Whale Watching Cruise. We cancel all cruises with conditions that may hinder our chance of viewing whales.


Thank you once again for your feedback.


Kind Regards,Head of Customer ServiceCaptain Cook Cruises

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Great day out, friendly helpful staff on hand to answer any questions based on their very extensive knowledge of the local migratory whale population.

Review for Whale Watching - Afternoon

12 months ago
5/5

Service: The service was great, the cruise crew were extremely nice, friendly and full of knowledge. They were extremely accommodating. We saw multiple whales and dolphins.
Product: The service was great, the cruise crew were extremely nice, friendly and full of knowledge. They were extremely accommodating. We saw multiple whales and dolphins.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

12 months ago
4/5

The Whale cruise was amazing. I was surprised that we were able to see not only Whales, Dolphins but also Gannet birds and Albatross. The crew were terrific and really put in a lot of effort to turn the boat towards the whales when sighted and to provide information about them.

Review for Whale Watching - Morning

View more reviews

Discover Sydney Harbour

Discover Sydney Harbour. Dinner, Lunch & High Tea, ferries, hop on hop off, private charters & more

Gold Dinner

Degustation dining and first class service with Gold Penfolds upgrade option. Luxury awaits.

High Tea at Sea

Enjoy sweet & savoury treats, sparkling wine & amazing views of Sydney Harbour from AU$59pp

TripAdvisor Excellence Awards

We are thrilled to be awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2019. Read more ...