Sunset Dinner Cruise

We like to think of our harbour as a sunset painting in progress. The aquamarine colours of Summer give way to the warm orange hues of Autumn before deepening to a magical Winter twilight blue. Year round, sun-up or sun-down, the colours of Sydney Harbour will welcome you onboard our signature Sunset Dinner Cruise. This is the perfect start to an evening or stunning end to an amazing day in the greatest city in the world.

Our harbour is a living artwork, from the sea birds that skip off the water to the endless silhouette shapes on the horizon. As we start our cruise at 5pm, the colours and magic of Sydney’s iconic landscape change by the minute. The early evening departure of our Sunset Dinner Cruise also means an early finish, making this waterfront restaurant experience the perfect option for pre-theatre dining, family groups and those wanting to wind down after a big day of exploring the city. After your à la carte meal with both seafood, steak and vegetarian options, be sure to spend some time on the outer deck and watch the sunset as a warm Sydney breeze carries you into the evening. Disembark our Sunset Dinner Cruise and meander along the harbour foreshore or enjoy a nightcap at one of the many nightclubs and bars in the city.

 For the keen photographers, below is a rough guide to sunset times in Sydney:

  • Winter (Jun-Aug) 4.54pm - 5.37pm
  • Spring (Sep-Nov) 5.37pm - 7.51pm (note daylight savings time starts approx. Oct)
  • Summer (Dec-Feb) 7.52pm - 7.33pm
  • Autumn (Mar-May) 7.31pm - 4.54pm (note daylight savings time ends approx. Apr) 

Dress Code:

  • Harbour Bar & Restaurant: Casual - no thongs or singlets
  • Lunch, High Tea & Sunset Dinner: Smart Casual 
  • Briliant, Gold & Platinum Dinners: We recommend Smart & Stylish - collared shirts for men and jackets in winter

Menus & Special Diets 

  • Lunch, High Tea, Sunset Dinner & Brilliant Dinner menus have at least one vegetarian and gluten-free entrée, main and dessert 
  • Gold and Platinum are specialty menus and we regret there are no special diet variations available 
  • A Children's menu is available on Premium Dining 
  • A Kid's mnu is available on Casual Dining
  • Vew our menus for further details 

Car Parking 

About Your Vessel
Cruise aboard Sydney’s premier cruising restaurant, the spectacular MV Sydney 2000. World leaders, dignitaries’ celebrities, president’s, Prime Minister’s and sport stars have all enjoyed the magic of Sydney harbour from a Captain Cook vessel. Our air-conditioned restaurants are as waterfront as it comes, with 360-degree million-dollar views and expansive outdoor decks. Oversized windows throughout offer superb viewing no matter where you are seated on the vessel. From time to time, due to maintenance and scheduling, vessels may change. Our restaurant fleet includes Sydney 2000, John Cadman 2 and Captain Cook 3.

Quick Links

​​Children Under 18 Years

  • Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

Credit Card Fraud Prevention

  • At check-in you will be required to present the credit card used to purchase your cruise online

Terms & Conditions 

  • Special payment and cancellation conditions apply to all special offers and special events. View our terms and conditions

Inclusions

  • 3-course à la carte dining 
  • Live music 
  • One 120-minute circuit of the harbour 
  • Expansive windows, premium upper deck seating offering million-dollar views
  • Personalised service
  • Menu

Need to know

Timetable

View of the full schedule of pick up and drop off times for the Harbour Bar & Restaurant. First pick up is Darling Harbour, followed by Circular Quay before completing each circuit of the Harbour. Please note special timetables operate on selected dates

Departs Darling Harbour King St Wharf 1 Circular Quay Wharf 6 
Friday - Sunday
Plus Thursday
Dec 2020-Jan 2021
Depart 5:00pm 
Disembark 7:00pm
Depart 5:30pm
Disembark 7:30pm (Saturday only)

Check Your Date   Check your date for special events & changes to the normal cruise program

Car Parking Specials  Remember to also check your date for NSW road closures 

Find Us

Wynyard Station to King St Wharf Map - 6 minute walk

YOUR SAY NEW YEARS EVE - Everything about the cruise was perfect, thanks to the crew for a great way to see in the New Year. Sallie-Ann, VIC

View Special Offers

79 % approval from 28 responses

Date
Rating
9 months ago
2/5

kept us dangling on the wharf in the rain we were requested in promotional material to arrive early time given 4.30 food and serving staff for the dinner well done the rest I will take up with NRMA they advertise reduction what a joke

Review for Sunset Dinner

9 months ago
2/5

Service: The boat left late, see comments below
Product: I wad disappointed that there was only 1hour to eat a very nice three course meal.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. Our cruise times are listed on our website for complete transparency for our customers and we follow this as closely as possible. Our cruise duration is also optimised to provide the best timing between courses, as well as allowing customers to enjoy the ambience and views unobstructed by food. We apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

9 months ago
2/5

Having your guests check on line for their departing quay puts a burden on your guests. And once going to your web site and then having to put in a booking number to find the quay, please remember that your guests come from many different countries and using phones to connect to the internet may not work the best. Also, not being familiar with Sydney and knowing the different quay locations when you’re jet lagged, creates stress. Your directions once you book on line can be hard to follow. We checked in at Quarry Quay and then we were told (rather rudely) that we were at the wrong place, should be at Darling Quay and the location was given to us on the website when we check in. We had to walk/run to get to the boat.

We do appreciate you holding the boat so we could enjoy the cruise. The food was good and we enjoyed the short time we had on top deck to see the views.

Suggestion would be to send email to guest 48 and then 24 hours before cruise letting guests know to check in and in bold letters a reminder to make sure of the departure quay.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are pleased to see that we have already corresponded via email, and as per our conversation we can see in our records that you contacted us via our Live Chat feature on our website, where our staff member explicitly stated the departure location would be Darling Harbour King Street Wharf No.1, which you acknowledged with thank you prior to your cruise. We apologise if you felt that our communications weren't clear enough, and please be assured your feedback will be forwarded to our reservations manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

9 months ago
5/5

Excellent cruise service was great I would recommend this cruise to all my friends and family

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: My Girlfriend flew in from the States and we wanted to see the Sydney Harbour. This dinner cruise provided us with a fantastic view Sydney’s iconic skyline, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House and a tasty meal and excellent service. We highly recommend this dining cruise experience to all like minded individuals and couples. Thank you and 🥂!
Product: Pleasant Experience and Good Dining

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: A Captain Cook cruise will also give you some very special moments. The food and beverage are good, but when they get topped with the views from Sydney Harbour they can be unforgettable. Thanks for a great Sunday cruise!
Product: Everything went really well on the day

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Good service. Good value.
Product: see previous notes

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
2/5

Service: The whole cruise time was too short and we felt rushed from the moment we got in especially as it was a surprise 50th b'day!
These sunset dinners should be 2hrs at least.
We didnt get to feel the whole enjoyment and experience.
The quality and quantity of food was average but not what you paid for in total for the lot per person
Product: Pretty standard nothing special
Disappointed unfortunately

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our Sunset Cruise operates for 1 hour and 30 minutes. If customers would prefer a longer duration of cruising, then we also offer a variety of dinner cruises that cruise for a duration of 2 hours and 30 mins, to 3 hours and 30 mins. We always encourage customers to view our website to understand the inclusuibs fir their selected cruise.

Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality, so we apologise if you felt this was the case on this occasion. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food, drinks and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Easy on-line purchase. Good value. Great crew and staff. Only two in party but full birthday service and great seating and food. Beautiful weather helped as well. Just love Sydney Harbour.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Great
Product: Excellent

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Friendly staff, great band, great food, awesome atmosphere.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Amazing service by the lady assigned to our table. It was my mums birthday and they surprised us with some cute sparkles on her dessert and sung happy birthday. Food was delish & the view was amazing. Very happy overall. Will be defs booking again in the near future.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: Lovely cruise with tasty food, great service.
Product: Very relaxing, good choice of beverages

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
5/5

Service: We had a wonderful time aboard the Capital Cook Sunset Dinner Cruise. The staff was attentive and the dinner was delicious. The views of the Opera House and the Sydney Bridge were breathtaking. We would do this again when we’re in Sydney next time.
Product: The wine, dinner, and cruise of Sydney Harbour was wonderful. It's a good value.

Review for Sunset Dinner

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Really great experience! Would do it again for sure! Only issue was that I felt there was a shortage of waiters attending tables
Product: Good but shortage of waiters

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Have always found these cruises good value and totally enjoyable. This is now the fifth time we’ve used captain cook. This time it was with 2 children. The menu was great and the service fabulous. Will use again.

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

The food, service, and cruise was very enjoyable. My family had a great time.

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
4/5

Pretty good and attentive table service

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
2/5

料理があまり美味しくなかった。。
スタッフの方々は感じがよくて素敵な対応でした。

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our aim is always to provide an extensive variety of options maintaining the highest standards of quality. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure a top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
4/5

Service: Employees were friendly and very helpful. Food was very good. The cruise was too short. Called sunset cruise, but came back way before sunset. We felt rushed.
Product: Easy to reserve tickets

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
4/5

Windows could've been cleaned to ensure optimal experience and food is ok but not great. Overall, it was a nice experience amd enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend it for memorable moments.

Review for Sunset Dinner

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Quick boarding and seating. Table service was good.
Product: Value for money

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

enjoyable food typical large scale style but was a well operated cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
4/5

Service was really nice. Great views and a lovely way to see Sydney

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Great service. A very nice restaurant setting on water. Highly recommend as a great tourist attraction.

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
4/5

Had my cousin from overseas, we enjoyed the cruise immensely, food was just right and drinks were a great choice. I would off like for the whole experience to be a bit longer than just the 11/2 half hour.

Review for Sunset Dinner

View more reviews

Boxing Day Sydney to Hobart

All the action from a unique vantage point on the water! Race cruises on sale now

Discover Sydney Dining

Discover Sydney Harbour Dining. Premium Dinner, Lunch and High Tea Cruises from AU$69

Sydney New Years Eve

Get the best seats to a spectacular Sydney Harbour New Years Eve. Fireworks cruises selling fast!

Christmas Gift Voucher Sale

Save up to 50% on Christmas Cruise Vouchers - no crowds, no queuing, vouchers emailed instantly