Sunset Dinner Cruise

We like to think of our harbour as a sunset painting in progress. The aquamarine colours of Summer give way to the warm orange hues of Autumn before deepening to a magical Winter twilight blue. Year round, sun-up or sun-down, the colours of Sydney Harbour will welcome you onboard our signature Sunset Dinner Cruise. This is the perfect start to an evening or stunning end to an amazing day in the greatest city in the world.

Our harbour is a living artwork, from the sea birds that skip off the water to the endless silhouette shapes on the horizon. As we start our cruise at 5pm, the colours and magic of Sydney’s iconic landscape change by the minute. The early evening departure of our Sunset Dinner Cruise also means an early finish, making this waterfront restaurant experience the perfect option for pre-theatre dining, family groups and those wanting to wind down after a big day of exploring the city. After your à la carte meal with both seafood, steak and vegetarian options, be sure to spend some time on the outer deck and watch the sunset as a warm Sydney breeze carries you into the evening. Disembark our Sunset Dinner Cruise and meander along the harbour foreshore or enjoy a nightcap at one of the many nightclubs and bars in the city.

 For the keen photographers, below is a rough guide to sunset times in Sydney:

  • Winter (Jun-Aug) 4.54pm - 5.37pm
  • Spring (Sep-Nov) 5.37pm - 7.51pm (note daylight savings time starts approx. Oct)
  • Summer (Dec-Feb) 7.52pm - 7.33pm
  • Autumn (Mar-May) 7.31pm - 4.54pm (note daylight savings time ends approx. Apr) 

Dress Code

  • Harbour Bar & Restaurant: Casual - no thongs or singlets
  • Lunch, High Tea & Sunset Dinner: Smart Casual 
  • Briliant, Gold & Platinum Dinners: We recommend Smart & Stylish - collared shirts for men and jackets in winter

Menus & Special Diets 

  • Lunch, High Tea, Sunset Dinner & Brilliant Dinner menus have at least one vegetarian and gluten-free entrée, main and dessert 
  • Gold and Platinum are specialty menus and we regret there are no special diet variations available 
  • A Children's menu is available on Premium Dining 
  • A Kid's mnu is available on Casual Dining
  • Vew our menus for further details 

Car Parking 

About Your Vessel
Cruise aboard Sydney’s premier cruising restaurant, the spectacular MV Sydney 2000. World leaders, dignitaries’ celebrities, president’s, Prime Minister’s and sport stars have all enjoyed the magic of Sydney harbour from a Captain Cook vessel. Our air-conditioned restaurants are as waterfront as it comes, with 360-degree million-dollar views and expansive outdoor decks. Oversized windows throughout offer superb viewing no matter where you are seated on the vessel. From time to time, due to maintenance and scheduling, vessels may change. Our restaurant fleet includes Sydney 2000, John Cadman 2 and Captain Cook 3.

Quick Links

Children Under 18 Years

  • Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

Credit Card Fraud Prevention

  • At check-in you will be required to present the credit card used to purchase your cruise online

Terms & Conditions 

  • Special payment and cancellation conditions apply to all special offers and special events. View our terms and conditions

Inclusions

  • 3-course à la carte dining 
  • Live music 
  • One 120-minute circuit of the harbour 
  • Expansive windows, premium upper deck seating offering million-dollar views
  • Personalised service
  • Menu

Need to know

Timetable

View of the full schedule of pick up and drop off times for the Harbour Bar & Restaurant. First pick up is Darling Harbour, followed by Circular Quay before completing each circuit of the Harbour. Please note special timetables operate on selected dates

Departs Darling Harbour King St Wharf 1 Circular Quay Wharf 6 
Thursday - Sunday (to 29 Apr 2021)
Friday - Sunday (from 30 Apr 2021)
Check availability for additional departures
Depart 5:00pm 
Disembark 7:00pm
Depart 5:30pm
Disembark 7:30pm

Check Your Date   Check your date for special events & changes to the normal cruise program

Car Parking Specials  Remember to also check your date for NSW road closures 

Find Us

Wynyard Station to King St Wharf Map - 6 minute walk

YOUR SAY HARBOUR STORY - A fantastic experience & we learnt a lot from the commentary. Ricky, NSW

View Special Offers

25 % approval from 4 responses

Date
Rating
12 months ago
2/5

kept us dangling on the wharf in the rain we were requested in promotional material to arrive early time given 4.30 food and serving staff for the dinner well done the rest I will take up with NRMA they advertise reduction what a joke

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
2/5

Service: The boat left late, see comments below
Product: I wad disappointed that there was only 1hour to eat a very nice three course meal.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. Our cruise times are listed on our website for complete transparency for our customers and we follow this as closely as possible. Our cruise duration is also optimised to provide the best timing between courses, as well as allowing customers to enjoy the ambience and views unobstructed by food. We apologise if you felt this was not the case on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
2/5

Having your guests check on line for their departing quay puts a burden on your guests. And once going to your web site and then having to put in a booking number to find the quay, please remember that your guests come from many different countries and using phones to connect to the internet may not work the best. Also, not being familiar with Sydney and knowing the different quay locations when you’re jet lagged, creates stress. Your directions once you book on line can be hard to follow. We checked in at Quarry Quay and then we were told (rather rudely) that we were at the wrong place, should be at Darling Quay and the location was given to us on the website when we check in. We had to walk/run to get to the boat.

We do appreciate you holding the boat so we could enjoy the cruise. The food was good and we enjoyed the short time we had on top deck to see the views.

Suggestion would be to send email to guest 48 and then 24 hours before cruise letting guests know to check in and in bold letters a reminder to make sure of the departure quay.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are pleased to see that we have already corresponded via email, and as per our conversation we can see in our records that you contacted us via our Live Chat feature on our website, where our staff member explicitly stated the departure location would be Darling Harbour King Street Wharf No.1, which you acknowledged with thank you prior to your cruise. We apologise if you felt that our communications weren't clear enough, and please be assured your feedback will be forwarded to our reservations manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Sunset Dinner

12 months ago
5/5

Excellent cruise service was great I would recommend this cruise to all my friends and family

Review for Sunset Dinner

View more reviews

Gold Dinner

Degustation dining and first class service with Gold Penfolds upgrade option. Luxury awaits.

Choose a Unique Gift

Spoil someone special with a unique gift. Choose from High Tea, Lunch, Dinner or a Cruise Cash voucher from $50

Seniors Festival Cruises

Discover Sydney Harbour and save during Seniors Festival 13-24 April with cruises from $65pp

Cruise Deals

Book now and save over 30% on a great range of Sydney Harbour Dining and Sightseeing Cruises.