Top Deck 2 course

Created for the locals, this cruise offers an exceptional cruising restaurant experience. The menu is premium a la carte and served on the upper restaurant deck of MV Sydney 2000* with sensational views of Sydney.

The Top Deck Lunch is immensely popular with local groups looking for a more sophisticated experience than just a sightseeing cruise. There is no commentary to disrupt the flow of conversation and the menu is Contemporary Australian a la carte. Celebration cakes are despatched to every corner of the deck leaving a trail of sparkles in their wake.

Guests can choose their favourite two courses. An entree and main, a main and dessert, two entrees, or if you have a dentist in the family, two desserts. Additional desserts can be purchased onboard if anyone decides they would like a third course. 

Depending on your afternoon schedule there is a choice of early or late disembarkations. For visiting international corporate clients this cruise is the perfect blend of business and pleasure. The pre-defined finish time allows hosts to conclude their social business in a timely manner and be back at the office without the awkward `time to ship out and shove off' moment.

Also available at additional cost

  • Third course. Note cheaper if purchased at time of booking but all guests must select to have the additional course. Alternatively individuals can purchase an additional course onboard.

Dress: We recommend Smart Casual

*About Your Vessel
Cruise aboard Sydney’s premier fleet including the spectacular Sydney 2000 and John Cadman 2, both with million dollar views and expansive cocktail decks. Our world class vessels are chosen for many international VIP dignitaries including the official arrival of Pope Benedict XVI for World Youth Day. Air-conditioned restaurant decks, private dining rooms, expansive decks and 360 degree open Star Deck are just a few of the features. Special attention has been made to ensure fantastic views from every seat with below table height windows. Sydney 2000 operates on dining cruises most days however we do always reserve the right to amend vessels at any time.

*From time to time due to maintenance and scheduling, vessels may change. Vessels may include John Cadman 2 or Captain Cook 3. 

Children Under 18 Years
Please note children under 18 years must be accompanied by an adult on all dining cruises.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

Responsible Service of Alcohol Policy

Special Diet? Most dietary requirements can be catered for with advance notice - Contact Us

Special Conditions apply to all Special Offers

Inclusions

Need to know

Timetable

Below are the normal departure details. The vessel will pick-up from both locations. 

*Special timetables operate on selected dates.

Departs Circular Quay Wharf No.6 Darling Harbour King St Wharf No.1
Daily to 30Apr20 12.30pm. Disembark 2.15pm or 4pm 12noon. Disembark 1.45pm or 4.20pm
Daily from 01May20 12.30pm. Disembark 2.15pm or 3.45pm 12noon. Disembark 1.45pm or 3.30pm

Check Your Date   *Check your date for changes

Download Wynyard Walk Map

Car Parking  Please check your date for road closures 

Find Us

YOUR SAY SUNSET DINNER - Excellent. Good value for money and on board personnel were courteous and efficient. Would definitely recommend.  Gary, USA

View Special Offers

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

0 % approval from 0 responses

Date
Rating
2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: We did a scenic adventure cruise on the Nepean Belle. In spite of louse weather we enjoyed the cruise. Captain Chris and all the crew were friendly and helpful and the lunch was excellent.
Product: The lunch was very good, nicely served and delicious, although it was more than we could eat.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

2 weeks ago
5/5

Service: everything about the cruise was excellent, the service, the staff and the food.
We would certainly do this cruise again.
Product: Excellent

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Excellent service and food on the top deck. This is always an excellent experience and we go every year, taking overseas guests with us.
Product: Excellent food and service

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 weeks ago
5/5

Service: The service was very efficient, we never had to wait at all.
Very pleasant waiter.
Product: Best Harbour Cruise to do in Sydney. When next in Sydney will do it again.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

4 weeks ago
1/5

Service: A woman crew named Yuri was very terrible!!!
What I thought was going to be the awesome lunch ever turned out be the worst.
I booked topdeck lunch. I was not able to imagine the lunch menu because there was no picture. I asked Yuri about lunch mein menu. She told me but she speaked fast so I couldn't follow her. I asked her again. Then she hit the menu I was holding with her pen again and again and said "It's chicken! It's fish!" She didn't tell me any details. I tried to ask her to tell more details, but I couldn't. Because I surprised and I felt like I was ridiculed.
She looked like "How many times do I have to tell that the lunch."
I've no idea why she was making fun of us Japanese. She moved another table and enjoyed conversation. There were almost white people groups. Asian group was only us. I strongly felt discrimination.
My mother can't understand English. I translated what Yuri said many times. I think I couldn't communicate smoothly with Yuri, that's why her attitude was very bad.
The other crew member were nice.
Product: Cuisines are good but serving slow.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that the service on your cruise wasn't to your standards. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service. Our staff deal with a variety of nationalities and are trained to deal with a variety of different people and cultures, so we can assure you that this was in no way a racial discrimination in any way. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Top Deck Lunch

4 weeks ago
5/5

Everything about the cruise was delightful. The boat was very comfortable, the meal was excellent, the service was tops; all on the best harbour in the world, what more could you ask for?

Review for Top Deck Lunch

4 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Beautiful food, excellent service and a view like no other!
Product: absolutely delicious! Best steak!

Review for Top Deck Lunch

4 weeks ago
5/5

Service: Very pleasant cruise, congenial and efficient staff.
Product: Loved the experience - would recommend to locals and visitors alike.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

1 month ago
5/5

Service: Wonderful cruise and great food. Would suggest maybe a wider menu for return visitors. Only complaint was that we had to get up and ask waitresses for drinks - they never came to our table.
Product: As above, enjoyed great food but would like to see wider menu for return visitors. We had to get up and ask staff for more drinks, as they did not come to our table to see if we wanted anything

Review for Top Deck Lunch

1 month ago
5/5

Service: fantastic, staff could not do enough for us
Product: very good, all of the group loved it

Review for Top Deck Lunch

1 month ago
2/5

Service: The day was hot and we were sitting by the window, had to pay more for this seat, the air con outlets are in about 2m from the sides and they push the cool air into the centre leaving us sweating, there was no salt on the table also had to ask for butter for our rolls.
Product: We paid extra for the window seat, it was a warm day and the sun was on us, the air con outlets are in from the sides about 2m and push the air to the centre leaving us sweating, the meal was OK, no salt on any of the tables, also had to ask for butter for our rolls.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

We are disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your cruise experience. Our dining cruises feature air conditioning. As you're aware, finding and setting the right temperature for the customers onboard can be difficult as each customer has a different preference. We do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way to the product - so your review for this is very disappointing to receive. Please be assured your thoughts will be forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Top Deck Lunch

1 month ago
2/5

Too hot on the top deck lunch.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your cruise experience. Our dining cruises do feature air conditioning. As you're aware, finding and setting the right temperature for the customers onboard can be difficult as each customer has different preferences. However, please be assured your thoughts will be forwarded to our hospitality manager for review.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruise

Review for Top Deck Lunch

2 months ago
4/5

Staff were very attentive and food was great. Lovely day for cruising on the harbour.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

I had a relative from Greece with me and we found the whole experience great

Review for Top Deck Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

Food and Service were both excellent on this trip. We paid extra for a guaranteed window seat for our lunchtime cruise but found this was not actually necessary as there was not many customers that day so everyone got a window seat. We also paid for the deluxe drinks package but again we would say unless you can drink a lot just pay for your drinks as you want them.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Service, food and cruise was great. Our group enjoyed it very much. The cruise itself was smooth, relaxing and just the right amount of time - 3.5hrs.
Product: The service of the staff and food was great. Only 1 area of improvement and that is the coffee service. That was the only downside to the meal. We ordered cappuccinos but they were more like flat whites. The coffee was too strong and not hot enough when ordered. It was not barista made which was expected based on the menu options and pictures shown.

If there is a way to improve access to the Top Deck lunch area for disabled guests that would be great. Understand this is difficult on a boat but something to consider.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Excellent staff and Service, the View speaks for its self,
Product: nice food very small meals

Review for Top Deck Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

A fantastic experience

Review for Top Deck Lunch

2 months ago
5/5

Service: Food and service were excellent
Product: Perfect

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Comfortable boat, good food and friendly service on the most beautiful harbour in the world - how could it be anything but a 5 star experience!
Product: Good food, presentation and service on the most beautiful harbour in the world

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
4/5

Service: The right special thing to do for a friend visiting Sydney, of advancing years on perhaps the hottest day of the year. Staff were attentive and helpful. Food was good, although a third prawn with the entree would have been more in keeping with the cost.
That we had finished our lunch before the first pick up at Circular Quay, and intended to to both circuits on the harbor, didn't quite work for us. A tad too much too soon. Better quality coffee, than that provided by the machine would have been very much appreciated given the cost of the cruise.
Product: I actually thought I was booking for a buffet and found I was in an a la carte situation.
Perhaps would have preferred buffet.
On line booking obviously didn't register clearly with me, however I am older and not so savvy with on line booking.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
5/5

Thoughly enjoyable day, great food , great commentary and very good service.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Great service
Product: The barramundi was very tasty

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
4/5

Service: Generally good. On boarding could have been assisted by telling people which deck to go. Nice meal butcould have been hotter.
Product: Nice meal could have been hotter.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
5/5

Service: I booked a 3 course lunch cruise on the top deck for my staff for Christmas.
The boat was lovely, the food delicious and the wait staff were amazing, great service and friendly. I would highly recommend this cruise and look forward to trying more in the future. Thank you Captain Cook Cruises
Product: Booked online, plenty if information, easy to navigate and pay online

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
5/5

Book on line only one hour before and everything worked smoothly Staff on the boat were excellent and It was just a very enjoyable couple of hours

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
5/5

Service: The service on the 27/11/2019 I booked for 16 people for the lunch time cruise to celebrate my 80 th Birthday and there is only word to describe the day including the weather was EXCELLENT
Product: I enjoyed the day on the 27/11/ 2019 I have booked for the start for the Sydney to Hobart 26/12/2019 cruise

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
2/5

Service: Staff was not friendly. 2-course meal is expensive
Product: The food is average and not delicious

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We believe our pricing to be equal to any contemporary dining establishment in Sydney. We are disappointed to read that the service on your cruise wasn't to your standards. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customer devoted and efficient service. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our catering and hospitality manager.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
5/5

Service: Very good service. Nothing wrong.
Product: Good price, but an increase may be to much for us pensioner ladies.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
2/5

Service: Quality and quantity of food very disappointing
Service by staff great always smiling
Product: Quality of Food disappointing

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We continually monitor all aspects of the production chain including receipt, storage, distribution, cooking and presentation to ensure top quality and consistent product is presented to our guests, so we are disappointed to read that this aspect of your cruise was not to your standards. We do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the product - so your review for this is satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the feedback too.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service,
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Top Deck Lunch

3 months ago
4/5

Service: Great food and service. This is the second time that we have used Captain Cook. We had 45 guests this time around, but unfortunately we were spread around the deck and not sat with each other. Would have been a 5 star if we were.
Product: Very good value for money. The food was lovely.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

4 months ago
4/5

Service: Great value for money.
Product: Great value for money, scenic route, friendly staff.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

4 months ago
5/5

Excellent food,fantastic view, polite service,next year buy window seats for my husband birthday!

Review for Top Deck Lunch

4 months ago
2/5

Service: As soon as we entered, we were seated and only started to make ourselves comfortable when approached by a very rude staff member demanding that we order immediately. We haven’t even had a chance to look at the menu! The staff was irritated and was trying to hurry us and became impatient when we asked him about certain wine selection. He lacked knowledge in the wine and eventually when I chose the one I had already purchased before, he ended up bringing the wrong one to the table - not to mention he forgot about our wine altogether so that we didn’t have our drinks until we had already finished all our entree and were half way through our main course. It was only brought to us when I had to remind the staff member that we were yet to receive the wine. I asked the staff that I wanted to speak to his manager but he became very aggressive and wanted to stand nearby when I specifically requested to speak in private. I felt really uncomfortable and terrified being on the cruise with him. Long story short, the manager listened to my concerns and made sure he wasn’t serving us.
Product: The service really ruined the whole experience for us.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are disappointed to read that the service on your cruise wasn't to your standards. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service. We always encourage guests to talk to the Cruise Director on board if they have any concerns, especially regarding food and service as they will be able to solve the problem immediately. Please be assured your concerns have been forwarded to our hospitality manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Top Deck Lunch

4 months ago
4/5

Service: Service was good, food well presented and well cooked.
The hardest part was getting up the steep stairs to the dining room.

Sadly we may not be ABLE to come again because of those stairs.
Product: Very good food well presented.

Photographer worked well and produced purchasable merchandise.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

5 months ago
2/5

Service: I expected a 3 hour cruise just over 2 hours
Product: Food was nice

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your review. Our Top Deck Lunch Cruise runs for 1hr 45min. Our Long Lunch Cruise runs for up to 3hr 30min. We apologize for your misunderstanding.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Top Deck Lunch

5 months ago
2/5

Service: We were entertaining visitors from Canada and they were going to be impressed by Sydney harbour anyway, but as a local my wife and I thought the experience only average when it could have been much better.

The welcome on board was good. Seating by the window was fine and the table service and food good average for a meal at a good restaurant in Sydney.

The disappointing part was the extent of the cruise. The brochure and website indicated that the pick up was at 12:15 for a 12:30pm cruise time and a 3:45pm return to Circular Quay. We got back to Circular Quay at 2:15pm with the only prospect a second cruise around the same route we had already taken.
Product: See previous comments as above

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and food on your cruise. Our cruise times are listed on our website for complete transparency for our customers and we follow this as closely as possible. We also display our cruise routes on our website for all our cruises to enable customers the opportunity to know where they will be cruising and what to expect.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Top Deck Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Great service and experience!

Review for Top Deck Lunch

5 months ago
4/5

Service: I would recommend them again
Product: Good food efficiently served

Review for Top Deck Lunch

5 months ago
5/5

Service: The booking on-line was easy, the crew were helpful and pleasant, the cruise was informative and interesting and above all, the food was excellent. We had a great time.
Product: Great view and excellent food. We had very attentive waiters and enjoyed the company of those sitting around us. We highly recommend this cruise to anyone wanting good food and a wonderful view of the city.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

6 months ago
4/5

Service: I was happy with the service ! keep it that way
Product: Fair values ! great service.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

6 months ago
4/5

Service: Just the harbor - you can't go wrong
Product: much better than the bistro and just as cheap

Review for Top Deck Lunch

6 months ago
5/5

Service: Beautiful food, great service and friendly staff. Very enjoyable. Highly recommend.
Product: Very tasty and well presented.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: Just WOW!!!
We went for top deck lunch cruise last Friday with my family and board by hospitality manager and he helped to lift my baby pram to take upstairs too,so kind.The staff were so welcoming and friendly from start to finish.The food was absolutely fabulous and wonderful view.
If you are in Sydney I highly recommend.
Product: It is reasonable price and great place

Review for Top Deck Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Service: SERVICE & FOOD WAS GOOD. WOULD RECOMEND. THIS IS OUR THIRD TIME ON CRUISE
Product: GOOD OVERALL EXPERINCE AGAIN

Review for Top Deck Lunch

7 months ago
5/5

Easy going and relaxing. Food was fresh and tasty. For those with big appetite better to choose baffet cruise.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

7 months ago
2/5

Service: Just felt it was a bit dated
Product: It was ok , nothing great, but disappointed

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of your Captain Cook Cruises experience. Our vessels are always reviewed to maintain a modern image, including a recent renovation of the Sydney 2000; the vessel our lunch cruises operate on.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Head of Customer Service

Captain Cook Cruises

Review for Top Deck Lunch

8 months ago
4/5

Service: OK nothing out of the ordinary
Product: again ok steak was cooked well

Review for Top Deck Lunch

8 months ago
4/5

Service: Food could have been a little bit hotter and there was no salt on the table. But everything else was fantastic and a lovely photographer.
Product: The meal could have been a bit hotter and there was no salt on table. Otherwise very good.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

8 months ago
5/5

Table service was friendly, prompt

Review for Top Deck Lunch

10 months ago
5/5

Service: I love this cruise best ever service is amazing food awesome
Product: Amazing love everything about captain co o k cruises would sail with them anytime

Review for Top Deck Lunch

10 months ago
4/5

Service: Good experience. Food excellent, but vegetable variety could perhaps have one more veg.
I paid extra for a guaranteed window seat, but there were so few people that we could hav e had one without the added fee. Perhaps on these occasions you could get some goodwill (especially to Captain Cook members) if you refunded the extra amount.
Product: Lunch was excellent, but as I mentioned above the vegetable variety could perhaps had one more veg in each selection.

Review for Top Deck Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Services desk lady on day of departure courteous and efficient. Welcome aboard excellent. Food good. Enjoyed trip
Product: Easy to navigate site, plenty of information

Review for Top Deck Lunch

11 months ago
4/5

The meal was good,service was good as well,the only negative was the cost of the wine

Review for Top Deck Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: very enjoyable cruise great harbour great service from Captain Cook Cruises
Product: every thing was efiecient and very enjoyable great service

Review for Top Deck Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Great Trip

Review for Top Deck Lunch

11 months ago
5/5

Service: Amazing experience with fantastic views and service!
Product: The food is good and big portion!

Review for Top Deck Lunch

12 months ago
4/5

Service: Hi, All 11 of us had a great time, however we had a very inexperienced waitress for most of the trip that either didn't ask around the table if we wanted drinks, so would deliver one and then walk away. At times there were obviously finished plates and they weren't cleared away promptly even though she was at the table to deliver a drink. I know this is due to inexperience, but she should have been with someone more experienced to guide her. There was another very experience staff member who was really amazing who we only got to meet late into the cruise.
Also on the top deck we couldn't hear any of the commentary that the lower decks received. It would have been nice to hear about some of the harbour icons, or who lives where, or the name of the islands that we pass and some of its history. Shame.
Product: We purchased on line and due to the large number of people we were given a discount. When we wanted to add another 2 people onto the list I called and the lady that I spoke to was very helpful and we qualified for the discount on the extra people also. Thank you very much

Review for Top Deck Lunch

View more reviews

Christmas Day Cruise

Enjoy Christmas Day Lunch with family or friends aboard MV Sydney 2000 and let us do all the work - book now

Whales playing off Sydney

Discover whales playing outside Sydney Heads during the annual migration. Sale now on from AU$55

Discover Kangaroo Island

Discover Kangaroo Island, South Australia. Ferries, accommodation and tours.

Boxing Day Sydney to Hobart

All the action from a unique vantage point on the water! Race cruises on sale now