Taronga Zoo Express - Circular Quay

Inclusions

  • Timetable
  • Return rocket ferry between Taronga Zoo and Circular Quay
  • Entry to Taronga Zoo
  • Sky Safari cable car

Need to know

  • Valid on rocket ferries only
  • Tickets valid for a single nominated day
  • Children (4-15 years) $32 return
  • Sky Safari cable car operates subject to weather conditions
  • Ferries do not operate Christmas Day
  • Book online and upgrade to the Hop On Hop Off Harbour Explorer 2-Day Pass and Taronga Zoo for the same price
  • Find us under Circular Quay & Taronga Zoo on Tripview​
  • Map

Timetable

 

Timetable  Download timetable

Check Your Date   Special timetables operate on selected dates

Find Us

Taronga Zoo Express - Circular Quay thumbnail

The most fun way to travel to the Zoo. A great savings bundle including return rocket ferry between Taronga Zoo and Circular Quay plus entry to Taronga Zoo and Sky Safari cable car. More Info ... 

HOT DEAL

Sydney's famous Taronga Zoo is located right on the foreshore of Sydney Harbour. The conservation and breeding programmes help to secure a future endangered species around the world. And as a reward, the animals and visitors enjoy some of the very best views in all of Sydney.

  • Australia's amazing wildlife including Koalas & platypus
  • Animals of the world including Asian elephants, lions and giraffe
  • Free Keeper talks throughout the day
  • Free Bird Show daily
  • Free Seal Show daily
  • Open Sep-Apr 9.30am to 5pm
  • Open May-Aug 9.30am to 4.30pm
  • New Years Eve open 9.30am to 4.00pm

Some of the animals you may see
African Lion, African Wild Dog, Asian Elephant, Australian Little Penguin, Australian Sea-lion, Blue-tongue Lizards, Chimpanzee, Corroboree Frog, Fijian Crested Iguana, Fishing Cat, Giraffe, Francois Leaf-monkey, Koala, Komodo Dragon, Leopard Seal, Long-nosed Bandicoots, Malleefowl, Meerkat, Orang-utan, Platypus, Regent Honeyeater, Red Panda, Ring-tailed Lemur, Small-clawed Otters, Snow Leopard, Sumatran Tiger, Tasmanian Devil, Western Lowland Gorilla, Malayan Tapir & Zebra.

Due to routine medical check-ups some animals are occasionally taken off display or shows cancelled.

Ferries do not operate Christmas Day. Special or limited timetables operate on 26 & 31 December, 26 January and selected special events.

Accessibility for people with a Disability Policy

YOUR SAY NEW YEARS EVE - I was a guest on Matilda 3 and it was another memorable evening. A good variety of food, unrestricted view of fireworks, staff & experience all excellent. Terry, NSW

View Special Offers

Availability & Price Calendar - Legend

Rack Rate Special Offer Agent Only Nett

 

 

Other Cruises - Special Events

New Years Eve
December 31
Australia Day
January 26
Valentines Day
February 14
Christmas Day
December 25
Boxing Day
December 26
Vivid Festival
May - June
Melbourne Cup
November
Mothers Day
May
Fathers Day
September
Seniors Festival
March
Christmas Parties
November - December
Christmas in July
July
Big Ships in Sydney
Year Round
Food Festival
Good Food Month
School Holiday Fun
Great Offers for Kids
Whale Watching
May - November
Earth Hour
March
Biennale
March - June 
Sydney Royal Easter Show
March - April
Gift Certificates
Order online & save 

84 % approval from 25 responses

Date
Rating
3 months ago
5/5

Very friendly

5 months ago
2/5

Really upset about the service, we arrived at 9.50 in the morning and they told us that we had wait until 10.50 for the other boat because they have only just one boat doing hop on hop off, they should write on the web site that the hours of the boat are very restricted. at the end we paid another boat for get there as soon as we can (it takes just 15 min) so we didn’t waste our morning.
The price is not that convenient also because there is no reason to book online if I have to stay on the queue for get the ticket anyway.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Taronga Zoo Express Ferry. We were disappointed to read that you felt we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the itinerary of your cruise. Our daily timetable for the Hop On Hop Off is listed on our website with the red ‘ check your date’. 

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards, 
Head of Customer Service  
Captain Cook Cruises

5 months ago
2/5

Service: I booked the Taronga Zoo Express for 3 adults, a two year old and a 1 year old.
I found your website a bit confusing as under 4 year olds are free but when I tried to add 2 children it wanted to charge me so I left them off the booking. When I got to Circular Quay to pick up my tickets, the man who served me was less than courteous, saying I should have listed the infants on the booking. I did try to speak to him about this but to be honest I found him quite rude, so not the best impression of Captain Cook Cruises.
Product: The Zoo Express was good however the pick up schedule was confusing.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Taronga Zoo Express Ferry. We can assure you that our staff are trained to provide our customers devoted and efficient service. However, please be assured we have forwarded your comments onto our reservations manager and we appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve.

Once again, we apologise sincerely and thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

6 months ago
4/5

Crew was great, what you would expect

6 months ago
5/5

Was our first time in Sydney and we got to see amazing views on the Captain Cook ferry to Taronga zoo and the little tour we had on the way back was also really nice. Will definitely be doing again next time we're in Sydney:)

7 months ago
4/5

Good. But you should advise people clearly when they book on line that they will need to exchange their on line booking receipts for paper tickets at your entry counter Pier 6 before they can get on the cruise. This was not clear from our on line booking receipt and we nearly missed the boat to the zoo as a result.

7 months ago
4/5

Service: Apart from hardly unable to understand the customer service representative serving me as they dont speak english fluently and forgetting our additional hop on hop off ferry tickets, it was fine.
Product: No issues and were on time.

7 months ago
4/5

Service: When I arrived at the kiosk to receive out tickets for the ferry and zoo I felt the service representative was brash and did not deliver service with so much as a smile or a 'have a nice day' attitude.
Product: Very good value for money for a family of three people, pricing was competitive but we did see the same package slightly cheaper at $5.00 per person.

7 months ago
4/5

Service: Easy use of the service - website was easy to book on and the staff were excellent
However the queue at the office after booking online to “save time” was excessively long!
Product: Overall a really good experience

8 months ago
4/5

Service: Very polite. comfortable and punctual
Product: Ease of access booking on line

8 months ago
5/5

GOOD VIEW.MORE CHOICE OF SCHEDULE.

8 months ago
5/5

Service: The commentary from the crew was fabulous.
Product: Prompt and well done. The crew worked very well.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Customer,

Thank you for your recent review of our Zoo Express. We were pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed this fantastic service. We agree that the commentary of our crew makes for an efficient and informative trip to Taronga Zoo. As you know we do strive to deliver world best practice customer service from booking all the way through to the end product – so your review is very satisfying to receive. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our hospitality and catering staff and a copy of your email has been forwarded onto their department managers. We are sure they will value the positive feedback too. 

Once again thank you for your feedback and recommendation it is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

8 months ago
4/5

Service: Nette dienstregeling...
Product: Mooie combinatie, Taronga Zoo via het water bezoeken is echt een aanrader

9 months ago
4/5

Service: Everything was great. A complimentary beverage would be appreciated and the speakers outside should be a little louder. Otherwise great!!
Product: Very good zoo with amazing views and wildlife walking about everywhere! World class!

9 months ago
5/5

Service: The service is always friendly and well priced. Whenever I go to Taronga Zoo I always use Captain Cook Cruises.
Product: Easy to purchase and great prices

10 months ago
5/5

We went on two cruises with Captain Cook Cruises - We did the Top Deck Lunch Cruiser firstly. It was a good way to get a great view around the Harbour and the meals were quite nice. The only thing that could've been offered in the price was an initial soft drink/beer or wine and then pay beyond that. The second cruise was a pack to Taronga Zoo which included the Cable Car up the Cliffs with views travelling across the elephants enclosure. The animals have such beautiful views of the harbour.

10 months ago
2/5

the booking was the most difficult, doing it online,not being able to print it out I kept it in my phone. The trip was direct ferry from Watson Bay to the Zoo, 3 children in tow. The website showed there was a ticket office at Watson Bay wharf, there wasn't; The time table at the jetty stated the ferry to arrive at W Bay 10am, with a large dot next to 10am, meaning only that time on public holidays/school holidays, which it was, but did not arrive until 1040am. I did not understand that tickets could be bought on board.
The trip itself was extremely good, the announcer being very sociable, especially with the 2 older boys, and included them in his commentating by asking them questions or them volunteering information.
The deck hand was very king to contact the main office re my ticket, as he said the zoo would not accept the phone receipt therefore had permission from them to write an acceptable one, he needn't have gone to that trouble, but I am thankful he did.
A lot of this could have been avoided if the Captain Cook Cruises website had been up to date.
The deck hand & commentator are highly commended.

Response from Captain Cook Cruises: Dear Ann Friske,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are disappointed to read your comments as we do not have a ticket office at Watsons Bay wharf. We are glad that our experienced deckhands sorted out mobile ticket issues as Taronga Zoo require all passengers to have a physical ticket. Our timetables are updated regularly and are updated daily on our website on our website under ‘check your date button’.

Once thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Head of Customer Service
Captain Cook Cruises

10 months ago
4/5

On time with well informed crew. The only downside was there seemed to be an excess of passengers. Standing room only.

12 months ago
5/5

Service: I'd recommend this. We had a great time
Product: It had everything we wanted at a great price

View more reviews

Sydney Attraction Pass

Save up to 45% on Sydney Hop On Hop Off cruise & attraction pass. 1 to 5 amazing attractions from AU$49

TripAdvisor Excellence Awards

We are thrilled to be awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2018. Read more ...

Melbourne Cup Lunch

Celebrate in style with premium dining, live viewing race lounge and great prizes to be won. Cruises from AU$125

Discover Sydney Whales

Join a Whale Watching cruise during the annual migration at a great price. On sale now from AU$55